We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable 3* but nothing special.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Skorpios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Skorpios
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable 3* but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I read the rave reviews and wondered what made this 3-star, all-inclusive hotel 'special' and found nothing to indicate why some reviewers feel it is more than average. Personally, I do not believe the new breed of budget, all-inclusive (3-star) hotels offers anything other than a degree of budget control and this hotel proved my theory to be right.

Check-in was smooth and straightforward but, unlike some other reviewers, I didn't find the staff particularly friendly; efficient but not particularly friendly.

Our party were allocated adjoining rooms on the 'ground floor' (rooms 3-5 incl) and the outlook from them is terrible. They are below street level and they face nothing more than the bank up to the road and the service area of the adjoining hotel. Subsequently, they are dark for most of the day. Also, these rooms are usually allocated to families with small children (due ground floor location) and they are situated directly above the kitchen, which meant noise was a constant irritant. I asked if we could change rooms to something higher up or something with a view but the Reception staff continually replied "manana". I repeatedly asked for a move but every time I asked (in compliance with their instructions) there was some reason for not being able to accommodate a change; I think it fell into their 'too difficult' pile and I saw no interest from them in seeking alternatives. If you are allocated rooms 1 to 8 on check-in ask for a change right away.

I must say the rooms are immaculately clean - the whole hotel is in fact - but basically furnished (consistent with a 3-star hotel).

All the staff are hard-working and generally courteous but, with the exception of Katrina (bar staff), most are detached and do not add anything to the holiday experience.

The restaurant caters fairly well for the number of guests, albeit quality and taste were hit and miss. Reasonable amount of choice and plentiful but nothing spectacular. Soups tasted alike packet soups, juices are from concentrate/syrup and not fresh. Self-service wine was barely palatable - a lot of guests were adding lemonade to make it drinkable! Most drinks were "on tap".

All inclusive is not the best description as there are thing that are not included. Some descriptions of the hotel refer to facilities like mini-golf, pool tables and sunbeds on beach for guest use but these are all subject to additional (not cheap) charges. Overall, some value can be derived from the all-inclusive package if you are a big drinker, have kids, you are not too fussy or easily bored by the repetitive nature of the food (a blight on most all-inclusive packages).

The entertainment team were very hard-working and did well to get people involved but shows were not slick.

The setting is great with a choice of pool (small and not suitable for 'length swimmers') and sea swimming. in the main it was possible always to get a sun-bed but good positions were usually 'reserved' early - against the hotel's stated but un-policed policy. The sun does not make it to half the pool area until mid-morning and large parts are cast in shadow from about 4 pm so you need to choose carefully if you want all day sun.

Overall, for me, this was a reasonable hotel. I actually think it would be better as a half-board or bed and breakfast hotel but that is partly because I don't think 3-star all-inclusive really works due to the compromises needed to make it viable financially.

Would I visit again? No, probably not and I'm not sure about Marina as a hotel group as a result. That said, as a second-holiday this could work for some people but I wouldn't consider it for a main holiday.

Room Tip: Unless you have small children or you are infirm, avoid ground-floor rooms, especially those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    359
    135
    29
    28
See reviews for
474
298
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We chose this hotel and resort after reading good reviews on this site so first thank you to those of you who took the time to write positive reviews - it made a good holiday even better. This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Staff in all areas are hard working and friendly. Food at all times was well presented and the choice was excellent. Entertainment was great. The whole package meant (despite other arrangements going wrong) we had a wonderfull time and would look to return. We travelled second week of September and did not experience any problems with facilities being too busy - the beach was never crowded and there were spare sun beds at the pool all day. We met people who return year after year to this hotel and it's not hard to see why. We will certainly look to come back year and if that's not practicle maybe another hotel in the Marina group. I would cerntainly reccomend this hotel for families with young children (bear in mind there are steps to diffrent areas) for couples and for older travellers. Sports and games organised from 10:30am and evening entertainment until after 23:00. Facilities start closing from 23:20 for bars to close at Midnight. Those requireing a later finish can move to the bars in the streets outside although these are not nightclubs or discos - Calla Egos is a very laid back area of hotels and villas so teenagers and younger people may need to look elsewhere for late nights out.

Room Tip: Email a request for a sea view room before you travel - we did and were given one - you will regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Hos1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a fantastic holiday! We arrived 10 and a half hours late (thanks to Thomas Cook, we will not use them again , their treatment of us in the airport was disgusting) reception were friendly and we had been left some food even though it was 10 .30 pm, we were then allocated our sea view room which was lovely!

The food was excellent echoing all the other reviews the staff were really attentive and polite and smiley (I especially had a soft spot for jose on reception he was lovely!)

The location , cleanliness and pool was fab , you can choose between the beach or the sea and the bar is nearby for a cool drink!

Everything about the Skorpios was spot on , we are already looking for next year , we were so impressed that we have already started recommending to friends and family , thanks to all the staff there for a superb week away!
Louise and Richard xx

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same , a sea view is nice but on the other side it would be quieter as fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Marina Skorpios hotel for two nights in September due to the fact that our hotel had been overbooked.

The food was good with a variety of dishes and a restaurant that felt like a restaurant instead of a school canteen.

The only pool was very busy, but it was right on the beach which was lovely. Sunbeds by the pool were free although it cost 5 euros for one on the beach. Lovely views from the terrace and if you were in a room with a sea view, then wonderful, although we were not.

Staff were friendly and helpful and kept it spotless. In fact I saw one maid move furniture to clean under it!

Unfortunately the hotel room doors were noisy and it was not easy to prevent them from banging. when the did it sounded like prison cell doors shutting. The evening entertainment is held outside when it is warm, therefore if you had a room nearby could be quite noisy. Our room was facing the front of the hotel (which half of them area) and we were disturbed by the transfer buses come and going.

If I wanted to stay in Cala Egos I would stay there again, but I would pay extra (if possible) for a sea view and to stay at the far end of a corridor, the sea end of the hotel. I think that is where it would be less noisy!!

Room Tip: Far end of corridor so less noise from newcomers with their suitcases, sea end of hotel with sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed at this hotel for 5 days in September, the hotel was clean well taken care of and well run, the food in the restaurant was all very good, excellent choice and hot, tables were always cleared straight away so there was never any dirty plates left so it always looked tidy. I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to ask for a sea view room, and that's exactly what we got, excellent view over the beach and sea. the only thing that let the hotel down for us was the pool and pool area compared to the hotel building itself we found this area to be scruffy, overcrowded with old worn out sunbeds, tables and chairs and far to small for the both hotels, this area defiantly needs revamping and ideally totally remodelling and extending. the area of Cala Egos is a lovely little area although the beach between the 2 hotels is very small and rubbish does get washed into the cove, we preferred the beach at the other side of cala egos called es forti which is about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: email hotel prior to ask for sea view room, views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holsfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We visited Cala D'or and stayed at the Marina Skorpios between Sept 7th and Sept 14th. On arrival at the Skorpios the reception from staff was lovely; check-in was extremely easy and went straight up to the room.
The rooms are simple but clean and have everything you could need. Decor is a little dated but nothing to complain about. The rooms were cleaned every day, with new bed sheets and new towels provided every day. The rooms are provided with a fridge (we bought bottled water from a nearby shop and kept these in there), bed side tables, plenty of wardrobe and shelving space, a sofa bed, dressing table and a safe (£3 a day), hair dryer and a TV (BBC 1&2 available). The rooms are spacious and you have the added bonus of a balcony, either facing the bay or facing onto the Hotel gardens (when booking, request the beach/bay view - so worth it!!!).
The food is extremely good for a 3star buffet style menu. The breakfasts are pretty similar each day, with a choice of cereals, fruit, fresh bread/pastries, or fried breakfast. Lunch and dinner have a good choice of foods, with something different each day. The Buffett is kept flowing by the staff so you never run out of anything.
During the day (10am to 6pm) there is food served at the beach bar (free if all incl.) choice of salads, sandwhiches, chips, burgers...
Drinks are good if your all inclusive; choice of a lot of soft drinks, large choice of different spirits and a good choice of beers and ciders. They do stock named brands of drinks, but you have to pay for these. There is an inside bar and a beach bar by the pool, so your never more than 30 yards away from a fresh drink!
The pool and the beach are next to each other. The beach is a long beach, so everything leads down to the narrow bay. The beach is separated into two halves, so those with kids usually sit at the shore and those who want to chill and sunbathe lay on the top half of the beach. Deck chairs are able to be rented before 12pm at £5 for the whole day. The beach is safe; you can leave your stuff on your towels and chairs to take a dip or go fetch a drink and you won't have to worry about it getting nicked...
The beach is quite private because it's overlooked by the two hotels, so the people on the beach tend to be mainly hotel visitors; you don't tend to get many locals or other people visiting from other hotels.
The hotel is actually located in Cala Egos, a little town near Cala D'or. Egos is virtually at the end of the hotel driveway with plenty of restaurants, shops and a few bars. Cala D'or is about a 30 minute walk or 10 minutes on the bus; it's worth a visit to look around the Marina and if you want a few more bars, restaurants and shops it's the place to go.
The Hotel puts entertainment on every night, with a kids mini disco kicking each night off, followed by bingo or a quiz and then a show... The staff are brilliant and very funny. There are activities during the day, such as mini golf, archery, rifle shooting and football.
The bay of Cala Egos is beautiful, with plenty of cliff side walks and it is brilliant for a bit of snorkelling. All the shops in Cala Egos supply the beach essentials, towels, snorkels, lilos, sun screen and flip flops - so if you forget something don't worry! They're all really cheap as well - a snorkel set will set you back £5...
If you're thinking of renting a car to get out and about then I'd recommend the rent a car place in Egos; it's easy and cheaper than through your operator. You can visit the rent a car place on the day you want to rent the car, fill out the docs (less than 5 mins) and you get the car there and then... No need to book in advance! Good choice of cars as well.
The area of Cala Egos is very easy going so if you are a bit more active then I'd recommend renting a car for a day or two; we rented for two days and visited a few places, Cala Mongrago(most beautiful bay ever!), Caves Drach, Palma and Magaluf...
If you don't want to take cash with you, then get a pre-paid credit card from your travel operator or Thomas Cook as there are a number of free cash machines in Egos near the hotel.
The weather was lovely (only rained one day), and the temp was always over 27*c. We would go back again in July/August as September was quite humid.
Overall we had a really lovely holiday, we would recommend it to anyone. It's excellent for families and couples who want to have a nice relaxing holiday. Although we want to "not visit the same place twice" we would definitely go back again if we were invited and we met a few families who have been back year after year...
If you're even considering Cala Egos just book it! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimandpetekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I read the rave reviews and wondered what we would make of our 3 star hotel.
The check in was quick and easy. ALL the staff are VERY friendly. The bedroom was typical 3 star. Clean and comfortable. We had 6 nights there and slept well every night. The TV had ITV and BBC 1 on channel 9 and 15. Great for news if nothing else.
Restaurant - we are talking mass catering but all food was hot and tasty. Plenty of choice. The soups tasted as thought they were packet soup. The juice was not fresh and the wine and beer was poor quality. Put lemonade with the wine to make it drinkable! Most drinks were "on tap".
All inclusive package was great value. We are not big drinkers but it is very convenient.
The day time entertainment team were first rate. My 20 year old son found it invaluable.
The setting is great with a choice of pool and sea swimming. Always able to get a sun bed without reserving in the early morning - although many do! The sun does not make it to half the pool area until lunch time so choose your spot carefully for all day sun. We loved the ringing of the bell at the bars whenever anyone left a tip!
Please note - September appeared to be the time for babies and toddlers to visit this hotel. If crying, screaming babies sets you on edge - think very carefully about going. I know there is very little you can do - but they were everywhere, all the time, with no respite other than at night!

Room Tip: We chose to pay for a sea view and welcomed the fourth floor view of the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LesleyYOrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Corfu
Hotel Marina Corfu
#20 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Skorpios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Skorpios

Property: Hotel Marina Skorpios
Address: Avenida Cala Egos s/n | Cala d'Or, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Skorpios 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Skorpios is strategically located right next to the Cala Egos Beach in the area of Cala D’Or, one of the most important tourist resorts on the Island of Mallorca. Cala Egos is located only 2,5 Km from the centre of Cala D’Or, in one of the most beautiful and picturesque places on the Island of Mallorca. This hotel offers all the necessary facilities, including a direct access from the hotel to the beach.A perfect combination of quality and an All-Inclusive service, in an unparalleled location, whilst providing its guests with a wide range of entertainment and leisure programmes for all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Marina Skorpios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Skorpios Hotel
Skorpios Marina
Hotel Marina Skorpios Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing