We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunprime Monsuau hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very friendly”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

never been to a hotel before with staff as friendly as the ones here, very clean nice food, the drinks were not the watered down type will serve u with a pint glass too if u ask, pool area very nice nice snacks from the pool bar, theres a bar farther down the street that do happy hour from 8pm till 12pm 2 corona and two wines for 6.5 euros,this is one hotel we will be visiting again,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    94
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
185
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Sun Beach Apartments which are owned by the Tamarix Hotel - used the facilities there and the reception staff assisted us with transfers to the apartments which are only a few minutes away.
The Staff at the Hotel were very friendly, always polite and helpful.
We have never visited Majorca before and were exceptionally surprised by the beautiful beaches. The resort of Cala Dor was very clean and traditionally Spanish and the properties and restaurants all very well maintained - we have spent a few holidays in Canaries and the properties are very tired when compared to the standards in Cala dor - we would definitely like to return to this hotel and resort - Thankyou for your hospitality

Room Tip: Stayed at the Sun Beach Apartments owned by this hotel and close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojoknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was a fantastic holiday, all the staff in the hotel and restaurant were brilliant and ever so friendly, the hotel was clean and the food was beautiful. We would certainly go back and recommend this hotel as we had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RUSSELL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Very friendly staff in Reception -Juan and a young lady on reception. Restaurant waitress Augu and Vanesa very friendly and helpful.

The room was very clean and spacious with a wonderful view and balcony to sit out on. The bed was slightly uncomfortable and the pillows hard. Would have preferred a duvet but only blankets!

Would be good to have Health and Safety notice in regards to young children not being able to help themselves to milk, icecream and put their fingers in and lick and put it back also bread - if they do not want it put it back yuk!! Not nice.

The swimming pool could have been heated - very cold .The indoor pool was not heated and very small and not inviting.

The food in the Restaurant was good with plenty of choice.

We would use this Hotel again. We had a good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are more spacious and better view - not on the road and avoid smokers sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary Charli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We returned in the early hours of this morning (6.5.12) from Hotel Tamarix and can only say it has been an excellent holiday. Like others, we were wary after reading some previous reviews but we have absolutely no complaints.
Arriving at about12:30 am we were welcomed warmly, escorted to our room and then given a cold meal and drink. (We went All Inclusive)
The hotel was clean, the room more than adequate and everything felt fresh.
All meals were very good with a wide choice and excellent quality. All the restaurant and bar staff were friendly, polite and most helpful.
Staff on reception, too, were polite, friendly and again most helpful with all our enquiries and comments. Good fun too!
So early in the season there was no entertainment until the end of the week but that was not a problem for us.
Can't fault this hotel, its facilities, food or staff!
Brilliant

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked a last minute holiday in October 2011. And after some research, the Tamarix was the best priced and the had the nicest reviews. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. I've seen a few reviews on here bemoaning little things, but in general it was very well-kept. The rooms were basic (but expected at that price), but the pool and bar area were clean and always open for business. We went half board. The breakfasts were typical for Spain (selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal, fried eggs etc.) The evening meals were a little hit and miss...we had a couple of fantastic meals there and a couple of average ones. But when they were serving food we weren't too keen on, we would use that opportunity to go out for a meal - and enjoy Cala D'Or. The hotel is well-positioned - only 10 to 15 minutes from the centre - with bars and restaurants on the way there. The beaches are very close by too. All-in-all, a fantastic stay. I'd thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Try not to get located above the bar area - it can be noisy with loud music at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Firstly, let me say that the staff at this hotel are the best we've encountered, they were all very friendly and helpful, without exception. They all work very long hours and seem very happy in their work.
Now the serious stuff. Having read the reviews about the Tamarix, we were a little disappointed when we got there. The hotel itself is made up of several different sections, separated by a narrow one way street. This hotel is not on the beach, it is a good 10 minutes walk downhill (and consequently longer uphill, coming back) and depending on which beach you pick, you may encounter a lot of steps.
To explain the title of this review, we were given Room 3104 which is on the ground floor, not in the main building. It is quite small and fairly dark. The view from the little balcony is of a bit of the garden but mainly the road. As it was so close to the road, we were disturbed by traffic and pedestrian noise. Also the balconies of the building opposite (not part of the hotel) looked straight into our room which I didn't like much. For the first four nights we were kept awake by what turned out to be the water pump, continuously filling up the tank and making a clanking sound. The fan didn't work and when the hot water ceased altogether we complained and were offered another room, this time in the main building. This Room was 1202 and was in the main building, newly decorated, lovely big bathroom, quite a large balcony with huge sliding doors and a great view of the hills of Serra de Llavente. It could not have been more different, no noise, apart from the inconsiderate guests banging doors and stomping about in high heels. What a shame we only had two nights in that room, it really was lovely and we are very grateful to the man in reception who organised it. Unfortunately we didn't get his name.
We went half board which was OK, there was only one night that we didn't like the look of what was on offer so we wandered into town (5 minutes walk) and ate there. Meals are buffet style with breakfast having all the usual meats and cheeses plus sausages, beans, eggs, cereal etc and choice of bread, rolls etc. Evening meals always had a choice of salads, plus one or two meat dishes (the beef we had on Weds night was really tasty) and usually a fish dish, plus a different potato dish ie chips one day, boiled the next, etc. Jelly, ice cream, fruit etc for pud. I liked the fact that if you didn't order wine etc, it didn't bother them like it does in some hotels.
There is a good bus service to the hotel, the bus stop is a minute away at the top of the road and from there you can get to Palma for 14.90 euros return, or you can go closer to other beaches and towns for a lot less. A good trip to do is the one to Cala Mondrago, it has four walks, each one takes in different sights around the most beautiful bay. The bus drivers all have a good sense of humour and most speak at least a smattering of english.
Nearby restaurants etc are about 5 minutes walk away, there are also Spar shops and some larger, cheaper supermarkets locally. The Spar just down from the hotel is the expensive one. Restaurants didn't seem to be too expensive which was a surprise, obviously it depends what you're after. We would go back to this hotel but only if we could book a particular room.
I think the hotel would benefit from a makeover and some new equipment (working fans are useful when it's so hot).
Lastly, the evening entertainment on the whole was rubbish, except for the Flamenco dancers.

Room Tip: Higher rooms obviously have better views, the ones in the main building seem to be the best quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JakiSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#4 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Monsuau hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Monsuau hotel

Property: Sunprime Monsuau hotel
Address: Avenida Cala d'or 2, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Monsuau Sensory Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunprime Monsuau hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Monsuau has a modern and contemporary style on the idyllic outskirts of Cala D'Or. Far away from the hustle and bustle you can experience tranquility in the unspoilt countryside of Majorca and explore the wonderful area of Cala D'Or. The hotel is designed for adults over 16 years and offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere for a relaxing stay with your partner or friends. The Adults-only Sunprime Monsuau is located on the quiet outskirts of Cala D'Or in the south east of Mallorca. Only 300 meters away is the picturesque bay of Cala Ferrera with a gently sloping sandy beach and turquoise waters. Restaurants, bars and shops are within walking distance. South of Cala D'Or you can reach some of the most beautiful chalk cliffs of the island, many hidden coves and the Natural Park Mondrago a short drive away. Culturally, the center of Cala D'Or is dominated by its harbor - in addition to yachts and charter boats moored here often fishing boats that supply the numerous restaurants with fresh fish. The modern hotel has 91 rooms, spread over a main building and three annexes, each with two floors. So that you feel your stay as pleasant as possible, the 4.5-star hotel offers the following facilities: • Lobby with 24-hour reception • Lifts • Lounge • Wi-Fi • Buffet Restaurant • A-la-carte restaurant on the roof terrace with views • Sky Lounge • Lounge terrace • Laundry Around the Adults-only hotel extends a well-kept garden with swimming pool, spacious sun terrace and a poolside bar. Sun beds and umbrellas are available free of charge for you. The decoration in both buffet and a la carte restaurant is elegant and conveys a relaxed, casual atmosphere. The chefs will serve you according to the Board the morning and evening buffets with a selection of international dishes and local specialties. A good wine or a cocktail on the beautiful roof terrace complete the offer. In the beautiful sky lounge you can end your perfect vacation in peace with a cool drink or meet with friends at the lounge terrace. In addition, the Sunprime Monsuau offers three times a week evening entertainment and shows. Keep yourself fit in the modern gym and visit one of the aerobics classes (both included). For those guests wishing to explore the fascinating surroundings, the Sunprime Monsuau offers a bicycle rental fee. In the small spa area you can relax in the hot tub or unwind with a relaxing massage or beauty treatment. All rooms and suites at the Sunprime Monsuau are decorated in bright colors and wooden elements. To help you find the perfect accommodation for you, you can choose when booking the following room types: • Double room • Superior Room • Superior Studios The rooms and suites are all equipped with: • Ironing • Air Conditioning • Safety deposit box • Wi-Fi • Flat screen cable TV • Phone • Shower • Toilets • Hair Dryer • Balcony • Terrace The superior rooms are more spacious and offer a high quality equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunprime Monsuau hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Hotel Cala d Or
Sunprime Monsuau Hotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing