We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala d'Or Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cala d'Or Gardens
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Gatehead.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon with our 2 children and had a great week at cala dor gardens, the food is really nice and I have no gripes with its as there was fresh grilled meat and fish every day and there is always lots of choice for everybody at the hot food counter. The drinks are top quality and the beer is really nice and I found that all the restaurant staff really friendly. Our room was in block six which is a bit of a walk from the reception & I was amazed at how clean and well presented it was, the bathroom was massive and clean and lots of towels. The pools are really clean & the only problem is the sunbeds! But you just have to go out at 8.15 and put your towel out and it will be there all day, there is plenty tho, there is a lifeguard on duty and not always observant as there is 2 pools so don't let's the kids out of your site. The kids pool has a ramp into it so my son was just able to walk into it with no problem. The kids club is ok through the day and the animation team are mental & just never stop all day. The evening mini disco drags on a bit but I suspect it will get better as they get more experience. The evening shows apart fom Saturday night are done by the animation team and are quite good and funny but sometimes not the greatest for young kids and I found sometimes a bit politically incorrect and risky. The bar staff are spot on and there is never a queue even at busy times. I would happily recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are noisy from 5.30am so try and get in blocks 1-6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    141
    91
    42
    32
See reviews for
169
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from our 7 night family holiday (22nd-29th of August) and we had an absolutely amazing time!! From arrival to departure the staff at the hotel were warm, welcoming, professional and worked tirelessly but happily, giving this hotel a really lovely upbeat and vibrant feeling.

The pools were fantastic (lagoon style horizon pool with a beach style area, diving area, island) and very much the reason why we booked. The lifeguard was very vigilant, helping the children and teenagers swim and play safely. The poolside was extremely well kept and gardens well maintained.

Food was tasty, beautifully presented and a wide choice, catering for adults and children and including many speciality dishes. Meat and fish is also freshly cooked at lunch and dinner. We all really enjoyed it and never disappointed! Self service wine/beer/soft drinks was also really easy!!

Entertainment run through the day, providing a variety of different activities for young children, teenagers and adults.The entertainers had a very big presence but were not intrusive at all. At night the Mini disco was great and the entertainers worked really hard each night in various shows.

The rooms were basic but clean, plenty of storage and our room had a new bathroom. The balconies were large with a table and chairs, all facing into the centre. Fresh bedding and towels daily.

The layout of the site meant that our children (8 and 5) could swim and play safely and could have an amount of independence, allowing us to relax.

We would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be going back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Fantastic holiday at cala dor gardens
Here are a couple of good reasons
Great anamatation team.kept everybody happy day and night
Great hotel perfect location next to a small beach
good food. good pool with a Good life guard
clean

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank japsniper068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

stayed at hotel cala d'or gardens with family from the 6th-9th August; when we got there dinner had just begun, we were invited to go straight to dinner as our rooms weren't ready which wasn't very good as we were expected although it wasn't a long wait as they were ready after dinner, we had rooms 0206 and 0207, they are large and spacious but basic rooms and could do with some more amenities, such as a fridge and hairdryer but these weren't a problem though. the rooms were cleaned everyday and bedding was changed regularly and towels everyday, our rooms were above the restaurant and over looked the terrace only problem would be that you hear the kitchen people preparing for breakfast from 5:30.
the food was always kept hot and people were always there ready to fill things back up, there was an awray of different foods, although we're the same pretty much every day and night. the restaurant staff weren't very good at English although they tried there best and were always very welcoming.
the entertainment team were fabulous, they are very friendly and kind, they go around getting people involved and doing different things all the time, they knew every language possible and not just the basic, they catered for everyone, they also did the night entertainment which consisted of a kids mini disco and a play, which wasnt the best buy they try hard and at the end of the day they're not propper actors.
the pools are big and kept clean through out the day, the sunbed issue isn't as bad as people say, if your up and down at the pool by 8 you'll get a sunbed, which isnt too bad as you could go back to bed after as they don't remove towels. there are plenty of palm trees if you want shade and the area is big and spacious so your not cramped together either.
the town in which the hotel is situated is a cute little town although cala d'or town is about a 30 walk or £5.50 in a taxi if that's what you prefer, there is a little cove next door to the hotel and 2 more a bit further down the road if you want a beach.
the hotel do excursion themselves although I recommend goin out into the town to book one BUT do not go to western water park, 49€ to get in then a fee of 12€ per inflatables to go on the rides with which isn't refundable only a 2€ deposit back, the park itself isn't very good either with about 2 good water slides, I wouldn't recommend anyone going.
all in all the hotel is a good place and good value for money, it's not an amazing place but at the end of the day it's not a 5 star hotel, I enjoyed my holiday lots and would deffinatly recommend and go again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lahlah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just spent a week here in august with my husband and 2 kids age 4 and 6. The hotel is lovely food is excellent and all inclusive is fantastic value for money. The nearby beach is also fantastic we had a great time and can't recommend it enough. Only slight negative is the lack of English tourists ( many Germans & Dutch tho! ) but the staff all spoke English and most of the entertainment was in English too. Kids club wasn't as good as i'd hoped as it wasn't the kind where u can just leave your litle ones more of a drop in kind of thing. The kids reps were lovely tho and did various activities throughout the day and a mini disco each night which my kids enjoyed. The evening entertainment was a bit cheesy but enjoyable! Not quite enough sunbeds for the number of guests but they were locked away each night and put back out at 8.15 each morning so u dont have to get up too early to get one! The rooms are quite small for a family of 4 but we didn't spend much time in there anyway! The pool was very busy during the day but after the sun worshippers have left about 5pm we had the pools virtually to ourselves for 2 hours! Dining room was open from 7.30-10.30 for breakfast, 12.45 - 3.15 for lunch and 6.30-9 for dinner with snacks available in between from the kiosk and drinks from the bar from 10am-11pm with self service tea, coffe and juice as well! For what we paid i can't say anything bad really it was much more than we expected and wud defo go again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SuzanneW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Still at the accommodation now and do upset , it's very rundown in need of plenty of live and care . Tiles broken around pool and in pool , you must be up at 7 to get decent sunbeds which the area is sparce as ate the beds , the rooms are extremely basic , no fridge , kettle iron etc lucky if you get bath towels , mirrors have crack and paintwork rough, food ok and as for the entertainment better of without it ,,?,,??,??

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angied43665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala d'Or hotels

devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

went with wife and five kids.Overall the complex is fine. pleasant staff and no long queues for food or drink.The food was okay a bit more imagination possibly needed but overall it was fine.The entertainment team were teenagers from holland and did try hard although the evening entertainment was not brill!That said the pool was fine and big.They do have the worlds strictest lifeguard but i suppose its not a bad thing.Recommend hiring a car as we went to Aqualand, This was ok and not too far a drive.Overall the complex was clean and safe.A downside was unable to get a late check out so we showered in a toilet/shower block but was fine.Beach was small but lovely and good areas to snorkel and cliff jump. Fish a plenty and easily spotted/fed.Overall summed up as AVERAGE.

Room Tip: need more pillows and if with little kids ask for ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dykesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
1.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#21 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Corfu
Hotel Marina Corfu
#20 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#33 of 47 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala d'Or Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala d'Or Gardens

Property: Cala d'Or Gardens
Address: Punta des Ports | Cala Egos, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala d'Or Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Cala d'Or Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Gardens Hotel Cala d`Or
Hotel Cala d Or
Cala Dor Gardens
Cala D'Or Gardens Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing