We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REAL TRUTH by Ronnie.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunprime Monsuau hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“THE REAL TRUTH by Ronnie.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hi, My reviews are all titled the real truth, because that's what i write down. Taking into account price, distance, food, pool,ect,, & ending with how i feel on way back to the Airport, (feel good factor.)
I'm hope-ing Veronica Quintero gets back to me later, because i lost the room number from my mobil, which i say is the best room for first timers, it woz across the road, 1st block to the right, 1 flight up, & 2nd door on the right,, it had a veranda far left,on a corner overlooking the road & Tamerix Pool.
Now to business, This hotel is great for people who just want to chill out during the day, the pool isn't big but its never full, most of hotel clients go into Cala shopping, with the rest having a dip in the sea, 10 mins walk away, Ive never felt the pool water cold, intact its allways been warm to me. The toasties at the pool are nice & fresh, chips are also done to order so you get them hot. Drinks, food, & sun, at this place during the day is excellent & its the real reason you go abroad on holiday. Cala D'or town is a open till late so no need to go until after your dinner meal, its a nice 15min stroll too work off all the calories you've just eaten, on the way there the 2nd bar you pass is buy 1 get 1 free, just what u need after a nice meal at the Tamaarix. Meals there are not 5 star, but you will find something guaranteed. The night time entertainment is low to middle class, but to be honest most go into town after tea time once the weather has cooled down. The staff are very helpful & will try to solve your query's, the blocks across the road have pools as well, most of the time you will have it all to yourself, except u wont have the all incl drink next to you. I forgot to mention there is a small children's pool which is just the right size for under 7s,, its just brilliant, the whole place, remember I'm saying this as a really good chill place, no bingo going on, always a bed by the pool, food and drink on tap within 25yds. The only thing wrong is you can't get it out of a holiday brochure, I hope the Tamarix gets this sorted out very quickly so others can pass the word around to friends. All readers out there, please give this place a try, u may read the odd bad review, sometimes things don't quite work out for some, but i tell it like it is, after all i saved up for my holidays just like you, so the above review is exactly what we all want from our holiday, i admit if your looking for a bit more adventure then u would book Magaluf, or Aya napa,perhaps. Yours sincerely Ron Lothian, Dundee. Email.. Purpleronnie3@live.com.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RONLOTHIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Q, Public Relations Manager at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ronnie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor users and giving us these detailed comments about your stay in Tamarix.
It is a proud to hear that you recommend our hotel to other travellers.
I’ll transmit your opinion to our staff, I’m sure they’ll appreciate your comments like me.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time during your holiday and we hope to see you again in our hotel next year.

Sincerely,

Verónica Quintero
Relaciones Públicas Hotel Tamarix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    94
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
185
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 7 days half board here over Easter. We arrived approx 9.30pm and a plate of salad and cold meats had already been prepared up for us and refrigerated. The hotel is in a lovely clean area with a mixture of traditional spanish homes and hotels. We were on the second floor at the end of the corridor, by window looking over pool area, patio windows looked out to front of hotel, good choice of room. We found the staff extremly friendly and helpful. The room service was excellent with a maid tidying the room every day, bed linen was changed once a week, we had clean towels every day, providing the soiled towels were left on the bathroom floor for exchange. The hotel was absolutely clean. We found the the hotel offered a wide variety of foods to suit all, lots of choices, we couldn't fault the food, one teeny tiny gripe was the baked beans at breakfast time were always only luke warm ? maybe the spanish eat them just luke warm, it wasn' t the end of the world. I only mentioned I'd like a grilled tomato with breakfast and the next day this was on the choice of breakfast. The pool and pool area was absolutely clean with no shortage of sun beds. Although the hotel is situated on a hill, it wasn't too bad and didn't put us off, however, it may hinder people with walking difficulties/breathing problems as you generally would walk this way to the centre. Even walking a different direction would incur a small hill. We are early 50's and we have known a lot worse. Lovely holiday, lovely people, lovely location, would definately re-visit :)

Room Tip: can only speak for main hotel as there are two additional seperate buildings belonging to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 412zoe_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Q, Public Relations Manager at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us.
We are really glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and It is a proud to hear that you would like to come back.
Thank you for all your comments, will be transmitted to different departments, our staff will be happy to read them.
Hoping to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Verónica Quintero
Relaciones Públicas Hotel Tamarix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My boyfriend Mike and I stayed at the Tamarix for a week (20th - 27th May 2014), on an all inclusive basis and I felt we made an excellent choice.

I cannot praise the staff enough, they always went the extra mile and were cheerful and friendly (especially Juan in the restaurant). All the staff worked very hard and I was sorry I didn't get an opportunity to express my thanks to the catering staff who produced nicely presented, plentiful food with plenty of variety. My only disappointment regarding the restaurant was that I would have hoped for fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and fresh rolls for breakfast instead of powdered orange, tinned fruit and dry rolls. However, there is something to suite everyone at each meal and that can be difficult to achieve these days. I especially enjoyed the paella and seafood salad on the Sunday night.

Our room was in an annex opposite the main hotel and though it could be described as basic, for the money we paid it was a palace. The shower was wonderful with lots of hot water and plenty of power; it was cleaned each day and fresh towels as and when you needed them. Thanks to the maids for their efforts in that regard. The hotel was spotless and though someone suggested a refurb was required there was little that was noticably in need of attention.

The pool was lovely and clean and the beach bar very handy with its drinks and snacks (not cold as described by Nicky but refreshingly cool I would say). Just a 5 minute walk from the beach and the main area at Calla D'Or it was nicely placed without being too noisy etc. There was a flameco show (Thursday) which we attended reluctantly but thoroughly enjoyed and a duo who sang on the Monday who were enthusiastic and cheesy but who worked hard to entertain us. That was sufficient entertainment for us but may be a little lacking for a family who want to stay around the hotel each night.

We were even supplied with a cup of tea/coffee and pastries before we left on our 6 am transfer home. Would go again tomorrow. Well done to all those involved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaysheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Q, Public Relations Manager at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Regards from Mallorca,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor users and giving us these detailed comments about your stay in Tamarix.
I’ll transmit your opinion to our staff, I’m sure they’ll appreciate your comments like me.
We are glad to know that you had a great time during your holiday and we hope to see you again in our hotel next year.

Sincerely,
Verónica Quintero
Relaciones Públicas Hotel Tamarix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent value, staff are amazing and go the extra mile. Clean and comfortable rooms, free wifi by the pool and in the hotel. The most inviting pool but the coldest water ,I think they freeze it overnight, Is my only negative. Steep walk to the beach and town, situated just outside the town but close enough if you want to walk in for more lively nightlife.
Food is good, not masses of choice but enough, cold salad bar, soup, fish, meat,vegetarian option at each meal.
Always enough sun beds around the pool, snacks available from the pool bar.
We were two ladies taking a last minute break and felt completely safe here. Hotel is split over two sides of a small service road. We had an early pick up before breakfast is served and they made us coffee and croissant in the bar before we left or we could have had a picnic to go.
Excellent holiday, just what we needed to recharge our batteries although it could have been a little too quiet for younger clients, suited us fine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Q, Public Relations Manager at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nicky,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and giving us the comments about your stay in Tamarix.
I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your recognition to our friendly staff for the service.
We hope to see you again in our hotel next year.

Sincerely,

Verónica Quintero
Relaciones Públicas Hotel Tamarix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've spent a 5 nights short break in this hotel recently. The staff are amazingly friendly. Yes, the property is in need of a refurb, but very clean. It just does what it says on the tin. On the top of a little hill, but 10/15 minutes walk to the centre. Lots of little beaches around. If you have a late transfer, they have a room for your luggage with shower, so you can enjoy the whole day:) Lovely people, great holiday:)

Room Tip: All buildings (there are 4) are situated in quiet gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IlcsiMici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica Q, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us these detailed comments about your stay in Tamarix, will be transmitted to different departments, our staff will be happy to read them.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in our hotel next year.

Kindest regards,

Verónica Quintero
Relaciones Públicas Hotel Tamarix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

had a week in 2013 here, hill to climb to get to hotel but not too bad, lovely meals value for money, nice pool and pool side bar, rooms ok, little dated but fine for the price we paid, most of the staff friendly, great kiddie entertainment in evening, suitable for couples middle aged i would say or families with small children.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanTaberner, Director de Recepción at Sunprime Monsuau hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Tamarix.
We are so pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and thank you for your feedback about all aspects of our hotel.

We hope to see you back at Tamarix some time soon.

Kind regards,

Joan Taberner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the end of September for two weeks, taking us to the middle of October. 2 adults one child.
The weather was fine, just right for our toddler.
The room was nice and spacious, ground floor opposite the main building. We were provided with a cot free of charge, and also had air con in the room.
The room was very clean and attended to most days by the cleaner, to provide fresh towels and mop.
Food, we were quite impressed. Lots of variety, although the menu was repeated each with. This didn't bother us as we liked the food on offer.
The pool was a good size, and gradually got deeper the further you walked in, rather than having to climb straight into the deep like most. Very child friendly. The indoor pool was absolutely freezing, so we only visited that once!
Check in and out was easy, and staff very helpful.
Lots of local spar shops, although we found the local super market (down the road opposite the bus stop) to be the cheapest.
Bus stop down the road very handy, we jumped the bus to palma for the day which was quite easy. The beach was easy to get to but lots of steps or very steep hill to walk up and down. Also went on the glass bottom boat, it was nice but not much to see at the bottom.
Very nice resort, lots of nice places to eat, only down side for some would be all of the walking and the hills. We're both healthy mid 20's and walked our little legs off! Overall very happy with our stat at this hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#4 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Monsuau hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Monsuau hotel

Property: Sunprime Monsuau hotel
Address: Avenida Cala d'or 2, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Monsuau Sensory Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunprime Monsuau hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Monsuau has a modern and contemporary style on the idyllic outskirts of Cala D'Or. Far away from the hustle and bustle you can experience tranquility in the unspoilt countryside of Majorca and explore the wonderful area of Cala D'Or. The hotel is designed for adults over 16 years and offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere for a relaxing stay with your partner or friends. The Adults-only Sunprime Monsuau is located on the quiet outskirts of Cala D'Or in the south east of Mallorca. Only 300 meters away is the picturesque bay of Cala Ferrera with a gently sloping sandy beach and turquoise waters. Restaurants, bars and shops are within walking distance. South of Cala D'Or you can reach some of the most beautiful chalk cliffs of the island, many hidden coves and the Natural Park Mondrago a short drive away. Culturally, the center of Cala D'Or is dominated by its harbor - in addition to yachts and charter boats moored here often fishing boats that supply the numerous restaurants with fresh fish. The modern hotel has 91 rooms, spread over a main building and three annexes, each with two floors. So that you feel your stay as pleasant as possible, the 4.5-star hotel offers the following facilities: • Lobby with 24-hour reception • Lifts • Lounge • Wi-Fi • Buffet Restaurant • A-la-carte restaurant on the roof terrace with views • Sky Lounge • Lounge terrace • Laundry Around the Adults-only hotel extends a well-kept garden with swimming pool, spacious sun terrace and a poolside bar. Sun beds and umbrellas are available free of charge for you. The decoration in both buffet and a la carte restaurant is elegant and conveys a relaxed, casual atmosphere. The chefs will serve you according to the Board the morning and evening buffets with a selection of international dishes and local specialties. A good wine or a cocktail on the beautiful roof terrace complete the offer. In the beautiful sky lounge you can end your perfect vacation in peace with a cool drink or meet with friends at the lounge terrace. In addition, the Sunprime Monsuau offers three times a week evening entertainment and shows. Keep yourself fit in the modern gym and visit one of the aerobics classes (both included). For those guests wishing to explore the fascinating surroundings, the Sunprime Monsuau offers a bicycle rental fee. In the small spa area you can relax in the hot tub or unwind with a relaxing massage or beauty treatment. All rooms and suites at the Sunprime Monsuau are decorated in bright colors and wooden elements. To help you find the perfect accommodation for you, you can choose when booking the following room types: • Double room • Superior Room • Superior Studios The rooms and suites are all equipped with: • Ironing • Air Conditioning • Safety deposit box • Wi-Fi • Flat screen cable TV • Phone • Shower • Toilets • Hair Dryer • Balcony • Terrace The superior rooms are more spacious and offer a high quality equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunprime Monsuau hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarix Hotel Cala d Or
Sunprime Monsuau Hotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing