We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double Booked....again....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Double Booked....again....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Prinsotel Alba. We read the reviews before booking this holiday, most of which were great but we did notice a few people said they were double booked - we were sad to find ourselves in the same situation! Apparently this is a common problem and the reception staff were not particularly sympathetic. They said it was not their fault but the sales people who overbook! After arriving at lunchtime we were sent to another hotel and told to come back at midday the following day. We had booked self catering but were offered 7 days breakfast and a room overlooking the pool as compensation. We arrived the following day to a room not overlooking the pool but overlooking the toilets which was very disappointing...again! They did offer to move us the following day but by this time we just wanted to unpack our clothes and settle in. Our room was very tired, but clean and we were desperate not to let the start of our holiday spoil the remainder.

As others have said, the pool is too small and this became apparent as the hotel got busier. The sun bed situation is also difficult, having to queue every morning at 10! We requested a late check out but were told the hotel is so booked it is not always possible and if it is it would cost 40 euros!

On a positive note, the breakfasts were great and there was a lot of variety. All inclusive people told us you could not fault the food. The entertainment team were absolutely fantastic and my 2 children (ages 5 and 7) loved every minute. The entertainment team go out of their way to make the children happy, they play with them in the pool, dance on the bridge and have activities/games throughout the day and night. Thank you to the entertainment team - Pablo, Karin, Laura, Moises and especially Baru who my daughter loved!

This hotel is perfect for families, in an ideal location and after a bad start, we had a great time.

Room Tip: If you have children a pool view room would be nice, avoid the toilet view like we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieF1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    264
    112
    22
    21
See reviews for
459
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We only arrived back last night but wanted to express how much myself and my family of six enjoyed our holiday at the Prinsotel Alba. The location was great as it was very central which helped with children aged 6 and 3. The apartment was a good size and cleaned regularly. The pool area was perfect especially for the children...we couldnt get them away! Yes its not ideal queing for sunbeds at 10am but we felt it was fairer than them all been taken before we had even got up! We did seem to always manage to get what we needed so we cant complain. The entertainment was ok too...day time was good with no pressure to join in and evening shows were satisfactory.
Our main praise must go to the staff, especially in the restaurant. unfortunately im not sure of any names but we were well looked after from start to finish by two men who we presume would be restaurant managers and the chef(s) did a fantastic job. Our six year old son requires a gluten and nut free diet so we are always nervous when travelling All Inclusive but i can only highly recommend this hotel as he ate so much lovely food and variety including gluten free pasta, spagetti, bread, burger with bun, pizza etc. I had emailed them before booking and due to their quick positive response we went ahead and so glad we did. overall were extremely impressed.They were happy to bring it to him after preparing it seperately in the kitchen so cross contamination was avoided. well done to them as it made our holiday alot easier. Thanks for a great relaxing family holiday xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojocider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at prinsotel alba for 10 nights with two children (6 and 8). We arrived very late at night and were given a room right at the back of the complex on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately the apartment looked very worn and was not very clean. I went to reception in the morning and they were extremely helpful and gave us a ground floor room overlooking the pool. The room was still very tired but was much cleaner. The breakfast was great with a vast variety to choose from. My only complaint was that the pool and loungers were not accessible until 10am which meant that everyone had to wait and there was a mad dash to get a space. The last few days were so busy that the pool was too small really. There was also not enough parasols to go around so people ended up trying to reserve them as early as possible (although there were signs up to say that reserving them was strictly forbidden). The hotel entertainment was very good and there was lots to do for the children. Unfortunately The family in the next apartment to us had their iPad, phone and some money stolen from their room and there was no sign of forced entry (items were not locked away) When we heard about that we decided to make use of the safe in the room. Overall the hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of 4 beaches and an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which suited us well as we have young children and the pool was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a week at the prinsotel Alba. What a beautiful place, hotel lovely,staff and entertainers very pleasant and always smiling! We also liked the fact that we didn't have to get up at some ridiculous hour in the morning to get a sun bed as they don't unchain them until 10am and there is plenty for everyone. The food was beautiful, could not fault it at all, lots of variety. Our only moan and it is only one was our room, it wasn't cleaned very well when we arrived and had a horrible 'toilet' smell, we bought an air freshner and that seemed to help, if we had been staying longer than a week we would have complained about it as the shower wasn't working properly either but my husband managed to fix it. So with the air freshner fitted and the shower working it was better than when we first arrived. We would definately return to this resort and hotel, the kids loved it and if the kids are happy we are :) highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived on the 27th of June for 12 nights all inclusive 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 11. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly, but unfortunately our room was not ready and we had to wait 1 hour. This was not a problem as we had requested a pool view room and were told that we could have another room, but it was worth waiting for the room looking over the pool. We had read lots of reviews stating that the rooms looking over the pool were noisy. We certainly did not have a problem as the entertainment ends about 10.30 . The room was clean and spacious and the air condition worked very well. The maid service was 5 days a week. The entertainment staff were a credit to the hotel always friendly and never pushy trying to get you to participate. Both our kids loved joining in with the games around the pool. The food in the restaurant was good, with some nights better than others, but there was always something to eat. The only snacks that were included within the all-inclusive package were several different ice creams and sandwiches. There could have been more choice rather than just a sandwich, but was handy for lunch if you were going down to the beach all day. The beach closest to the hotel can be very busy so I would recommend going to the next beach which is just a short walk up the hill -turn left at the Hawaiian bar & continue to the end of that road- this is only a 10min walk and a lot quieter. The pool is open from 10am-7pm. In the morning the staff are cleaning the pool area and usually finish about 8:30 so I don’t know why the pool can’t be open at 9:00. For the first 9 days, getting a sun lounger was not a problem but the last 3 days it was very busy and the loungers were chained up. They were not unlocked until 10:00 am which was a bit of a problem as large queues were forming waiting to get a lounger, the loungers should be unlocked a lot earlier as the sun is up and most people have had their breakfast. There was night time entertainment 6 days a week. If it was held outside there was not enough seating for the guests, this was not a big problem for the first 9 days as you just used a sun lounger as a bench but the last 3 nights with the loungers chained up there was a sever seating shortage. If your kids want to go to Majorca land with bouncy castles and trampolines, you would come out of the reception and turn right and keep walking 10min max. Overall our family had a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion and choosing Prinsotel Alba to spend your holidays.
It´s nice to know you enjoyed.
We would like to see you soon back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

eight of us stayed at this hotel in June.to which we had an absolute blast .the hotel is very clean and all the staff are an absolute asset doing a fantastic job . The food is excellent with plenty of choice .There are four pools and a fantastic kids club to which has nightly entertainment for all ages .The town is close by with lots of bars ,shops and good places to eat .Across the road is the beautiful beach .All in all a fantastic place to stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion and thanks to recommend this hotel.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays with your family in Prinsotel Alba.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just arrived home from a weeks stay at this hotel and can honestly say it was great, room was terrific over looking pool,staff were friendly,room cleaned every day,right in the centre couldn't have asked for a better holiday, Thank you Alba for a fab week! Will definitely return, as long as we can have the same room.(733)

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for choosing Prinsotel Alba for your holidays.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Property: Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing