We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable accommodation, great location!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable accommodation, great location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and three young kids (5,4 and 18 months) have just came back from 10 days self catering so I cannot verify other peoples comments on the food at this hotel. First of all I have to say the location is superb, very central and a stones throw from the beach, if the beach is your thing!! The beach adjacent to the hotel, whilst lovely, is very small and extremely crowded however it is high season so you would expect nothing less.

Cala D'or itself is a great resort and I would definately go back - very child friendly with lots of things for the kids to do e.g 2 minute walk from the hotel is a small square with bouncy castles, go karts, trampolines with another similar area a further 2 minutes beyond this. Loads of restaurants with a varying degree of quality - we had some lovely meals and some that were vile. Avoid The Duke pub - food was disgusting!!

We had a one bedroom apartment. The rooms were a decent size, no more, no less. The facilities for self catering were poor though - a kettle and a microwave are a must for any self catering holiday, and our apartment had neither. The view from the apartment was not great either although we were grateful to be put in Block 6 at the back away from the pool, which could be quite noisy up to 11.30pm.

The bar facility was fine, reasonably priced although some of the bar staff looked clinically depressed - an occasional smile costs very little. Maid service was every day bar Sunday and Thursday and was adequate although we did have to request that our sheets were changed - I doubt they would have done this had we not requested it. The system they have with the pool towels is great though - for a 20 Euro deposit you can change your pool towels as often as you like at set times during the day. Excellent!!

The animation staff, as have been mentioned elsewhere, were great and very enthusiastic although not overly pushy. Our two oldest went to the kids club on a few occasions and enjoyed it. The entertainment at night was reasonable although very German orientated - quite why they did not use the inside stage is a mystery to me though, this would have helped keep the noise down.

On the whole the hotel was fine and whilst I would go back to Cala D'Or I think I would book elsewhere - there seems to be better accommodation in equally good locations in the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for Block 5 or 6 away from the pool area!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank finnster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    264
    112
    22
    21
See reviews for
459
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My sister, her 2 kids and myself went for a week all inclusive, had a night flight woke up the next morning and went down to breakfast and was pleasantly surprised with all the options but then i seen there was no beans which i wasnt very happy with as i like to have beans on toast for breakfast....turns out the only do them every other day which is a bit silly seeing as beans are the cheapest thing to buy!! the lunch and evening dinner was terrible hardly any options, nothing at all for vegetarians or kids, we had chips all week!
Pool was ok but hotel was very busy so felt like u couldnt relax or a ball would fly in your face lol,the lifeguard was a little too friendly and was trying to touch me up in the pool!!
Entertainment team was really good, did alot of activities for kids throughout the day, entertainment on the night wasnt great, hardly anywhere to sit and was located outside and went on until 12 most nights so couldnt get to sleep which is also not ideal for kids (bit silly seeing as they had a perfectly good lounge area with stage which they didnt use).
Room was big, we requested lower floor as hassle getting buggy upstairs etc and no lifts as most rooms was outside, this meant we had millions of ants on the floor which isnt a fault of the hotel but still wasnt pleasant, also shower was just dripping out and the cold tap was the same which we had to complain about but was quickly fixed.
Hotel is in a good location near the centre and beaches.
Definitely wouldnt go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a 10 day all inclusive stay arriving back in the UK on the 30th July. The Prinsotel Alba is a very well laid out complex with lots of activities going on. We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage children and we all had a super time. Cannot fault any aspect of the holiday - only that we had to come home to rain.

We had a room overlooking the pool. The rooms were spacious and kept very clean.

The food was amazing with lots of choice to please all tastes.

All staff were friendly and helpful and worked very hard all day - we were looked after very well.

The entertainment was superb and activities for all age groups. Our children were a bit old for the activities but got the benefit of the WiFi. The pool area is busy but kept clean and under control under the watchful eye of the lifeguard. The sun beds do get taken quite quickly but on the days we wanted to get sun beds we did get them.

The beach, bars, shops and harbour all within walking distance - lovely beach and the sea was warm, lively and lots of fish swimming around too. Worth a walk to the harbour to see the yachts.

Hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: As someone else has commented no lifts - nice that we had a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Enjoyable holiday we thought on booking there were lifts but there was not, this was quickly resolved by our family getting a ground floor appt.- which was excellent! The entertainment and hotel team were super - the only draw back was the fact that there were no rails at the pool and only steps in. this was a pity as it put me off using the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a 3 star aparthotel but having returned a few days ago I have to say it belies its rating. We are a family of 4 with children aged 4 & 6 who stayed for a week all-inclusive.

I'll get the couple of niggles out of the way first; the wifi is poor (although it was quite refreshing to be offline for a few days!), the rooms were a little dated (but we spent almost no time in there for this to be an issue) & although the food came out hot at mealtimes it did cool quite quickly (but it was replaced very often).

Now the good points; the staff are attentive & helpful in all areas of the hotel, the animation team deserve a special mention for their unrelenting energy & willingness to involve everyone. The grounds, public areas & rooms are kept in pristine condition by the many cleaning & maintainence staff, additionally we found our 1 bedroomed apartment really very spacious. The beer & soft drinks were named brand, not cheap substitutes & the local spirits very palatable. The pool/beach towel deposit scheme is excellent & there are plenty of sun loungers round the pool area (not so much if you return from a trip in mid afternoon). The food was varied (particularly the excellent salads) and catered for all our tastes, be aware that this hotel attracts a multinational clientele & the menus reflect this.

If you're after a loud boozy all inclusive with steak & kidney & black pudding then look elsewhere, if you're looking for the silence of an adult only holiday then keep looking! (this is obviously advertised as a very child friendly little complex). If you're looking for somewhere to take your young children but enjoy a little peace while they're entertained for an hour here or there, then I highly recommend this place, we will be returning next year.



Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just about to leave Alba and head back to the airport so here is my very current review having just checked out. 

Alba is in a great location with the beach only a few metres away, the marina just a 10/15 minute walk and plenty of shops and restaurants around. 

The hotel facilities and various services are also great. A particular benefit here is the beach towel rental system which means that for a deposit on arrival you get an ongoing supply of clean and fresh towels to use by the pool (or beach for that matter). 

There is maid service with towels in the room changed/ beds made etc 5 days a week. I was in my room one day when the maids came in and they were very thorough. 

WiFi is available in the pool areas/ lounge and bar. The connection can sometimes be problematic I assume from high demand and not enough capacity at certain points of the day, however you usually get logged in after a few attempts. WiFi can be available in rooms depending on your room's proximity to the pool area. 

We have been self catering so can't really comment on hotel food, however on our first night we found 'Marfils Cafeteria and Pizzaria' just a few metres from Alba and with the exception of two nights we ate there every evening. The waiters there were so friendly and the food was good and very reasonably priced.

The pool area; even though the hotel is busy there are plenty of room and plenty of beds. You have to be there promptly at 10 am when the area opens if you want to get near to a canopy for some shade, however there are also plenty of tables and chairs in shaded areas on the lounge side of the pool.  Table tennis is also available in the pool area - you pay a 5 Euro deposit for bats and ball. 

Finally, a note about the entertainment team - Andreas, Eva, Lourdes, Maartje and Jerome. These guys are great and work very hard to provide lots of activities for all, every day of the week. We've had darts, aqua gym, Zumba, Spanish lessons, karaoke etc etc. 

Summing everything up - great place to spend two weeks :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Klocke110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here last week and had a great time. staff very friendly. entertainment overall very good. relaxed hotel but run very efficiently. very clean throughout. stayed in all inclusive standard drinks, in fact the spirits didnt taste very strong, and food was nice overall with a good selection and very well laid out, try the soups they are fantastic, as is the paella. great location 5 mins from beach. if eating out try los rancheros at cala esmeralda. marina is lovely for anice walk around restaurants very expensive there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemaidenukBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Property: Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing