We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we have just returned from a 5 day break at the sol cala dor everything was perfect; everywhere is spotlessly clean and tidy the pool area is really good with plenty of sun beds tables chairs etc i put a special request on booking for a pool veiw room as it was a break to celebrate my wifes birthday on arrival the man on reception wished my wife happy birhday and gave us a lovelly room right by the pool and the morning after there was a bottle of champagne and two glasses left in our room with a card from management and staff; what a nice touch thank you all for a really great stay.would highly recommend

Room Tip: ask for pool or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Brian R,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays, we are very happy to read your nice comments and see that we exceed your expectations. we all hope to be able to welcome you again next year!

Our best wishes.

Ana Matos
E- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    404
    146
    48
    24
See reviews for
413
387
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

just had 10 days here went self catering but would go half board if i went again very clean rooms cleaned regular beautiful pool area, staff all very friendly as most melia hotels are. great breakfast , well worth 6 euro cala dor lovely place best beach in that area water crystal clear, pool engine room can be bit noisy late evening on off on off every few mins more of a drone sound same goes for karaoke bar that closed at midnight but prob later when its busy in the season but would still go back at after trying another part of the island. thank you again melia bm

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear bill m,

I would like to thank you for let us know your opinion about our hotel services and location.
With regards to what you mention about a noise from the swimming pool engine room I have informed to our technical department in order to investigate from where could proceed this noise,I appreciate your comment.
It is important for us to explain that during all season and due to local regulations, the music should stop at 12.00h pm. Even in high season our hotel continues to be a quite place,therefore I would be very happy to welcome you again in our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments next year!

Thanks again for your time and we all look forward to hearing from you very soon.

Best regards,

Ana Matos

E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a week here on a recent holiday. Great little hotel for the price I paided. Has everything u need and close to everything. Had issues with a engine room motor running every night below our room? And also karaoke bar was very loud till 12 every night as well as buses every ten mins driving threw main route.Need to get rid of broken sunbeds very frustrating finding a usable one every morning. Clean, friendly staff and pool facilities where great. Supermarket at the side was A star!!! Never ate at hotel but food did look nice. Will be back again although not in same room as before mentioned noise level at night was a downfall.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank deekane1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear deekane 19,

Thank you very much for letting us know your holiday experience in our apartments. We are very happy to hear that you were happy with all our staff and services, however you were not happy with room you were accomodated, please let us know if you decide to come back in a future, telling us what your preferencess are, and I will do all my best for this to be possible.

We all hope to be able to welcome again in our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments!

Kind regards

Ana Matos
E- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at the sol cala d'or and had a fantastic time. The staff are so attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Everything is cleared away as soon as you are finished which makes the place spotless day or night. Even though there is a smaller choice than usual for an all inclusive the food that is offered is 5*!

Breakfast is plentiful with a choice of a full English or a more continental style. The pain ou chocolates are a good choice heated in the microwave for 10 seconds (it's next to the soup barrel).

There is always some meat/fish/potato/pasta and veg variety each meal time. Look for the little fridge by the door for the tubs of icecream.

As usual if you want branded alcohol there is an extra charge. This amount is greatly reduced though If you are all inc which is a nice touch. Our duplex apartment was huge and the thick walls seem to keep the heat out which helps when you are sleeping. There is plenty of room by the pool but if you feel adventurous there is a secret jacuzzi on the roof with a few sun beds up there. Great for taking a cocktail and watching the sunset. There is karaoke on over the road till 12 and the girl who comperes is a bit hit and miss but we were out till 1 so it didn't really bother us. If you can find it there is an Irish bar in the pedestrian area that does live music every night. The price is a bit steep but the atmosphere is good.

The Sol Cala D'or may be a 3* place but You Definately get 5* treatment :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Emily S,

All the staff from the Sol Cala d'Or Apartments would like to thank you for your nice comments about them, about our buffet and breakfast service. We really appreciate your nice words that encourages us to continue offering our best service to our guests.

We hope to see you soon at the Sol Cala d'Or Apartments!

Kind Regards,

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean. Great value for money. The location is also excellent, only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Cala D'Or with all the shops and restaurants. Would definitely go back. Very helpful staff. Just be aware that you have to pay if you want wifi. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Nigel G,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff, location and the most important thing: our good value for money. Your opinion is very important for us and we feel really happy to know that you would come back to our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments in a future!

Our best wishes,

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D`Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were self catering guests and our room was huge! Had a proper queen sized bed and because we were on the top floor our balcony got the sun all day. It was close to some lovely restaurants and bars but it wasn't too noisy. The pool was beautiful but guests tended to get up early and reserve the sun lounges. Had an issue with the cleaners who wanted to clean while we were napping. They ended up giving us a mop and bucket so we could clean the floor ourselves (which we didn't do). Some apartments had do not disturb signs and although we asked the front desk for one it never materialised. We had a problem with the hob not working and within minutes it was replaced, so service was efficient in certain issues. There is a brilliant ice cream and crêpe stall not far from the hotel. Would recommend it! We went with Thomas Cook but the hotel didn't have a rep there and instead you have to phone them for departure details.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma Faye Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Jemma Fay,

I am Ana Matos, the Guest Experience of the Sol Cala d'Or.

Thank you very much for your trust in our hotel for your holidays. I do apologize for the inconveniences you had with our House keeping Department during your stay,not having a "Do not disturb" sign in your room. This has been a comunication error between reception and housekeeper departments. I will exposed your comments to them in order to improve in this service.

We all hope to be able to greet you in our hotel in the future.

Best regards

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice place, clean, well maintained, professional staff. Nice big apartment and balcony. Only 2 things could be better. The shower is not well designed, the shower tray is very shallow and it has a curtain which is too short and too light. The result is that water splashes all over the bathroom floor and the curtain gets drawn in by the water pressure and wraps itself around you which makes showering a bit tricky. Also the wifi in the room is very slow and it's 5 Euros a day.
I think the hotel must have had some problems with guests before, because you have to pay a deposit to get a remote control before you can watch tv. Also no complimentary water in the room so I was thirsty all night after my journey because all the shops were closed.
Still a very nice place though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilystoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Wilystoat,

Thank you very much for letting us know your holiday experience at the Sol Cala d'Or Apartments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay however there were some aspects that could be improved, we have taken good note about this suggestions in our effort to constantly improve the quality of the services provided.

We all hope to be able to greet you in our hotel in the futrure,

Yours sincerely,

Ana Matos

E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos

Property: Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Address: Els Revells, s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#22 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Cala D’Or a fully modernized apartment complex. It is located in the southeast of Majorca. It offers a varied buffet style, a Bar and a Pizzeria. Huge outdoor pool with children’s section surrounded by a Solarium area. Come with the family and enjoy the sea, the sun and the water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala d`Or Apartamentos Hotel Santanyi
Sol Melia Santanyi
Sol Cala Dor
Santanyi Sol Melia
Sol Cala D'Or Apartamentos Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing