We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute Jewel”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I have today returned from a week long stay at the Melia Cala d'or. It is a delightful hotel. Understated and classy.The staff were attentive, courteous and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a good holiday. We had a small suite with kitchen facility. It was spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard on a daily basis.The pool area is well laid out and the hedged cubicles provided excellent privacy.
There are plenty of local resaurants but we were recommended three in Cala d'or and each one was first class.They were Vincente,Ca'n Trompe and Barlovento. Aquarius in the Marina is also very good.
I unreservedly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUYcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    110
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
155
291
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Our bedroom was fine. Breakfast was good. Pool was too small to swim properly,but clean and a nice temperature. Poolside cafe food was good but overpriced.
We only ate dinner once, but it was again overpriced and not up to the standard you would expect(tough chops). Nice beach nearby with good beach cafe. Resort tacky, but restaurants reasonably priced. Marina was 20 mins walk away. It is quite scenic with pleasant restaurants. Some kids around pool a bit too noisy.
Overall, we had a relaxed holiday and would probably stay there again.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaptMikeEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We have just returned from this fantastic hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is so clean and the breakfast is brilliant, so much choice for everyone, the chef prepares bacon eggs cooked to order and there is a massive cold table of meats, cheeses, fruits etc if youcannot get something to eat here I would be surprised. The rooms are lovely with cable TV. There is ITV, Sky Movies and Sky Sports in the room, tea and coffee facilities, a fridge and a safe all come in the price. The only gripe we would have is with the beds which are quite hard but this seems to be the norm in the med.
The bar area at night is a bit lack lustre and there doesn't seem to be much atmosphere here, there is a pianist on a Saturday night but most people go out at night into the resort.
The pool is great and the booths with the sunbeds and the natural shade are well thought out..
Cala D'or itself is a tacky resort with naff shops, restaurants and tribute bands. Would we return absolutley yes to the hotel but definitely not to Cala D'or.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Have just returned from this fabulous hotel where my husband and I stayed with our 20 month old daughter. The hotel is really unusual- lotsof little buildings dotted about beauiful landscaped gardens housing lovely rooms- we had a ground floor junior suite - no 303 - which had a private outlook onto the gardens but just round from the pool and little kids playground and with a huge terrace. Not a huge room but big enough and with nice decor and all mod cons- as with the rest of the hotel it was spotlessly clean and they do nice touches like bed turn down, choc on pillow, fluffy robes etc. the pool was lovely with sunbathing "booths" so you get a bit of privacy. the kids pool is small but ideal for toddlers to potter about in. We were on bed and breakfast which I was glad about with a young child as the resaurant at night looked lovely but quite formal. the breakfasts were fab catering to all tastes and all the staff were so nice and friendly and lovely to children. There is a nice lounge which serves complmentary afternoon tea and biscuits and there are newspapers available in several languages- again free. There was a bit of noise from the local bars enetrtainment at night but after we got our child to bed we enjoyed a gass of wine on the terrace listening to them- the Tom Jones guy was great! Anyway the double glazing was so good once the french doors were shut you couldn't hear a thing.
Not a hotel if you want loads of entertainment and excitment but if you want a relaxing time away from the Brits abroad brigade then this is ideal especially for couples or families with young children. The resort itself is ok - lovely restaurants down at the marina and much better food and no more expensive than the run of the mill places in the main town.
I would definitely return to this gem of a hotel and I am very fussy. I also have never written a review before but enjoyed it so much I wanted to let other people know- hope it helps!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macca168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We have just returned from a week's half term stay at the Melia Cala D'or with our young daughter . We found the hotel to be of a very good standard - it's a charming little oasis set in the centre of Cala D'or, only a short stroll from a few pretty, but rather crowded beaches. We were given a delightful garden view ground floor suite - room 302 (originally given a second floor room but asked if we could change) which had a huge terrace area ideal for relaxing.
The staff were more than helpful, everything was extremely clean and the food in the restaurant was very good with an elegant atmosphere, although not many guests tended to dine in the evenings.
Cala D'or is a pretty whitewashed town, full of resturants and tourist shops. This is not a sophisticated town, but seems family friendly. Some music, generally karaoke from the bars in town can be heard from the hotel at night, but the noise level is just about acceptable.
Hiring a car is a great way to explore some of the local beaches (Porto Petro is a pretty village with a much quieter beach) and a trip to Deya and Valldemossa in the mountains will give you a little taste of the real Majorca.
We stayed at the stunningly located Formentor hotel a few years ago (great for adults), but the Melia is ideal for a relaxing stay with young children.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Melia Cala D'Or a couple of years ago and we both had a wonderful stay.

The hotel itself was very nice, well presented, good food and nice leisure facilities. The individual sunbathing bays beside the pool is a nice touch. The staff were friendly and attentive.

My one gripe would be Cala D'Or itself. Full of English bars with English soap operas playing on big screens - was a million miles from the serenity of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busby1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I stayed at the Melia Cala d'Or at the same time as the lady who gave the appalling review above. She spent the entire time we were there complaining to anybody who would listen and encouraging her young son to do the same.
I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, with very attentive staff and very well cared for gardens and pool surroundings.
Our room was very nice and I saw no sign of lots of cats, in fact I can truthfully say that I didn't see one.
The breakfast was extensive and there was plenty of choice and it was all of good quality. We had bed and breakfast and therefore I can't speak personally about the evening meal, although friends of ours were also there on half board and were very complimentary about the food.
We have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels throughout the world. This one was advertised as a small boutique hotel and that is exactly what it was but clearly unsuitable for children of school age, especially out of school holiday when there were no other children around to play with. It is quiet, ideal for those who want a quiet relaxing holiday and ideally situated away from any noise in Cala d'Or.
As for the resort, there are lots of restaurants and bars, a few small coves with beaches and it is all spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our holiday and find the bad review we have just written breathtakingly unfair and unjust.

  • Liked — tranquillity
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggieofbirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
931 reviews
34.8 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Property: Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing