We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for what it cost!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Skorpios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Skorpios
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for what it cost!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Took my heavily pregant partner here for a relaxing break before we became parents and thoroughly loved it, picturesc settig and lovely weather in a friendly hotel!

Bad points: Food is a bit bland and random combinations (but then its a cheap all inclusive so cant complain really) and wasnt told at booking that a sun lounger on the beach bay would cost 5 euros per day per person ( an extra 70 euros on holiday cost just to lay down!) however sun loungers around the pool are free...

Overall a really nice stay though and i would definately go back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    359
    135
    29
    28
See reviews for
474
298
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend loved this place. We are 28 and 30 yrs of age and wanted a nice mix of relaxation and liveliness. We were only there for 4 nights in November 2013 but going back this year in May for longer.
Good points -
Location is superb. Your own little private cove. Perfect scenery.
2 mins away from shops/bars. Short taxi journey to main shops/bars in cala dor.
Hotel and rooms are very clean and tidy and the staff are nice and helpful.
Bad points -
Beach and pool area usually littered with cigarette butts, plastic cups etc. Not the hotels fault but could do with a litter picker constantly doing rounds and keeping area clean.
As it is situated in a cove, there are certain times of the day where the sea will bring in bits of litter and jellyfish in with the tide. That's just a natural occurrence you can't really do anything about, but again, it's not a huge problem and we swam at all times during our stay. Got to say though that the sea in that cove can also be extremely clean, perfect blue, and crystal clear, as you can see in the photos.
The good at the hotel is average, just what you'd expect really. As there is a huge range, your bound to find something to fill you up, but it isn't great, we found ourself eating out a couple of times.
Drinks at the hotel come in small plastic cups so trips to the bar can get quite annoying, especially if your sat on the beach, but then again, I like my beer and it didn't bother me too much :)
Airport transfer was ridiculous, took what seemed like ever to get to the hotel, but could be different for someone else as we were the last drop off that day.
Summary -
Overall it is a fantastic little hideaway, with a great beach and perfect blue sea (at times) and would definately recommend it to anyone who wants a mixture of relaxing and liveliness, and also great for children. I personally wouldn't go at the height of the season as I think it would get too busy, but if you go a bit out of season I think it would be perfect

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel shares the pool and beach with sister hotel Marina Corfu. Sunbeds can be an issue but we spent most of our time on the beach. Every now and again rubbish does come in with the tide but hotel staff go into the water and remove this. Some people decided to jump off the rocks; some accidents but if you're careful it's all fun. Very picturesque.

Reception is nice - clean and light. Reception staff are all friendly. Luggage storage available. Internet access & wifi available to purchase. Vending machines in reception with snacks and bottled drinks. There is a good seating area outside of reception; good for afternoon sun with a book.

Food in restaurant is good. Can become repetitive but I always enjoyed it. Kids buffet is available at the back of the restaurant for dinner & there are always chips, burgers, chicken nuggets available at the pool snack bar. Both the pool bar and main bar are open until late. Slush puppies are included in the all inclusive which I loved.

Very central location; couple of minutes walk into Cala Egos. Plenty of restaurants and bars. If you want to go into Cala d'Or you can take the Train for $1.50 per person or a taxi costs around $5 one way. Once in Cala d'Or there is more choice of shops, bars and restaurants - typical Spanish holiday town.

Hotel entertainment can become a little cheesy. Most nights we wandered out. Mini Disco, Bingo and then a show. Hotel run & Thomas Cook kids club on offer.

Rooms are cleaned daily. Sea view is available at a supplement; rooms on the other side look onto the road but noise minimal. Rooms are of good size. Family rooms are available (sleeping up to 6) but they only have one on each floor. I like my room and the maid did a great job of cleaning it. Balcony was a good size.

Overall for a 3* hotel, cheap getaway I really enjoyed myself & would definitely return!!

Room Tip: Request a Sea View - you may be in luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here in October during half term week. Myself, my 7 year old daughter, and my friend. It was a fantastic holiday. The beach was SO close and it's absolutely gorgeous. The water was warm, the sun shone every morning, and we had a beautiful view out our balcony every day.

The cleaning service was fantastic. Obviously we spent a lot of time on the beach and we trekked sand everywhere, and they came and cleaned it each and every day. Changed our towels and our sheets were changed once during our stay. The beds were a little on the hard side but I've yet to stay in a moderate resort where you get a king size pillow top, so again no surprise there.

Every night they had some sort of special event going on. The Skorpios is set further back from the stage area than the Corfu so you didn't get nearly as much noise from the pool/bar. We went to a Parrot show one night that my daughter absolutely loved. There were discos and magic shows and all sorts on every single night.

The food in the all inclusive was as you'd expect, but even more diverse. I was expecting the usual fish and chips and sausages, but it changed every night and there was usually something on that we all liked. In the evening they had a special kids buffet if my daughter didn't fancy anything from the adult buffet, and she enjoyed going to her "own" place to get food that was at her height.

The pool area was kept very clean and tidy. It wasn't too hard to find a sun bed in mid-october but I imagine in the summer it would be far less easy. The beach was also very clean. The pool isn't heated but I don't think many are in Majorca so that wasn't a surprise. It was quite chilly! But I suspect that had much more to do with the time of year than anything.

I did fall quite ill while we were there with a chest infection that ultimately lead to pneumonia and I can't fault the response from the local medical centre. There was a mixup at the front desk and it took a bit longer to call them than it normally would but once they did the dr was there within a half hour. He was very helpful and gave me a prescription and I didn't have to trek into Cala D'or for it.

The hotel is very near a taxi rank for going into Cala D'or and also very close to a bus stop for going further afield. There are lots of local companies too that will rent you a car for the day to go to Palma, which we did. The aquarium is NOT to be missed. It was the highlight of our holiday, along with the Pirate show in Magaluf. The Pirate show bus leaves from the hotel area at the end of the road so very convenient for that too.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and we'd even go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach! We were on the 3rd floor and it was perfect. The lift isn't f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anywhereexcepthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecclefechan, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have been to this hotel five times... and everytime i have been i have absolutley loved it... it is in a great spot... there are two hotels in the one complex.. the first one being the marina... and the other the scorpios... there are three swimming pools and you just have to go down a couple of steps from either hotel and you are on the beach.. i have enjoyed myself all five times i have been here... the food is excellent... the bar staff and all hotel staff in generall are so friendly... and the evening entertainment is great aswell... i would recomend this hotel to anyone old or young :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cazzyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited here in June last year, there were 8 of us, adults and children. First impressions were that it was a lovely hotel, the rooms were clean and the view from our balcony was amazing, right above a cove that was kind of part of the hotel.

The pool was an average size but because of the cove it didn't get too busy. The food was fabulous and it was fair to say I out on a bit of weight on that holiday. There was plenty of choice in the restaurant and snacks at the poolbar from fresh baguettes to burgers and fries.

The entertainment was fab and for the first time didn't feel the need to leave the hotel, the drinks were what you'd expect. Cala d'or restaurants were walking distance.

All in all would definitely go back and recommend

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank braziersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for a week in September after my daughter and family had spent a week here in August, Rooms are a bit dated but hey, the rest well compensated for it. The small beach and inlet are so beautiful and the cristal clear water lets you watch the marine life swim by you. The food was very good pleanty of variety and always hot, snacks by the pool were cooked for you whilst you waited ( only about 5 mins) Very very clean in all area's and rooms spotless, staff very helpful and friendly, entertainment crew were great, shows every night (and BINGO) going back next July with all the family 14 in all from 3 upto 62 cant waite.

Room Tip: ask for a pool or sea view and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Corfu
Hotel Marina Corfu
#20 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Skorpios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Skorpios

Property: Hotel Marina Skorpios
Address: Avenida Cala Egos s/n | Cala d'Or, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Skorpios 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Skorpios is strategically located right next to the Cala Egos Beach in the area of Cala D’Or, one of the most important tourist resorts on the Island of Mallorca. Cala Egos is located only 2,5 Km from the centre of Cala D’Or, in one of the most beautiful and picturesque places on the Island of Mallorca. This hotel offers all the necessary facilities, including a direct access from the hotel to the beach.A perfect combination of quality and an All-Inclusive service, in an unparalleled location, whilst providing its guests with a wide range of entertainment and leisure programmes for all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Marina Skorpios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Skorpios Hotel
Skorpios Marina
Hotel Marina Skorpios Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing