We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a lovely stay at hotel, on half-board basis. Good service, cleanliness good (cleaners were very friendly). Pool very cold. Food OK but do not cater for children. Beach brilliant. Pleasant stay! Tx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time making a comment about the hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 3,505 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

After staying at the Ponent Playa for 4 nights (13-17 of may) for my girlfriend's and my own birthday we was quite impressed by the hotel and it's services. We had booked through alpha rooms on a half board package, and on arrival to the hotel we was checked in asap and confirmed about being half board. To us half board usually means breakfast and evening meals but not until the last day did it become apparent we could use the restaurant for dinner as well. All in all this was a cheap last minute break and we was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. On the food side of things, breakfast was very good always plenty to choose from and the same went for evening meals apart from they could do with more meats like chicken and beef etc. As we only stayed for 4 days I could see the food getting a little repetitive over a longer period but I wouldn't let that put you off ! The rooms was a little dated and could do with a bit of paint, but was always clean and the beds was quite comfortable and always made .On my girlfriends birthday we received a bottle of champagne which I thought was a nice little bonus and also something we haven't experienced at 4 /5 star resorts in the past. During our stay my girlfriend had to see the doctor (at no fault of the hotel) when we visited reception we explained what had happened and it was all sorted with one phone call, so a big thank you to Eva on reception. Within an hour the doctor had been and gone and saved us valuable sunbathing time. We would love to return to this hotel but we would wait until the weather is a it warmer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Smithandroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time making a comment about the hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located in Cala d'Or in Majorca, directly on the sandy beach, not far from the city center. In the neighborhood are located to local shops and restaurants. Close to a bus stop. Palma de Mallorca is about 2 hours by bus. The food is good and varied. Rooms are clean and spacious. The service is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank Grzegorz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the fourth time myself and my friends have stayed at this hotel and this in itself speaks volumes, staff very friendly and the rooms are just perfect for our needs. Granted the food is repetitive but it's all inclusive and it would be impossible to please everyone. The entertainment team were lovely and work very hard. My only complaint would be in regards to the 'outside' entertainment which comes into the hotel, it definitely wasn't as good as last years so perhaps they need to rethink that side of things. Thanks for a great stay and we'll see you again in September

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, it is very helpful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We see you in four months.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we have been to this Hotel several times - please do not read into the negative comments - if you want a clean hotel with no teenagers getting drunk and a relaxing time - THIS is for you - I do not write reviews often but this Hotel deserves a good one - we have booked to come back again already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
11  Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is great to read that you enjoyed at Barceló Ponent Playa, thank you for your loyalty and support.
See you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at the ponent playa and have nothing but good things to say about it. The staff were amazing - they were friendly, polite and welcoming and could not do enough for us. We arrived on the opening day and asked if we could be upgraded to a sea view, on finding out that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary we were upgraded for free. The room was lovely, it was spacious and clean and the food was excellent with more than enough choices and something for even the pickiest of eaters. The entertainment lads couldn't be faulted in fact nothing about the holiday could. We are already looking to book for next year and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: go for the sea view. its absolutely breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tina1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about our hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We hope to see you next year.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just arrived back from this hotel, I travelled with my husband,my 2 sons, 4yrs & 15yrs and my parents. location is great you are in a small bay, beach is very nice and clean.
Hotel was very clean and tidy, the rooms were cleaned daily, the lunchtime and dinner food service was a bit repetitive but you won’t starve, breakfasts were brilliant if you want a full english
Pool was very cold but I think that was the time of the year that we went and had a very competent life guard every day from 10am till 6pm; no fighting for sun loungers, the pool does not open until 9am.
The snack bar poolside is very good if you do not want to go down to the restaurant it does great burger, toasties and pizza's. They had ice creams also
The hotel wasn’t very busy while we were there I don’t know how they cope when it is full, I think this was a good time to go,
We did have a problem with the people that came in the middle of the night making loads of noise, loud music and swearing out on the balcony, but the reception staff sorted the problem out very quickly.
The entertainment is very good, the animation team worked really hard, there was something different every night, my 4 year old son enjoyed the kids disco each night, My 15 year old
was a little bored but did enjoy the entertainment.
Just across the road a little way up there is a fun park for the kids, with cars and rides only a euro a go, lots of shops and restaurants across the road too, Dylans Bar was nice the staff really friendly and welcoming.
All in all very good value for money, we were all inclusive and would recommend that you go there All Inclusive as the drinks and food are expensive if your not.
Would go back there again

Room Tip: We had rooms 351 and 355 beautiful view of the beach it was lovely sitting on the balcony in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrspicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about our hotel, it is very useful for us.
It is nice read that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Address: CL Cala Ferrera s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £52 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing