We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

just had 2 weeks there,this is the 2nd time we have stayed at alba & would recommend it to anyone.the staff are fantastic so helpful & friendly,the rooms are clean with 3 ring hob,kettle,toaster,fridge & 32inch flat screen sat tv & even a hair dyer in the bathroom.the grounds are kept immaculate. a special thank you to christian at the pool bar for being such a great guy,he is credit to this hotel so friendly & funny.we all had fantastic time here.the only down side was our room was level with kiddies pool witch can be noisey during the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
It´s great you had nice holidays with us.
We hope to see you soon in Prinsotel Alba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    280
    115
    27
    22
See reviews for
488
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just returned from a lovely sunny week in Prinsotel Alba. All inclusive with children aged 9 and 6. The pool area was clean, tidy and the boys were in the pool all of the time. Main pool could have been bigger as got very busy. We weren't bothered if we got a sun lounger or not as we used lilos so we never queued or reserved parasols like some people did!!! It was very silly, and claiming a spot early doors was funny to watch while enjoying a relaxing breakfast in the restaurant. Very entertaining really :-) I personally think that any towels reserving 'places' around the pool or parasols should be removed by staff (as a previous holiday I went on did this and was very successful at it) The room, on arrival was not ready and when we finally got in the bed sheets hadn't been changed and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned thoroughly. No cleaning on Sundays or Thursdays so why they accept new arrivals on those days I do not know! We can not comment on the kids club/activities as we do not agree with palming your children off onto others while on a 'family' holiday. We wanted to spend time with them :-) Pool side activities were regular and fun, in and out of the water.
Our room was ground floor, with a pool view which was great BUT it was very loud at night as the entertainment was right by our balcony (but we couldn't see from there as well placed non-movable parasols were in the way) and having inconsiderate neighbours on the last two nights wasn't ideal. 03.45 hrs scraping chairs and opening and closing their balcony door numerous times. Very thin walls! Grrrr. Very echoey stairways so can hear every footstep clearly. Children running around, screaming and pressing your door bell as they ran past after 11pm while your own children are sleeping/ trying to sleep wasn't great. Don't get me wrong its a lovely place, food was great but cleaning needed to be more thorough, décor needed updating and very noisy in the evenings. Don't think we will go back as we would have to request a none pool view which would leave us with a rubbish outlook so wouldn't want that. The beaches were very close and easy to walk to with children. Lots of shops and Cala D'or centre was close by so great stuff there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are very noisy in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
If you had any problem with the room or the neighbours you had to inform to the reception and we had offered you another one and we had also spoken with the neighbours.
We like to help our guests. About the pool we have the big one and the little one for the children.
The hotel has an infrastructure and this is the capacity of the pool and terrace we have.
Anyway it will be a pleasure if you decide to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hi, we are going to stop at this hotel in 2 weeks time All Inclusive could anyone please tell me if there is a kettle and hair dryer in the rooms, or an option to hire for the weeks stay. I know we are going A I but theirs nothing worse than having to get showered dressed etc before getting a brew, knowing this would be helpful to save extra weight in the cases. I emailed the hotel over a week ago but up to now have had no response. Thank you to anyone who replies

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
First of all thanks to book your holidays in Prinsotel.
You can find a kettle and a hair dryer in the room.
We wish you nice holidays in Prinsotel Alba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I've used trip advisor as a reference for a long time but haven't yet had such an experience to make me sign up and write a review but I feel strongly about warning people away from this hotel. Cala dor is a nice place and the beach is stunning but this hotel will taint your holiday and leave you more tired coming back than you were going. As some others have said my family was also subjected to over-booking and had to move to another hotel on arrival for a night. It was really obvious this happens daily, spend any time around reception and you will regularly overhear the "compensation" discussion. The lounger situation is a joke, I dont know what the purpose of the lounger "lock up" policy is but all it does is cause fights every day. Worse is that if it wasn't bad enough having to get up at a ridiculous time for holidays just to get a lounger is that you will have to do it with little or no sleep depending on your neighbours, for the first few days of our stay we had very quiet neighbours which caused no disturbance but for the remaining 7 days we had a family upstairs with a newborn screaming all night (now that isn't their fault my point is the walls are so thin its like you have the baby screaming in the room yourself!) and a very loud family next door who woke us at 6am daily shouting (although at least they woke us on time to get loungers)
the staff are lovely and the location is great but none of that is worth 2 weeks of no sleep and bother.
I booked this place on the back of the fantastic reviews and I suspect based on the fact that staff are great etc that maybe offpeak its a much better run place but they cannot deal with peak traffic in the hotel and left us with a very unrelaxing holiday so in my experience stay away there are better places :-(

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion and to say the staff is great.
I´m so sorry about the inconveniences but if the reception had been informed we could have offered you another appartment in a different block.
Anyway it will be nice if you decide to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The overall view is very good, the pool is a good size, the entertainment is great, the food is of a good standard, the rooms are a good size for 4 people. The only problem is the need to queue for the sun beds in a morning, they are chained up and only released at 10.00 am. THERE IS NOT ENOUGH sunbeds. The hotel needs to spend a few more euros to solve this problem, it is spoiling a potential great experience.

Room Tip: Sleep by the side of the pool to be first in the queue for sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalfordLad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
It´s nice if you enjoyedyour holidays.
About the sunbeds there is no more place to put them. It´s plenty of them everywhere.
Anyway we hope you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just back from 10 nights all inclusive at the prinsotel with my partner and 15 year old daughter we all really enjoyed our stay, two mins to lovely sandy cove.....warm sea! Good choice of food, all staff really nice and friendly daytime activities were fun for all .We didn't see the eve entertainment but was told it was good. Even though there was no teens club my daughter made lots of friends and totally enjoyed herself! So did we.The room was a good size and no late night noise. Shops and bars were within 5 min walk.Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holliehotcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´snice you had nice holidays.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

It had been a while since we took a 2 week holiday so I really wanted to get somewhere great and all the reviews on TA of this place seemed so great I was confident! I can see how some people would love this place particularly if you intend to go to the beach not the pool so let me start with the positives, the apartments are a really good size, very spacious but basic, the beds are comfortable enough and the noise in Mahon building is pretty ok. the location is great and the animation team during the day are great. Now for the real watch outs. On day one when we arrived we were told they were overbooked and were shipped to another hotel for the night. I was pretty annoyed but decided to deal with it the next morning, we arrived back the next morning (after 10 as they told us to) and still had to wait for the room. On arrival I was presented with a form to sign to say I would accept a week of breakfast as compensation .. But it ran sat-sat .. We had already been moved on sat and informed breakfast was over on sun so basically 5 days breakfast. I told them I wasnt happy with that and the form was gruffly pulled away telling me to do what I wanted.. After a sleepless night (they shipped us to the esmeralda and gave us a room facing the bar which had blaring music till 3am) I didn't have the energy to argue at the time and just wanted to check in. We were settled by about 1130 however then came the realisation that if you don't have a lounger by 10am forget it. The beach at cala d'Or is beautiful, spectacular infact but with a not too strong 6 year old swimmer we needed the pool. On the evening of checking in when going to take showers it didn't work and so began an hour wait to get it fixed. It's worth saying the over booking is really prevalent and a daily thing that happens, each day when transfers arrived everyone jumped off the bus with smiles and without fail within minutes there was an angry family being loaded into a taxi ... The staffs attitude alone and sheer couldn't care less indicates its a regular occurrence and they have completely lost sight of the horrible experience it is. Worth mentioning also is that while apartments are serviced 5 days a week the cleaning is hit and miss .. the sheets were never changed, just folded and regularly insufficient towels were left. And then the biggest irritation ... The loungers. There are very limited umbrellas instead there are about 15 fixed palm trees which if you want the chance of any shade during the day are your only chance. The hotel adopts a ridiculous practice of stacking and chaining the loungers until 10am every day and also operate a no reservation of palm trees policy which they then don't enforce so what happens is you need to be up and get your towels over a palm tree by 730 and then start queuing for loungers around 930. The whole thing is a nightmare .. It created two pretty ugly fights in the time I was there in one family coming over and taking over the place reserved by towels etc.. It's just stressful. So if you want to spend your holiday setting your alarm and having a morning of hassle just to be able to sit by the pool and if you are lucky enough to not be the chosen family daily who arrive overbooked then its probably a better experience. However for us, for the experience we had it was over priced, hassle and generally a real let down ... Couldn't possibly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcg1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
I´m so sorry about these inconveniences.
At the moment all our guests are very happy with us. It´s a schame you didn´t enjoy at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Property: Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing