We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had a really nice short break at this hotel. Rooms nice and spacious also very clean and kept that way by the cleaners. Also rest of the hotel is spotless. The food at this hotel is excellent for the amount of money you pay. We stayed all inclusive and worth every penny. Did not eat out once in 5 nights. Always something for every taste. A fresh grilled meat of chicken pork or lamb every night along with fresh grilled fish along with the usual potatoes salads. They also had a special meat each evening. Took me two nights to find this out but when I did. Wow. Suckling pig, a huge side off beef and racks off BBQ ribs. So to me people who say the food is bad couldn't more wrong. If you can't find something out of that list then don't go all inclusive or just don't go to Spain go to Blackpool. The drinks were all fine. All the staff are very helpful and polite. Cala dor resort is very nice. All set up for families. I would go back here and would also recommend to anyone. This is the third stay I have had in a barcelo hotel and each one has been faultless. Keep up the good work.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about your experience, is very helpful for us.

Is a pleasure to read that you trust in Barceló Hotels & Resorts, all our staff work hard to make our guest´s experience the best.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    1,155
    641
    264
    113
See reviews for
1,022
1,419
85
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I arrived back from this hotel just a few days ago after staying there for a week with my wife and extended family (9 people ages 12-70)
When we arrived, the check in process was dreadful. There were 2 members of staff on reception and about 70 people which needed checking in, which wouldn't have been that bad if everyone would've queued up but I think queuing is something only done in Britain as there was a large group of polish people who just thought it was acceptable to line the desk and shout. It was a nightmare and took well over an hour to be checked in. Not good enough in my opinion but not all the staffs fault ill admit.
We finally got checked in and made our way to the rooms, we had a lovely sea view from the 1st floor. The room was fine except for the fact that there was no double bed, just 2 singles pushed together and the shower in our room literally dribbled water and couldn't be used. Just outside our room was the indoor swimming pool which was nice in the morning for a quick "wake up swim"
The rooms were comfortable and have a TV which only has 3 british channels (BBC1, BBC2 and Cbeebies)
The hotel is in a great location, quite literally on the beach and has some spectacular views, the sea looks amazing in the sun, very clear and the sand is nice too. On the beach you can hire pedal boats by the hour which was fun. Just a note, if you want to spend some time on the beach you have to pay for the sun loungers and umbrellas (12 Euros per day)

Back to the hotel.... there is a medium sized swimming pool outside which gets very busy and very cramped, too many sun loungers in one place and the pool is saltwater which personally I don't like. There is a bar at the pool which serves drinks and snacks.
The hotel does have lots of amenities, including a Tennis court, volleyball court, ping pong and many more so there is always something to do for anyone like me who gets bored just lying down in the sun.

Food- this was the worst part for me, I am quite a fussy eater and I did struggle a few times at dinner to find something that I liked, we were all inclusive so all meals and drinks were included. The breakfast service was good, I never struggled there, just the usual scrambled eggs, beans, toast and......... chicken nuggets were on the menu most days so that was fine. Lunch was similar but dinner time wasn't for me most nights, on one night last week the meat option was, wait for it...... Snails!!!!!!!! which if you like this kind of thing then fair enough but there was a lot of kids in this hotel and not a chip in sight! This night was an exception though as most nights I always found something to eat, I just didn't necessarily enjoy it.
Please also note that if you ask for a glass of wine when you're all inclusive, you get the whole bottle!

All of the staff were very friendly, no problems on that front, I would stay here again if I wasn't all inclusive, even though this review may seem bad, I did enjoy my stay and I would recommend this hotel. Its in a great location, close to all local bars/shops, the beach is wonderful, the hotel is very clean and most of the time, the food was fine but just be aware of the things I have mentioned above. Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for to improve everyday.

We will consider your comment for the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel because we have stayed in Barcelo hotels before and they have a good reputation but this hotel wasn't as good as others. The location was good and great for the beach, beach bar was handy too. Also the cleaners worked hard to keep the rooms very clean. However in our bathroom the sink didn't drain and often dirty water would come back up through the overflow. We reported this to reception several times and nothing was done about it. Also the smells from kitchens seemed to come through vents into bathroom which wasn't very pleasant. There was also a very strong smell of smoke in the room for several days but that did seem to stop the day before we left. We didn't eat in restaurant at night so can't comment but breakfast and lunch wasn't great. The buffet food at beach bar was often cold. We only used the pool area once as it felt cramped so preferred the beach. The resort of Cala d'or is lovely with some gorgeous cove beaches and nice restaurants but I would stay in a different hotel if I went back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nine of us stayed for one week in May.We ranged from 13 to 71in age and were not disappointed. Location is definitely 5 star. Stunning beach location. The bay was better than the brochure. Staff very helpfull.food in restaurant was very varied. We were all very adventurous and tried everything from octopus to snails. Couldn't fault the food. If you want sausage , egg n, chips, go to blackpool! Pool area was quite small , but always got a sunbed at any time.( no need to put towel out at 6am like some people do!).animacion team worked really hard ,and managed to entertaint most nights. Staff also worked very hard and long hours, but always did their job. Small town with shops , restaurents and bars 2 mins away. Calla D'Or 15 mins walk. Very pleasant. A little further and you reach the marina. Rub shoulders with the yatch set. Very cosmopolitan and beautiful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just enjoy being there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa, we hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just arrived back from the ponta player hotel was nice and the staff were all very helpfull even though they seemed very short staffed, hotel is situated on a very lovely spot food was ok for all inclusive and it was local drinks only , the pool area was small for size of hotel and we had to all queue at the pool gates just to get sun bed only a few umbrellas so you had to be up early to get one, had a nice week but not sure if would go back to this hotel cala d dor lovely place would go back to resort again

Room Tip: Rooms over pool get sun in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, are very helpful for us.

We regret not having complied with your expectations, but you should know that we work hard to make our guest´s experience the best, so we ask you to continue trusting in Barceló Hotels & Resort.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were meant to be staying in a different hotel who were rude and abrupt and shipped us off to this hotel because they didn't have our booking (how lucky we were) at the Barcelo it has amazing staff, beautiful views and pool area and an extremely clean and comfortable room. The food was varied, fresh and offered the full restaurant experience rather than a canteen type set up! Will definitely be returning ASAP

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jollhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment, I'm glad that the change was to better.

We hope to see you again at Barceló Ponent Playa.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had read many reviews before I went but gave this hotel the benefit of the doubt. It is definately a 3 star and maybe a little below. Our room was over the front entrance so really noisy and the walls are paper thin. We had a studio flat but you couldn't swing a cat. There's no gym although it was advertised when we went. The bay below is lovely but we had some rainy days and there was nothing to do unless you went on an excursion. As the title says......Not great but you get what you pay for.....avoid room 129

Room Tip: I think you have to pay for a sea/pool view but it may be worth it because we were on the 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieo'c O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us and we will consider in the future.

We regret that the weather was not good, is a pity have bad weather on holidays.

Talking about the gym, we do not announce that there is a gym in the hotel.

We hope to see you again at Barceló Ponent Playa.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Property: Barcelo Ponent Playa
Address: CL Cala Ferrera s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing