We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
TUI BLUE Rocador(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Antares(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sentido Tucan(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
297
322
130
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
322
130
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala gran beachself cateringpool areakids clubinclusive barhuge bedwater poloice creamyoung childrenanimation teamstayed all inclusiveevening entertainmentthe sun bed situationsun loungersfamily holidaygreat holidaytable tennis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My kids when we went were 15 and 12, apart from splashing in the pool there was not a lot of entertainment for their age group, ok for ages 3-10.
The entertainment a night after 9.30pm was meant to be for adults but to be honest it was the same people who did the kids day time entertainment and kids were still running around after 9.30pm.
We were self catering, so cannot comment on the buffet style restaurant. Apartment was clean no nasty cockroaches or anything like that. Overall a nice hotel if you have a young family. Cala D'or picturesque resort, can be quite expensive though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Rooms – These are cleaned every day except Wednesdays and Sundays. Rooms have a 2 slice toaster, kettle, fridge, 3 ring hob but no microwave. Can imagine rooms around the pool can be quite noisy. Plenty of cupboard space and hangers. Our room was across the road, with pool view (above the reception) which was perfect. Safe’s cost €30 for 2 weeks and you have to leave a €10 deposit for the remote controls for TV (BBC1, ITV, Eurosport & CNN only English channels).
I’m sorry to say that I played the Europeans at their own game and got up at 6.00am each day to put my towels on beds around the pool. This was only necessary if you wanted an umbrella aswell.
Entertainment - Plenty of daytime entertainment in the hotel like water gym, beach soccer, water polo etc. There is additional entertainment for the younger ones upstairs – mini darts, bowling, colouring etc. Professional acts are brought in to the hotel on Sundays. Otherwise the evening entertainment is performed by Fulvio, Marco, Sabrina and Magda. They do their best but it is quite amateurish.
Eating in the hotel is very reasonable. For evening dinner adults are charged €10 and children €7. Choice of salad, meats, fish, usual buffet style foreign food. I would have become very bored with eating here regularly. At breakfast adults are charged €7 and children €3.50 which was very reasonable as after having a ‘full monty’ (frankfurters and streaky bony bacon) we made some ham and cheese rolls and smuggled them out with some fruit to see us through lunch time – needs must as the euro rate makes it quite a bit more expensive that in the past!!
Restaurants in Cala D’Or town – The Jungle has a kid’s play area and kids eat free before 7.30pm. I would give this 8/10. Pirate restaurant also in the town offers unlimited ribs. Again I would give this 8/10 although steer clear of the Thai Green curry which was very watery! Café Fernando was the best restaurant we ate at. The portions were smaller, slightly more expensive but the quality and ambience was so much better. You do need to make a reservation here in advance as it is often full. Sa Font restaurant on the hill just up from the entrance to Cala Gran beach was poor, just a 5/10.
AS we were Self Catering we went to the main supermarket (Eroski) by cab €7 each way and stocked up on essentials, bread, milk etc. The SPAR supermarket opposite the taxi rank just past the Cala Gran beach entrance is cheaper than the supermarket most local to Prinsotel Alba (where they charge nearly €5 for a jar of Ragu).
Beaches – Cala Gran is a two minute walk away and a fantastic beach. Two beds and an umbrella is €5.80. Shallow enough for younger children to enjoy themselves. We visited Cala Mondrago reached by the open top bus that picks up outside Cala Gran beach. Just €2.70 return but last bus leaves Cala Mondrago beach at 5.20pm. The restaurant on the beach here is very expensive - €4.60 for beans on toast!! Cala Esmerelda beach is 10 minutes walk. This is smaller than Cala Gran and not really worth the effort. The waves were very rough, knocking adults of their feet.
Days out - we went to Aqualand Waterpark at S’Arenal which was booked via Thomas Cook rep at €44 an adult and €22 for children. Park needs tidying up a bit, some rusty steps, overgrown areas etc. Good fun but overpriced. We didn’t do the Pirate Show in Magaluf as we went there a few years back (excellent evening’s entertainment) and couldn’t justify the €64 (adult) & €32 (child) prices.
All in all a great holiday at a decent hotel, in a lovely resort geared totally towards families with younger children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68Tony68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We've just got back from a really nice and friendly two week stay at the Prinsotel Alba.After reading mixed reviews about the place beforehand we were a bit apprehensive , but you know what...make up your own mind.A lot of people want 5 star holidays for 3 star prices.
The hotel is set in different blocks, some near to the pool,disco, etc.Some across a little road.If you want peace and quiet on the balcony at night you probably wouldn't want the pool apartments,although the entertainment does stop at midnight.

The rooms are a good size, if a little basic(kitchen area especially) but everywhere is clean and tidy with regular changes of bathroom towels.For some reason the kettles and toasters are stored away but all you've got to do is ask for em.It also costs to hire the safety deposit box in your room,as it does the tv remote but i can't remember going anywhere that it doesn't.

Everyone who works at the hotel are friendly ,with the four entertainment staff trying really hard and making a big effort with both kids and adults alike.There's always something going on around the pool if thats your thing, but if you're like us and just want to chill there's no pressure to join in anything.Sunbeds are left out at night so its the annual "dash" in the morning,but everyone does it so if you can't beat em ,join
em.Having said that there were free beds at 11 most mornings.

Just a slight critiscism of the pool area is the variation of the music played in the day.We all like King Africa's "la Bomba" as much as the next family but there are millions of holiday songs to choose from surely.

The pool bars a bit pricey for drinks, but the foods good ,and that is reasonably priced.
Although we used the pool every day, there are really nice beaches within 5 minutes walk, but they do get crowded and are very hot.We got a really nice boat trip from cala gran beach to porto colom one day ,which made a change.

There is entertainment every night at the hotel with mini discos,bingo,comedy ? night,adult disco etc,which we invariably came back to for the last hour.The hotel has a decent restaraunt which even if you are self catering you can use on a pay as you go basis,which we did once and it was nice,But Cala D'or has so many decent restaraunts and bars you'll be spoilt for choice.Go and try bar lovento,the foods beautiful.
For a change one night go and have a meal at the marina, its about a 10 minute walk from the alba, theres loads of restaraunts to choose from,its lovely.You can sit and pick the yacht you'll buy if you win the lottery.

Also for the kids there are two big Mallorcaland playgrounds, but BEWARE 1 euro doesn't get many laps on the go-carts.
There's also crazy golf but its not cheap and gets a bit busy at night.

Cala D'or itself is the nicest place we've been on Majorca.A really good, buzzing atmosphere without being rough and rowdy .As for the prinsotel alba appartments with its good mix of nationalities and friendly nature, it exeded our expectations so much we've just booked to go again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brads1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The night we arrived the room we were given was on the ground floor, which I told the agent when I booked the holiday (June 2008) that I did not want. According to the hotel I requested a 'lower floor'. The room was smelling badly of dampness in the bedroom and the bedroom window lock was broken, which was concerning with a 2 and 6 year old on the ground floor! I was told it would be the following day before anything could be done. The following day I spoke to Grace our rep, who was very helpful and got keys to the only empty apartment for us to view. This room also smelt terrible. We agreed to stay in the original apartment and have the maids clean the closet where the dampness came from. We managed to jam the window shut with a a bolt we found lying on the floor and the window was secure enough. However 1 of us had to sleep in the room with the children at all times.
It took 2 days and another chat with our rep before the room was actually cleaned and we had to spend around 15 euros on air fresheners and bleach ourselves whilst waiting for them to come. The apartment itself was filthy, the floor, the kitchen fridge and units were dirty and had to be cleaned. In 2 weeks I could count on 1 hand how many times our floors were moped. The bed linen was only changed if we took them off the beds ourselves. The patio door had a make-shift lock and balcony itself had dangerously cracked tiles and the clothes dryer was broken(bolt missing, probably the one from the bedroom window!) We got a tea towel once, despite leaving a note (in Spanish) once they took it away, asking for another. Had to then go and buy one after almost a week without. They really should provide plastic plates in the room for children, as ceramic plates are dangerous around tiled floors.
I was disappointed to have to pay 31 euros to hire a safe. I have never had to pay in other hotels, another other than a deposit and 31 euros I believe, was too expensive.
The children's pool was emptied one morning and it took over a day for it to fill up, this was a very poor decision as the pool was all the under 3 year olds had, as they were too young to take part in the kids club. There was alot of unhappy people that day regarding this matter. The pool area was too slippery. It was tiled, but many children fell and injured themselves during our stay, luckily neither of my children had any injuries, but thought it was worth pointing out to you. The pool side activities were good enough and evening entertainment. However, during the day we could almost to the minute tell you what time enya, norah jones etc would be played. It became a pool side laugh with guests! Very repetitive music and there is no excuse for this with the choice of music these days. The service staff were great, considering they were very busy.
And finally to top it all off, the hotel advertises a bottle of sparkling wine on birthdays, anniversaries etc. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel had this on file, as did our rep as they told us when we checked in and despite all our initial problems, we never got our wine! Says alot about the care of guests at this hotel.
I met other holiday makers returning to this hotel, maybe we were just unlucky!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inglewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Booked this holiday as a last minute deal and was a bit aprehensive as we had never been to Mallorca , but we were very surprised. The accomodation is a little dated, but extremely clean and well maintained. the staff are pleasant and helpful. We went self catering, but there is a restaurant. The pool is very crowded and there is not much room to accomodate all guests, so be prepared to go down to the beach. There is also a sun terrace but there is no shade from the sun and it gets extremely hot. Apart from that I would recommend it for a cheap holiday. The area itself has many bars, restaurants (mainly British) and there are buses within easy reach. Overall we enjoyed it very much. Children are also well catered for. Also air con was on 24 hours a day, everyday

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caladorval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews