We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived after a 14 hour delay tired and hungry.we were quickly checked into our room ,I had emailed ahead to request top floor, quiet room .If unfit the climb to the top floor can be a little tiring.The rooms are dated but clean ,bathroom felt it had been refitted more recently.We were staying on an all inclusive basis so I didn't use the kitchen.It looked clean.The balcony had a drying area for clothes.The beds are a little hard but the rooms cleaned well although the maids have two days of a week.The air con worked well it does cut out at around 2am but comes on again at 7.30 this seemed to work well.
The pool area was crowded but it is August ,we arrived at 9.50 each morning and were able to get a parasol and three beds with no problem.I felt this worked as at other hotels people get up silly o clock to reserve the beds.Having clean beach towels each day is good.
The food is varied and of good quality for AI .Lots of salads and fruit ,fish ,breads.The restaurant is well run and staff friendly and helpful.Food served around the pool are from separate bars for AI and paying clients,the AI clients are served with plastic cups and polystyrene for tea and coffee,whilst the paying clients are served with cups and saucers.The pool side BBQ is only available to paying guests .
This was our first experience of mixed AI and paying not sure I liked this but unsure how this could be improved.
The animation team keep the guests amused ,they work so hard and are more talented than other teams I have witnessed.We had one morning of rain and the guest were inside and they did their best to make up games etc.There is a good mix of nationalities here no one dominated during our stay.
The only two negative points would be that we only managed to have a warm shower twice.The inside bar is very warm and stuffy and there are not many seats outside.
My children had a wonderful time .I wasn't keen on the resort or the beaches as they are crowded with no sea front ,the marina area is good for a walk.
This was our first visit to Mallorca and was better than expected but I wouldn't return to this resort.

Room Tip: Email ahead to request a quiet room but be aware that the top floor rooms require a climb.I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you and your family enjoyed your holidays.
It would be nice if you change your opinion and decide to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    272
    114
    26
    21
See reviews for
472
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the second time we have been to this hotel. We have 5 year old twins and were very impressed with the room and the entertainment that was on offer for them. We wanted somewhere that was warm and had good beaches and this hotel was ideal for this. The staff were very friendly and quickly sorted any issues. The children's entertainment staff were very impressive and my daughters enjoyed going to the mini club, especially the Peter Pan show and mini disco. The all inclusive was what you would expect for the money we paid, you could always find something to eat if you were prepared to try new things. The rooms were clean and towels were changed regularly. The girls' have asked if they can go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays with your family.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here - a family of four, kids aged 18 and 14, for two weeks during August.

There are good and bad points about this hotel, from my point of view the bad mostly being other holidaymakers! I cant fault the hotel staff as any problems which arose were dealt with - these problems included changing rooms. I booked this holiday a year ago and specified a ground floor pool side room, we had to wait for five days to get this room but I was offered two other rooms to choose from. Unfortunately neither of those rooms were suitable therefore we were left in limbo for the five days waiting.

My son has severe autism and the attitude of some of the holidaymakers was absolutely disgusting, in 18 years I have never come across such rudeness and ignorance - it totally ruined our holiday. I asked to move hotels but unfortunately this was not possible as apparently there was no availability elsewhere. However, every time I was in reception people who had been double booked - and there were plenty of them! - were put in different hotels, this would suggest that there was in fact availability elsewhere.

We stayed all inclusive and found the restaurant meals of a good standard but choice a bit limited - it was alright if you liked chips with everything! There needs to be more variety and side dishes which accompany the main meal........not chips at every mealtime. The daytime/evening snacks consist of unbuttered ham and cheese sandwiches, some type of biscuit, cheap ice-cream tubs and fruit. As said in a previous review the plastic 'glasses' which the drinks are served in are usually warm from the dishwasher which in turn makes the drinks warm, the pay bar use glasses (not good around the pool), the drinks are filled to the top (the all inclusive ones are sometimes only half filled) and they have a slice of lemon in them - not a luxury all inclusive get! Also all inclusive tea and coffee is served in polystyrene cups whilst if you pay you get a proper china cup.

I have never had to wait for sunbeds to be unchained before and found this whole scenario ridiculous - but when in Rome.......or even Spain! So every morning for two soul destroying weeks I queued for two sunbeds.......had a few rows.....sometimes a little scuffle....but on the upside I did meet some nice people ;)

The apartment was OK, what you expect for a three star. The air conditioning and hot/cold water were all fine. However our room was not cleaned or the beds changed throughout our stay, also towels were not changed and my husband had to go and find the lady with the towels to get clean ones, we also changed our own bins as these were not done. Apart from room being a bit hit and miss the cleanliness within the rest of the hotel is excellent.

This place is ideal if you have young children but teenagers are not catered for and I would not return purely for the disgusting treatment of my son by other holidaymakers - however this is not the fault of the hotel staff. I was reassured when booking by Thomas Cook that this hotel would be suitable for my son, it wasn't. I asked the Thomas Cook rep to move hotels, this was apparently impossible. On arrival at the airport we were advised by a Thomas Cook rep that there was a six hour delay, to check in and he would come and sort out any problems.........we never saw him again......... I would rather poke myself in the eye with a dirty stick than go anywhere with Thomas Cook again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
I´m so sorry about these inconveniences. Most of them we could have helped you like changing room or if your towels should have been changed for example.
About the food I have to tell you it´s very variaty in the breakfast, lunch time and dinner time. The buffet have chips but as you know it has got many other kind of food for adults and children (meat - all kind of meat- , fisch -different kind of fisch, vegetables, bread, fruit, cakes, special dinners spanisch, italian, mexican,...).
About the inconvenience you had with other holidaymakers it is not our fault like you say.
Anyway we would like to see you back again in Prinsotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel at around 6pm room was ready and were of a good size, clean towels were always changed regularly, surprised that we had a kitchenette with kettle, toaster,fridge and hob rings and utensils even though we were all inclusive. room was always kept clean bathroom was ok always plenty of hot water and a hairdryer the bedroom was spacious and had large beds we were concerned at first that the air con didn't work but realised that all doors had to be closed for it to work We went straight to restaurant to get a drink and something to eat and was very surprised by the variety of food there was. always something you could choose to eat and was replenished and hot, the staff appeared to work very hard indeed clearing tables and glasses and serving drinks and were very polite at all times, its a pity the restaurant was a bit stuffy at times could of done with better air conditioning for us and staff. We went to the beach every day as it was too busy near poolside and had to queue for sun loungers which we didn't bother about as there wasn't enough to go round but think that perhaps when towels are just put on to reserve and not used all day they should be removed so everyone gets a chance.The location was great with lots of shops and beaches close by only 5 min walk. all in all was a great holiday and would recommend this hotel especialy if you have young children as the entertainment day and evenings was brilliant.

Room Tip: we had a room across the road which was good as poolside rooms appeard a bit noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
The staff always work hard just to help our guests.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays.
We hope you come back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Arrived at the hotel about 12.30 midday, only to be told without any apology that the room wasnt ready.returned at 1.15 room ready. The room is a nice size but a bit dated, which wasn't a problem as we didnt plan to spend much time there. Stayed for 9 nights only had the bedding and towels changed once. Air con very noisey, only managed 1 hot shower as their never seem to be any at peak times. Didnt mind the sun beds being unlocked at 10am, saved getting up at silly o'clock, but it lead to a lively start to the day. Once settled at the pool the entertainment staff were very good, bar staff very helpful and pleasant but always in a rush to keep up with demand. Fantastic location for the beaches and nightlife. Would visit resort again but wouldn't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
If you had any problem in the room you should have informed to the reception and we could have helped you vey quick.
Our job is helping our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Where do I start , our first room we were given was awful the smell in the room was like a gents dirty toilet, vile . The decor was right out of the 1970 bright orange Curtains green furniture all very , very dated and all seen better days. We were staying in a apartment the kitchenette was very basic and again all the utensils had all seen better days. We complained and they moved us to another room decor the same but did feel cleaner . The same day we arrived I asked for extra pillows we waited 4days for them to arrive! As for cleanliness the housekeeping were supposed to come 5days out of your 7night stay , she came twice during our stay and the sheets on the bed were not changed at all.
The fire procedures were terrible , the apartments were in two storey blocks and there was only one fire extinguisher between 6 apartments , we were on the top floor so if there was a fire we would be in trouble , also there was no fire blanket or extinguisher in the apartment and no other way to get out of the apartment other than jump over the balcony , these procedures definitely need looking at before they have serious accident.
The pool was far too small for the amount of guests staying at the hotel we did not manage to get a bed once . Also around the pool guests were given proper glasses to drink from the floors around the bar area and pool were very slippy accident waiting to happen.
The only good thing was the hotel was situated well for walking into the centre and the beach. I will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try a room that does not over look the pool as it is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogers1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you got a new room.
The rooms overlooking the pool are really nice but the guests know there are many children swimming and playing with the entartainers during the day (it´s a family hotel), and in the evening we have the shows.
Anyway I hope you could enjoy your holidays in Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

3rd visit in 4 years, criticisms about sunloungers and tired rooms are valid but value for money, cleanliness and location can just not be beaten. We don't opt for all-inc as so many great restaurants within 10 minutes walk. I don't think there is room for more sunloungers, problem is families taking one a piece and then only mum and dad using. We were a group of 7 and would try to lay claim for 3 sunbeds. Perhaps they should assign 2 per room and then if you want more join the free for all. Rooms are great if not likely to win any interior design prizes, free of charge air-con, fridge, kettle,toaster etc and new TV's. We are lucky to have use of a very nice private villa in the canaries and are fortunate to stay in 5 star hotels on other occasions but for what we paid there is no room to grumble. A room that sleeps 4 at c£90 per night in the height of the season with budget airline flights makes our summer Mallorca trips a holiday bonus we would otherwise do without. 9 nights there is cheaper than our half term breaks to other places and cost less than just our flights to the canaries in Oct. Take it for what it is, if you want more then Esmeralda Park is nice but getting on for nearly double the room rate. Enjoy the sun, go with the flow and get out and see the island. If you have kids you will accept the noise, if you haven't why go in school holidays and expect anything different?

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pool area nearer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Property: Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing