We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cala d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala d'Or
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Having stayed in Cala D'or many times I would highly recommend this resort. Its a beautiful town with plenty to do and see. The town is a formed of lots of cross roads making it easy to walk around rather than one long road as some places I have visited. The beaches are beautiful speaking of which when staying at the Hotel Cala D'or you feel as if you have your own private beach as the stairs lead directly from the poolside to the beach. The hotel is set away from the main town down a short road and surrounded by pine trees so you feel a nicely secluded from the rest of the world when you want to.

Although this is not a modern hotel, it is in lovely condition with a more traditional warmer atmosphere than some sterile modern hotels. The pool is perhaps not the largest of pools however the poolside is more than big enough with lots of sunbeds under the pine trees for that much needed shade. We never struggled to get a bed however the beach is just down some stairs if you can't.

We stayed bed and breakfast which was always cooked beautifully with plenty to offer, even for a fussy eater like me! A nice touch was that when it came for us to leave our flight was very early so they prepared some breakfast especially for us! The breakfast room overlooked the beach so made for a wonderful start to the day.

Overall fantastic hotel would definitely stay there again only slight negative was that we had to pay for the WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    131
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
84
208
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Recently returned from 7 days holiday staying at the Cala d'or hotel. Weather was beautiful, hotel and staff really nice. Had a very pleasant room leading directly out on to the pool area (this was quite a treat because, as a single traveller, the standard of the room often seems to be below par). The hotel offer complimentary walking tours, yoga, water aerobics etc. The location of the hotel is fabulous. Breakfast was very good. I did not use the restaurant in the evenings but was told that the food is very good.
I will certainly return to this hotel next year if possible, and highly recommend it. I love the resort of Cala d'or.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katyanneNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cala D'or at the beginning of June. We had our wedding at the Cala D'or yacht club and many of our guests stayed at this hotel too. On arrival our bags were taken up to our room and we were presented with a bottle of cava, this was a really nice touch. We requested a sea view room and we were not disappointed as our balcony overlooked the beach and the pool, the view was stunning. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast was superb and if you could get a window seat you could start the day looking out to sea. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a few short steps down to the small yet pretty beach and a few minutes walk into the centre of Cala D'or. The marina is also no more than a 10 minute walk away. All in all we could not fault this hotel and we will be returning hopefully for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

3rd or could it be 4th holiday at his lovely hotel, whatever, I certainly hope it will not be the last.

Staff ( mostly the same year to year), restaurant, rooms, location excellent.

Recommend visitors to follow Sheila on her walking "strolls" which are complimentary.

A member of my group who is not averse to finding fault, could only resort to a whinge that his Daily Telegraph was not delivered early in the morning.

Room Tip: Keep to main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gren7783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I returned to the Hotel Cala Dor having stayed there 45 years ago. I loved it then and I love it now. The hotel of course has been extended and modernised, but it has retained it's traditional feel and warm friendly service. The resort is one of the most beautiful on the island and together with the hotel provided the perfect backdrop for our holiday. The hotel staff, in particular Carlos and Amber on Reception, were excellent, friendly and helpful. When our room electrics failed around midnight the problem was resolved within minutes and with good humour. We have travelled extensively across Europe, the USA, The Far East and Scandinavia and I would without hesitation put this hotel and resort close tot the top of my favourites list, and I just know that we will return there one day. Only one criticism, we would have liked tea making facilities in our room. Our shower was lovely, the room was very clean and a good size with huge balcony overlooking the pool and with a sea view. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room in the newest part of the hotel was on the ground level, close to the restaurant, which, by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times now, it really is in a prime location overlooking a lovely beach, within 5 mins walk of town centre but very quiet location. We have always managed to stay in the same room and this year we found it had been refurbished with a new bathroom with walk in double shower and quality fittings. The rooms are what we would describe as typical Spanish, perfectly adequate for all your needs. The breakfasts always have a very good choice and the dining room overlooks the cove. My only complaint is the lack of a mattress for the sunloungers as they tend to give me a bad back, never had a problem getting a lounger but that may be why !!

Room Tip: Go for high floor sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper3965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

we had spent 2 days of our weeks holiday in majorca over at playa de palma and it was a disaster so drove over to cala dor and checked into the hotel cala dor for 5 nights.
It was perfect, the staff, the location, the rooms every thing was just right.
we cannot fault this hotel. so good we are going again in september.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala d'Or

Property: Hotel Cala d'Or
Address: Avenida Belgica 49, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#20 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cala d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala D'Or Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing