We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 27 May 2014

humid and smelly appartment, old and rusty. Showerhead is an option you have to ask for. Room cleaning sometimes after 4 pm, and nobody's knocking before coming in. Bad food. Nice poeple at restaurant, but bad management and reception. Disappointing

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caroch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for your opinión, but I´m not agreed with it.
At the reception there is profesional staff.
If you had any problem with the room, the shower,.. you could have informed to the reception or to the hotel manager and we could have helped you very kindly.
We are working everyday to help our guests as soon as possible because we like they enjoy their holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at the Alba last week of September and loved it -took o,ur two elderly Mum's who really enjoyed it. Food was good, rooms were good, pool was good entertainment team fantastic.

My gutted title is because we really wanted to return next year for 10 nights, but our Tour Operator says the Alba is no longer booking singe occupancy rooms.

We don't understand why this has changed - Mums are both really disappointed and so are we - help !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool/bar area are best if you prefer peace and quiet, but entertainment finishes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for your opinion.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Check in smooth . Receptionist really nice. Our apartment was spacious and very clean. Emailed before we went to ask for a ground floor apartment, and one was waiting for us. Thanks.
No problems with sunbeds.
The food was ok , we went AI but I am fussy. All the staff were really nice.
Beautiful location.
Met a lot of Germans who were really good company ,thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks a lot to choose for your holidays Prinsotel ALba. We hope you had nice holidays and we hope also to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I'd read very mixed reviews on Trip Advisor before we travelled so was somewhat apprehensive when we arrived. however, check in was smooth and efficient and we were provided with everything we needed. We were located in the Mahon block, just across from reception in room 124 - this was a second floor room of a three floor block, with rooms on either side. This did provide a few issues at times - there were families on either side of us and the noise did filter through the walls, and there was noise from the other rooms when furniture was moved or the shower was running. This is generally a feature of this style of building though, so something to bear in mind rather than something to complain to reception about. However, travelling as a couple rather than a family, it may make some sense to allocate the rooms in such a way that the families are all located together, and the couples and older travellers are located together.. This would potentially reduce some of the irritation caused by the general noise of families. Similarly, we felt very uncomfortable on our balcony in the evenings, as we were made to feel like we were disturbing the families either side of us, and we were simply sat quietly talking and having an evening drink. Our room was located across the road from the pool area and bar area, so it was generally quiet and ideal in that respect, but the noise issues and neighbour issues did put a. It of a dampener on our experience.

Overall the rooms were pretty much as expected - two single beds and a fitted wardrobe with a safe, a small wet room/bathroom and a large lounge with a kitchenette. The lounge has two sofas and a flat screen TV on which you can get a selection of German, Spanish and English channels (CNN / BBC1 / ITV). The rooms are basic but clean, although tired and in need of updating in terms of decor and fittings. The bathroom particularly was in need of an overhaul - the shower head and sink basin both seemed to be on a 'make do and mend' basis, although perfectly functional. According to some talk at the hotel and reviews on here, there are plans to upgrade the rooms which would take the experience at the Alba from the top end of average to exceptional.

The facilities around the hotel definitely improved the experience of the Alba - the pool area was more than an adequate size and depth, and cleaned and maintained well. The sun beds were not locked away during our visit and there were always plenty available. There is a Spar shop 2 mins from the complex for SC visitors, although we utilised the AI option and found the food to be, whilst not exactly gourmet or as wide in choice as some AI resorts we have experienced, plentiful and sufficient in choice each day to vary what we had most days. The AI drinks range was sufficient, although restricted to San Miguel, basic white/red/rose wine and a selection of local brand liqueurs (coconut, apple, melon) and whisky/vodka/rum.

The service staff at the Alba were never anything other than polite, proficient and helpful, and the Animacion team were outstanding at amusing the children at the complex (and often the adults too!). The main selling poi t for the Alba though would have to be the location - a few minutes down the hill and down the steps and you will find yourself on Cala Gran beach, while the Esmerelda is less than 5 minutes walk along the street and turning left at the end. Both these beaches are amazing - picturesque, clean, crystal waters and good facilities. The centre of Cala d'Or is only a few minutes' walk, where you will find plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The town itself is beautiful - quiet, clean, contained and as much of a contrast to the open beaches, scattered shopping and noise and bustle of Magaluf as you can imagine!

Overall, the Alba is one of the better of the 'standard Spanish apartment hotels' that I have visited, although there is potential for some adjustment to make it a complex to come back to on any subsequent visit to Cala d'Or.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays in our resort Prinsotel Alba.
We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We returned from a 14 day AI holiday at the Prinsotel Alba 3 days ago. Our party numbered 3- a 75+ yr old, a 65+ yr old with mobility issues and me (35+yrs). On arrival we were warmly greeted by receptionist Shiela. Mum had pre hired a mobility scooter from a specialist company, which was ready and waiting in reception when we arrived. We were helped to our rooms by staff members as we had big luggage and Mum was in pain due to the long journey. This was greatly appreciated by us all. We were given a ground floor room which was suitable for Mums mobility problems, as we had requested (a one bedroomed apartment, room 651- at the back of the complex above the supermarket Alba). The sofa bed was comfortable. There were no grab rails or raised toilet in the bathroom, although we could have hired them along with the scooter. The complex was easy to get around on a scooter, with various ramps for the families with prams. A lot of the guests were young families when we were there, which made for a nice atmosphere. The animation team worked hard at trying to include all the children. We loved the dance routines they did on the pool bridge announcing lunch...the Zumba routine and the Gangnam Style routine were very entertaining!!!! The food was well presented and always replenished. We found that there was more choice of mains at Lunch than dinner, but this may be a continental trend. The range of fresh fruit and salad was great.There was always something to eat. The waiting staff were courteous, friendly, always busy clearing tables and appeared to get on with each other too. The Restaurant managers were also welcoming and always spoke with us. The bar services was well organised, with a seperate queueing area for All Inclusive and Half board guests in the poolside area. Our room was cleaned 5 times a week, with fresh towels when needed. There was a fridge and kettle and a wall mounted hairdryer in the room. The bins and towels were not changed on the cleaner rest days. There is a book swap bookshelf and 2 computers terminals for internet hire at reception. The resort itself was very scenic. There are various coves around the resort. We discovered Cala Esmerelda, about 5 mins away from our hotel which had a pool bar cafe (attached to another hotel there but open to the public) with an amazing view. Cala Gran cove is just over the road from the Prinsotel Alba and has 2 cafes and lots of shaded walls on the left where you can sit in the shade if you want. We found the dropped kerbs to be irratic, with dropped kerbs on one side of some roads but not on the other side!! Parts of the resort are hilly but manageable. Up in the square there are loads of cafes and restaurants. We didnt go on any trips as we have been to Palma various times in the past. All in all a very enjoyable holiday with a relaxed family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fcoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion.
We hope you enjoyed your holidays and we hope also to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just arrived back from a 10 night AI holiday. In the group were myself, my husband and our twin boys who are 21 months. When we booked this holiday the hotel had good reviews on here but just before we went the review were really bad so I was a little apprehensive about going, however there was no need as we had a great time and out wee boys loved it.
Our check in was done smoothly and quickly and the reception staff were very friends, we arrived at 1.30pm and our room was ready. We requested a ground floor, quiet room and we allocated room 111 in the Mahon block, the hotel consists of 9 blocks. Unfortunately the room was in the block directly across from the reception area and the bedroom window was right next to where people seem to wait for the bus pick up and there were people departing and arriving every day and we would be woken up most nights with the noise of people talking outside the bedroom window. I did go to reception and request to be moved and they did say we could be moved on the Monday but we arrived on the Wednesday and with already unpacking and having the twins there we decided to just stay where we were and just used ear plugs.
The travel cots provided for the boys were like new and the boys found them very comfortable, our beds were also really comfortable with good thick mattresses. The room was cleaned most days apart from a Thursday and a Sunday, clean towels were left on days room was cleaned but you could request towels from the reception which we did on days the cleaner was off. On the day we arrived and went into the room we took our shoes off the floor was still slightly damp after being cleaned however our feet were filthy as the room hadn't appeared to have been swept before being moped. We paid for the remote control for the tv but we did have problems with it but the maintenance man came each time to try and sort it. There are only 2 British channels available BBC1 and ITV which is good but the kids channel was in German, they could possible look into adding CBeebies for the British kids as this would have helped entertain our wee ones. The room was in good order and well maintained.
The pool area was good, the sun loungers were not chained up and there was never a problem to getting a sun lounger, we spend most of our time around at the splash pool area and out boys loved it there it was great for wee ones. The only thing I'd say is that they could do with putting anti slip flooring down around it as there were a few kids that kept slipping around the pool, one wee boy burst his lip open it was awful to see.
Now the restaurant area, at the start of the holiday we found the restaurant staff to be extremely rude towards us for no reason, one our first afternoon there was lots of spaces in the restaurant to sit we took a table that seated 6 as thought this would give us room for the boys to stop them grabbing things off the table and throwing them in the floor however we were quickly told we could not sit at that table as there are only 4 of us, even though the place was pretty empty. Then when we did sit at a table for 4 and the boys were eating their lunch and yes they made a mess, they are only 21 months, the staff kept walking past and muttering and looking at the food on the ground, I felt terrible. It was so bad I actually went up and spoke to the guy standing at the door who turned out to be the Assistant Manager (James) and he said we should not be made to feel like that and would speak to the staff concerned. After that it was fine. We did find it really stressful with the boys as you could only have food in the restaurant area so it was like going out to eat 3 times a day with the wee ones that's really hard work. There are snack available at the bar area but they only really consisted of a cheese and ham sandwich/biscuits/tea & coffee/cake/fruit. The choice of food in the restaurant is very good and lots of nice things to eat and there was always plenty available.
The Assistant Manager was very friendly and spoke to the boys every day and was very helpful.
The entertainment for the kids was mostly in German and not so good for our little ones.
I think the hotel cater more for German and Dutch guests than British.
In all it was a good hotel, with great food in a really good location. Although I don't think I'd like to go in peak season.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellow1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice to know you enjoyed in Prinsotel Alba.
I would like to explain you that all the guests are the same for us,spanish, english, german, russian, italian.
We would like to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We returned to the hotel exactly one year on, nothing much has changed. Apartment rooms basic but clean and a comfortable size. Didn't use the pool as there were loads of kids, but to be fair, no real noise problems.
Our shower head was loose, we asked for it to be fixed, but it never was, so I fixed it myself. Still the best asset is the location, 20yards from the beach and bars, but always quiet. Trip was spoilt by professional volleyball tournament on the beach for 3 days, with the loudest music ever. No consideration whatsoever for holiday makers who just wanted to chill out!. Tutti-fruitti coco-loco man selling fruit on the beach is still there, worth the trip alone for the laugh. Check out Duggans bar in town, 2 of the best guitarists around. We have been to Cala D'or 5 times now, the last 2 at Alba, and will be going back.

Room Tip: Hotel is in several blocks, 2 back from the pool is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We hope you enjoyed in Prinsotel and in Cala D´Or.
We hope you return next year again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments

Address: Calle de Sa Conillera s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £38 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the resort of Cala d’Or, this recently renovated holiday complex is set just a few steps away from the crystal-clear Mediterranean waters of Cala Gran.The property has been built in a typical Balearic style, providing an authentic Majorcan experience. Relax in the sunshine on a sun lounger before diving into the large outdoor swimming pool. You can also enjoy a cool drink beside the pool from the outdoor bar. Refreshing drinks are also available in the lounge bar.The property is surrounded by Cala d’Or – one of Majorca’s most popular seaside and water sports resorts. From here, you can easily enjoy all that this beautiful island has to offer. Exploring at your own pace is made easy by the reception’s car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Apartments Hotel Manacor
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing