We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing and unforgettable holiday!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Fantastic holiday!!! Fantastic hotel!!!
I went here on a last minute deal with 3 collegues from work (ages varying from 28 - 50+) and we went all inclusive for about £360 each. When booking we knew it was a 3 star so didn't set out sights to high. How wrong we were!!!!
We arrived at 11.30pm and when checking in were told that they had laid on a cold buffet for us as we had missed the meals for the evening. The choice and effort that had been made with the cold buffet was outstanding considering there was only 4 of us that had arrived.
During the day you have the choice of the pool (beware that some people like whereever you go put the towels out at silly hours in the morning, although this is banned at the hotel so you can move them!!) which has a programme of activities happening such as stretching, yoga, dance classes and thanks to our persuasion now also has aqua aerobics!
You also have the beach area at the back of the hotel which is almost like a private beach as it is that relaxing and quiet.
The food at all areas (snack bar and main restaurant) is outstanding and you are spoilt for choice. At dinner if you order a glass of wine they bring you the whole bottle if you are all inclusive!
The only thing that you have to watch is the staff in the bar at the entertaionment area in the evening. They can be a little off with you if you order more than one drink each at a time especially if it is close to the 11pm end of all inc time. easy way to get around this is to go up one at a time and each order a round! LOL!
The main thing that made our holiday was the fantastic animation team (Tanya, ana, Claudio, Santos and Miguel). They really get everyone involved and are incredibly friendly and fantastic at what they do! They even managed to convince us to be the spice girls as part of one of their acts! LOL! If they dont do something and you would like to do it they try to incorporate this into the programme!
We couldn't have asked for more!!!!
Thank you for a truly amazing and unforgettable holiday!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SunQueen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 3,504 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

We chose this hotel after we cancelled our holiday to Tunisia. We had limited choice so we went with few expectations. Hotel facilities very good, nice & clean, rooms a bit dated but comfortable, Staff very helpful, food was great, location perfect, set on a stunning beach cove, sea view room recommended. Close to resort centre, pool area & bar did get busy at times. Lots of daytime activites to do, staff very enthusisatic. Bar terrace with views of the bay was lovely.
Night time entertainment was ok. There was a show bar with outside access which had kids club disco and showtime.There was an Indoor bar/lounge, which we found brightly lit and a bit dull in the evening.
There was a mixture of young & old & different nationalalities which did work but in high seaon this hotel may become very busy.
Our party was a mix age range from grandparents to teenager and we all agreed it was a lovely holiday, and good value for money. We would highly recommend the Barcelo Ponent Playa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I have just returned from an all inclusive week away at the Barcelo Ponent Playa with my boyfriend for his birthday. So i'll tell you about the negatives and positives to our stay as the hotel has many mixed reviews and it's always good to know before you go away!

Negatives:
1)Check in was mayhem, very busy, reception staff not very helpful and spoke little English although we don't speak Spanish. Despite all that we arrived at 11:30am and our room wasn't ready until 2:30pm so we just had to hang around. This is because checking out isn't until 12pm.
2)When we eventually got our room it wasn't even clean, sand and hairs everywhere especially in the bathroom and overall just grubby. Despite having a maid everyday the room stayed like this all week! Beds are made every day but not changed and only got new towels when they fancied giving them too you!
3)The TV set on fire in our room and filled it with smoke, we complained a numerous of times for it to be removed but nobody seemed interested, it wasn't replaced and fire alarms didn't work.
4)The food is horrible! Although a wide choice, no care is put into cooking it. Food was often under cooked, repetitive, fatty and full of bones. Everyone is like animals fighting for the food too, god knows why! We ate out at a wonderful kebab house 2 nights but if i hadn't paid more for all inclusive I would of chose to eat out every night.
5)Follow the blue Barcelo comfort menu as this is your all inclusive guide as not all drinks and food are included! I was rather disappointed that you have to ask for small pots of ice cream and it's only available to under 12's.
6)As it was start of season not a lot of shops or restaurants nearby were open, this made it very peaceful though and Cala Dor is such a lovely location!
7)The hotel had a power cut, with people stuck in the lift and staff didn't reassure anyone!
8)Our holiday rep seemed un-confrontable as when guests did complain she got very argumentative. We heard many comments from English guests like ''have you seen the food, it's what they feed to animals'' complaints about all inclusive menus, the noise and the cleanliness. However some did seem to enjoy it.
9)As all inclusive you are allowed to play Tennis and Crazy golf on site however you still need to put down a deposit, which is new to me?
10)The hotel isn't for young couples although young children with families seemed to enjoy the entertainment. It is full of old Spanish guests which are much more appreciated by the staff.
11)For every drink you order you have to sign for it, despite being all inclusive.
12)Along with the rooms being dirty, there was no double bed, no hair dryer or drinking facilities, the toilet didn't fill up again with water, hear other guests walking past, talking, blowing noses and running water in their rooms and the door didn't lock from the inside.
13)Overall the hotel just needs a general face lift and i think it would make the holiday because it is in such a lovely location.

a few other facts- lovely little town, harbor, shops are cheap enough but full of all your average holiday gifts, a lot of alcohol sold but saw no tobacco, sun loungers are 4:50euros for 2, very clean area, Santanyi market, cheap local taxi services but hardly any buses.

Positives:
1)I would definitely recommend a sea view room as it made the holiday for us.
2)The private beach was lovely to wake up to every morning.
3)We were very lucky with the weather.
4)The cocktail of the day!
5)The area and the location.
6)Always had hot water!
7)Many English restaurants and pubs!
8)Enough hangers for clothes.
9)Request a picnic box if your off out for the day.
10)Computers in reception but at a cost.
11)Luggage storage room.
12)Early breakfast if your departing before 8am.

We didn't want to come home due to the area and weather but the hotel was a disappointment and i wouldn't go back to a Barcelo chain.

Room Tip: hotel needs a face lift but lovely area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rella18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel fo 11 days in Sep.2010.
The beach is very near the hotel! That is very comfortable, you don't waste time to reach it. There are lots of pines near the hotel. At the evening you can walk along Cala Dor: shoping, restarantes. Supermarket and bus stop (to go to Palma) is about 300m away. It takes about 1 hour to get Palma.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Have just returned from a 5 night A/I inclusive break at this hotel with twin 8 year olds. We had a great time the location is perfect and the hotel though a few years old and a little dated it was clean and well cared for. Our room was very clean with a lovely view of a perfect beach. .The food was fine and fresh we all found lots to eat . I have to say the entertainment was very good some of the best I have ever experienced and they made a point of getting everyone involved and everyone had fun. It is a Saga hotel and we found they were lovely and really joined in.The kids club was very good and for the first time my two were confident enough in the staff to enjoy it, they could not wait to get there in the morning and they did lots of fun things so more time to relax for me. Not far from the town if you want a walk and some more lovely little beaches nearby if you want a change. Probably not for you if you want lively and loud, but that is what we did not want and enjoyed every second . I would go back again without a second thought as I find the Barcelo chain very good and keen to please. Thank you Barcelo for a lovely holiday hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janalibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

we only stayed for 4 days at this hotel, thankfully, it needs quite alot of updating, although our room was clean, it was quite grubby and needed a coat of paint especially on the balcony. Our shower didnt work, and we had no hot water 1 evening and had to wait about 2 hours for it to heat up!! The food was okay nothing special. Although the entertainment team were very enthusiastic and friendly, the beach is near but very small.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocochanel077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My friend and I stayed here all inclusive for a week at the start of the season. Could not fault the holiday at all, totally loved it! And there were many more that felt the same! The hotel has everything you need and more. The entertainment team were brilliant! Even though not many bars and restaurants were open near by as the season had just started, the hotel provided everything we needed. Lots of choice for food and nice too. Rooms were lovely and very clean. Beautiful view of the beach and cove near the hotel. Had such a relaxing week and so much fun! Plenty facilities and activities, excellent kids club too! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephnewbould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Address: CL Cala Ferrera s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £55 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing