We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value Holiday”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Pew have visited this hotel on two occasions August 2011 and 2013 and found it to be excellent value for money and the all inclusive option was very good offering a wide selection of meals from the buffet. All meat and fish was freshly cooked and we rarely waited. The pool was very busy and sun beds were in rows with limited shade available. There was a hidden indoor pool which we often had to ourselves. It is worth reserving and paying for sun beds on the beach to guarantee a prime location and although expensive made our time on the beach an extremely pleasant experience. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays at the hotel and it would be more than a pleasure welcome you back.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    1,117
    620
    247
    111
See reviews for
969
1,356
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I'm finding it hard to think of anything to complain about. My party of 8 stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in August and enjoyed every second.
We didn't pre-book sea view rooms as it would of really bumped up the price of our holiday but found ourselves lucky enough to get them all be it on the first floor (one flight of stairs down to the gorgeous beach, one flight up to the main restaurant and another flight up to the pool, hence no need to use the lifts that people are complaining about). The rooms were basic and comfortable. The air con was great and the shower powerful. No complaints there.
The beach sun beds are 15 euros for 2 with a brolly. However, we went to the local shops and purchased a sun umbrella and lilos as did most of the people there and we were sorted for a fraction of the price. We done the beach for the first week.
The pool area which we used the second week, isn't supposed to open until 9 and from reading previous reviews we were expecting a queue. Didn't happen. We would get there for 8.40 and the gates were already open so didn't queue once. You should get there early though as there are not a lot of sun loungers and they go quickly.
The entertainment team worked hard although we preferred to watch rather than take part.
There's plenty to eat. The food was continuous and varied. Plenty of pizza, pasta and chips for the kids and because quite a few nationalities use this hotel, the main restaurant had a very wide variety of dishes.
All the staff we came across were polite and friendly and in all honesty, none of us wanted to come home.
I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I know people are saying get a high sea view room but if the lifts are as bad as everyone is saying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays at the hotel, we hope have the chance to welcome you back again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here with 3 others the last week of July and the whole week was fantastic. The transfer was around an hour and half but as soon as we got to the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine, standard rooms - shower was great. Balcony overlooked the entertainment area which was fine. The entertainment finished around 11pm and it was always a good laugh watching the final few stragglers stumble back. The beach is fantastic, spent more time at the pool though. Was able to get 4 sun beds together at whatever time we turned up at the pool. Food was great, huge choice of food. The entertainment team always had us laughing. The area is fantastic, ate out 3 nights out of 7 and had some great food - go to the Tapas bar under the steak house!! Would live to go back and have another brilliant week holiday here. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_a_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa, all the staff work hard to give our guests the best service possible.

We hope to see you again at the hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel on Sunday around half one and were informed we were upgraded to a junior suite. We also told that the room wont be ready till half 7 in the evening. We didnt mind waiting as we wanted to start our holidays, the hotel even kindly gave us lunch with btl of wine. The lunch was ok and we went out for the day. Upon return at the specified time and we were told the room is not ready but will be few min. We decided to wait about 20min when we were called over to the reception and told the room wont be ready till 20:30 which made me annoyed as just 20min ago i was told the room will be ready in a few min. When trying to talk to the receptionist about the fact we are unhappy having to wait another hour all she could say is that sorry ita not me doing it. Ive asked to speak to a manager but all she could say is that there is nobody to speak to now but maybe in the morning. We decided to go for dinner. We went down to the dinning room and were stopped at the entrance to show some tickets for the dinner. Ok so back to reception and asking for the tickets to which the receptionist just told us oh why didnt u say anything earlier as if that was my fault that i didnt know that tickets for dinner have to be privided. Food was ok bit greasy and bland. Finally got the room and it was a lovely sized room massive but the best was the large balcony with amazing view. All in all the hotel is beautiful with a close beach. But let down by the dont care attitude from receptionists- irene i think. We got a bottle of champagne as an apology as well which we were greatful for. The hotel needs a bit tlc and better customer service at the front desk and it would be perfect. The gentelman on check out was very helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 101724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We regret the incident at your arrival, we will work to improve and find efficiency solutions in cases like yours.

Thank you again for your time and we hope welcome you back at Barceló Ponent Playa.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincolnshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here in June. Our room and bathroom was ok but we overlooked the next hotel`s bins. These were emptied during the night and an awful view. The room was in a type of annex and we felt insecure as saw several "strangers" wandering around or looking for the loo.
Food, though good, was often lukewarm. The best food was from the 2 snack bars at lunchtime.
Not at all up to the standard of other Barcelo hotels we`ve stayed in. The pool area lacked sufficient sunbeds and as usual towels reserved and could be hours before occupied.
It was in a lovely spot but the beach was not the hotels and sunbeds cost E12 for a day. Not always good value if it rained. It is close to the main shops and restaurant.
Our main gripe was the First Choice rep(Anna). Rarely seen, no welcome meeting, and we had to stalk her to find out our return details. Airy fairy but apparently notorious with other travel companies` reps. Complained to First Choice but to date no reply other than the automatic will investigate. I`ve emailed several times no response.

Room Tip: Insist on room in main building overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntybully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed in the Barceló Ponent Player with my girlfriend for 1 week on 10th August 2014. I am a person who will always give credit where credit is due but I also believe in saying how it is if I've had a bad experience.

NEGATIVES:
I have visited several hotels in Cala D'or over the last 8 years and the Barceló is definitely at the bottom of my list of 'good hotels'

So to begin, when booking this holiday, I opted for a sea view, high floor double room. Upon our arrival at 1am - in a very toasty reception area, which seriously needs to be air-conditioned - we were informed by an averagely welcoming member of staff on reception that our room would be on a high floor (6th to be exact) which was great. BUT, we were informed our room would be a twin as there are apparently only 8 official 'double' beds in the entirety of the hotel, and guess what? they were all occupied for the duration of our stay.
I expressed my frustration regarding this to the gentleman on reception as my accommodation voucher clearly stated 'sea view, double room'. Nothing he could do. His English wasn't great.
The solution? For the maid to push both beds together the following morning and join them via a 'double mattress.'
So, looking at one another and shrugging our shoulders to a reasonable compromise, off we went pressing the lift and waiting for it arrive to take us to our 6th floor twin room. We waited almost 5 minutes for a lift and after pressing all 3, one arrived. May I add, this was the case throughout the majority of our stay, we spent a significant amount of time waiting for lifts. We also noticed that at peak times, lifts would stop on almost every floor when descending, at times for no apparent reason at all. The doors would open and nobody would be there as people clearly opted for the stairs after getting fed up of waiting. Very annoying.

The following afternoon, we returned to our room after a day at the beach and the beds - as promised - were pushed together but joined only by a thin bed sheet. I spent most of that night awake, battling to avoid being eaten up by 'the gap' between the beds. We accepted we would be sleeping alone in twin beds for the remainder of our stay.


Rooms overall: Very basic. This hotel is clearly in need of some real refurbishment. Our balcony was rotten at the bottom and a small piece of ply wood had been nailed across it to offer minor reinforcement. After unpacking, we noticed the bathroom door didn't close or open fully. The door had dropped and the door frame had completely come away from the wall. After a gentle push it went back into place again but on our 5th day despite taking considerable care, the same problem occurred. There was I guess this hotel is so busy the problems / faults with rooms do not get dealt with as rooms are needed immediately for other guests as soon as people check out.

As for showering; if you want a warm, reasonably powerful shower between the hours of 18:00 - 19:00, forget it. The water pressure peaked at this time and it wasn't uncommon for our water to completely shut off. More of an annoyance for my girlfriend who couldn't wash the shampoo out of her hair on most occasions before the water came back on again. I notified reception but nothing was done, It was evident that the hotel cannot live up to everyone being in the shower at any one time. Very annoying. I have also seen another review on here somewhere which also mentions this. Having said that, In the mornings the shower was powerful and fine.


POSITIVES:

Great beach: Although not entirely a part of the hotel, the beach was fantastic and although busy we always found a spot to relax. The surrounding cove was great. The sea was clean and clear. You can rent sunbeds at a considerable cost if you wish or buy a lilo from any supermarket for around €8 each and cover it with a towel! The latter option we opted for!

The views from the 6th floor balcony were great and it was very quiet at night. Overall the location of the hotel is decent. Although if you want to get into the centre of the action in Cala D'or of an evening, expect a 20 - 25 up-hill stroll.

Food: The evening meals were average and most of the selections were repeated each night apart from a change in the meat. Most of the grilled fish and chicken were very fresh and tasty and the other fresh meat such as pork and beef were great... but some of the choices were poor. I mean for example, fried snails? Surely not a generic dish to serve? We dined out on our last night at 'Porto Carry' in the marina as a treat - one of the best pieces of fillet steak I've ever tasted and yet reasonably priced.

The breakfast was better. Fresh bacon and eggs cooked every 20 - 30mins or so and various breads and other necessities catering for all tastes. They even had HP sauce which, being English, was great!

To summarise: There are more wrong than rights with this hotel, the rooms are more 2 star at present. The hotel needs a thorough refurbishment including a new air-conditioning, another water supply and an updated lift system.

The food was good but repetitive and although some of the evening selections need revising, the breakfasts were decent indeed. The location is good and the views and surrounding beach are great. Please Barceló, take some of the above on-board!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.
We regret that you could not have a double bed, but like the member of the staff of reception told you, we do not have enough double beds, so when you book your stay, you mark the option like a suggestion, we never guarantee the possibility of a double bed.

It is true that we had some problems with the lifts during your stay so We request you to accept our apologies.

Thank you again for your time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Arrived home on Sunday , myself and husband had an amazing time , the food was amazing with lots of choice ,never bored . Loved the pool bar the beach bar and the lovely bars inside . The staff were five star . The rooms were basic but very clean and well looked after from the maids . The beach is class one . The entertainment staff were five star due to the way they treated everyone , they never stopped laughing . My huge surprise was the manager would come eat at the same time as the holiday guests , he was always around in the morning , afternoon and evening with a friendly smile , even in the evening he would come put of his shirt and dress trousers and stick onhis jeans and t shirt to come to walk around the guest..Well done to all at Ponent Playa. Off to book for next year with the whole family this time.

Room Tip: sea view room worth paying for as not as much noise , but pool area not to much noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONENTPLAYA, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Ponent Playa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for spend your time writing a comment about the hotel, is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Ponent Playa, we work hard to give our guests the best service possible and to be friendly.

It would be more than a pleasure welcome you back again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
38.5 mi away
Occidental Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas
#2 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Property: Barcelo Ponent Playa
Address: Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing