We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you go do not accept room 013 back to back with entertainment stage . tryed to get help from reception staff when we had problem with transfers they were no help at all saying these thing happen . if you want a sun lounger next to the music bar you have to pay .pool to small pool for kid even smaller would not take kid there food usual all-inclusive on the plus side beach and views lovely but would not even if they pay me go back

Room Tip: Don't go in room013
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We regret that the hotel was not like you expected, we work hard to improve everyday.

We will consider your comments for the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    1,017
    577
    223
    98
See reviews for
904
1,205
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have recently returned from a week's stay all inclusive at the Ponent Player, although it was a 3 star hotel, very disappointed, we have never stayed anywhere where you have to pay £12 euros for a sunbed on the hotel grounds and also on the beach which is connected to hotel, but you would expect this on the beach. The pool is very small for the size of the hotel and opens daily at 9 o'clock,to which there is a long queue at 8.45, we went up one afternoon, not very appealing but to more annoyance people had left towels on the beds and had gone off for a few hours. On a plus rooms are exceptionally clean with fresh towels daily, we were on the 7th floor with an amazing view, but the lifts are a bit of an experience.
The dining area is set out dreadfully and also an experience at times it was battle to get back to your table with your plate in tact, service is slow, not enough waiters, you had to stand at a table and wait for them to clean it most of the time before you could sit to eat, food was ok not a lot of choice.
The pool bar is very well organised and the staff were fantastic, the food served for all inclusive was very nice most days, better than in dining room. But it was noticed that others not all inclusive were helping themselves to this area.
If you go all inclusive be prepared to have to buy your drinks at 11pm, we went to the bar at 3 mins past and were told the bar was now closed to us.
Plenty of lovely restaurants locally and a 10 min walk into Cala D'or for even more choice, would we go back to this resort, Yes, but sadly not to this hotel.

Room Tip: go for a sea view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writng a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We regret that your stay at the hotel was not like you expected, we work hard to improve everyday and achieve to offer the best service possible to our guests.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D`Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a great holiday at this hotel in June. Fantastic location. Stayed on 5th floor with sea view. Rooms very clean. Staff friendly. Towels changed every day. Good choice of food and some served by chefs. Lots off bars and entertainment nearby. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays at Barceló Ponent Playa, all our staff work hard to achieve to offer the best service possible to our guests.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were amazed at the stunning location of this hotel on this beautiful cove cala fererra. The beach and scenery and facilities were faultless. Everying you could possibly need in easy reach. Lovely local shops just 5-10 minutes away many choice of restaurants and entertainment. Suit all ages. Love to revisit again in the near future. Food to die for, such wonderful choice and beautifully freshly cooked

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel is very helpful for us.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your holidays in Cala D´Or, and better for us that one of the reason is your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I went to Mallorca and stayed in Ponent Playa for a week from 24/6/14. Upon arrival at the hotel, the reception staff were warm and welcoming. We were allocated a ground floor room where other guests were walking past our window and could see in. As I like to have both the curtains and the windows open, this was a little restrictive. We asked the reception staff for a higher room, and they told us that although they could not facilitate us that day, if we came back in the morning they would look. True to their word, they moved us, and the room was fabulous.

We found the hotel to be cleaned to a good standard, in fact a high standard. The cleaners came into the room daily,
Other reviews say about there being no tables ... For goodness sakes, there is a 3 hour breakfast period, a 90 minute lunch period and a 3 hour dinner period. On a couple of occasions at breakfast, the restaurant was busy, and that was at 9.30 am, but as soon as a table is vacated the staff are clearing the table and this was not a problem at all and I can guarantee that nobody is going to starve to death waiting for a table.
We tended to dine most lunch times at the beach bar. Again, this bar was kept very clean. The staff were lovely, and the food was tasty, with fish, chicken, salad, rice and bread available each day with fruit and ice cream for dessert.. On the couple of occasions we dined in the restaurant, the choice was excellent and if you want a glass of wine, you get a bottle. This is not a bikini and shorts restaurant, so please dress appropriately.
During the evening we tended to dine at approx. 9.00pm, and never had a problem with a table and there was always a good, varied choice of food, with something for everyone.
We liked our days on the beach, so we reserved a couple of beds for the whole week, which basically meant that we paid up front for our beds, but had the comfort of knowing that we had our sunbeds each day, and weren't in a mad rush to get to the beach. The beach was like a 3 minute walk from our room to our bed. The bay is small, and not overcrowded. The beach bar was literally a 1 minute walk from the beach. The beach was kept immaculate, and we loved it.
Locally to the hotel, there are pubs, restaurants and clubs within a 2-5 minute walk. Cala Dor centre is only a 10 minute walk.
The staff at the hotel are amongst the most obliging we have ever encountered. Any previous reviews that have stated 2* hotel is absolute nonsense. for a 3* hotel, Ponent Playa is excellent VFM. We would most definitely go back,we have recommended to our friends, and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our holiday, even to the point that on the day of our departure, the reception staff let us use a room to shower and change prior to our shuttle bus collecting us.
Again, much praise to the hotel staff, who were always obliging, helpful and friendly. There is no need to be rude a bolschy with staff. Manners and courtesy goes much further.

Janet & Martyn, Bolton

Room Tip: ask for a room on level 4 or upwards if you do not want to be overlooked by anybody, bearing in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanMart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that we could resolve your problem with your room and that you enjoyed your holidays at Barceló Ponent Playa.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Barceló Ponent Playa. We booked a sea view room and had requested a high floor which we got. The beds were comfy, air conditioning good and the hotel and room were kept very clean. The food in the restaurant was lovely from Friday to Monday and thereafter went downhill rapidly. Don't know if this was due to a change in chef or because the hotel was fully booked but on our last night we opted to eat out. The food at the pool bar is cooked to order and there is also food available at the beach bar buffet style (set times). We tried both out a couple of times and thoroughly enjoyed what we ordered.

The restaurant in particular was very understaffed. The staff that were there were very hardworking and pleasant but tables were not cleared quick enough and drink service was slow in the evening.

The swimming pool is at the entrance to the hotel and separate from the beach. The pool is small for a hotel of this size with few parasols. The shallow end of the pool is cordoned off from the deep end which is very deep. I think the water was treated seawater which made it easier to swim in than seawater. There was a lifeguard on duty at the pool throughout the day who does an excellent job and no large floats are allowed in the main section. The huge negative for the pool was the stairs. They were extremely low and made getting in and out of the pool very difficult. I actually fell in backwards the first day trying to get into the pool and jerked my back. There is one handrail (near the pool bar) which is more of a standard size and I opted to use that one. The Animation team seemed were very enthusiastic and friendly with various activities going on around the pool most days. The music round the pool area does require to be updated, Wham, Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston ......

There were problems with the lifts when we were there and two were out of action overnight. We also had a problem with water in the room for a couple of days both hot and cold. Not sure if this was caused by everyone showering at once given the hotel was full. The hotel took any complaints onboard and problems were quickly rectified.

Wifi. This is free within the hotel lobby but I found the connection very slow. I upgraded Wifi access for my son at a cost of 15 Euros for the week. Although access was quicker it could still only be used in the hotel lobby and in the internet/library downstairs.

Mobility: There are stairs everywhere and the tiles can make the surfaces slippy when wet.

All in all we had enjoyable break. As it was at the height of the season we paid more or less a premium price for the holiday. Given the problems with the lifts, the water and the food I would only return to this hotel on a bargain break.

Room Tip: Pay for seaview. I was aghast to discover the sunbeds on the beach were reservable. Very offputtin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us and we will consider them for the future.

We regret that the food was not always to your liking, we offer the same food quality everyday.

We have had some problems with the lifts, wifi and the water, but now all of them are solved, so we request you to accept our apologies.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently had a weeks break here and would return. Our room was in the annex, right above the bar area overlooking the drop off point and was a little noisy but we weren't too put off by this. Reception were excellent and the 2 room problems we reported were dealt with within 24 hours. Food was ok- more varied choice at breakfast than on an evening, we went early when we could to have as much choice as possible and to miss some of the crush but I'm not a fan of the sharing of serving spoons that seems to go on. I did like that pretty much everything was labelled though. The entertainment was cheesy but made us smile. Staff all seemed very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean but could possibly do with some updating. Location is spot on, next to the and beach, cafes near by, 10mins to town

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadgeBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays at Barceló Ponent Playa and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Property: Barcelo Ponent Playa
Address: Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing