We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not geared for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inturotel Sa Marina
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
wales g.b
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not geared for couples”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our review is that of a young at heart middle aged couple looking for a relaxing retreat to recharge the batteries, most outstanding reviews for this hotel are based on families sharing an apartment.
As children eat free, and the 'kindergarten' entertainment lasts until 10pm we can fully appreciate how the ratings are so high. This hotel was not for us.

For us the hotel was lacking a grown up feel. At the managers meeting there were 9 buggies occupying the bar/lounge and that was the norm. A lady approached us to say that children were mauling the food in the dining room so we were glad to self cater and eat out.

The look of this hotel is faultless, the grounds are beautiful, however a holiday cannot be based on hotel looks alone. On arrival our kitchen cupboards had cheesy wotsits in it and crumbs on the shelves and the bathroom overflow was surrounded by muck, I guess our standards of cleanliness are very high.

There was limited ventilation, doors along the corridor were shut despite horrendous humidity and heat levels we spoke to both the cleaners and the manager about this and they opened the doors on that day but were closed again the following days. The air con is poor but just adequate. The apartments have a lovely feel about them and are practical. 2 hob rings, a fridge, toaster and kettle. A safe costs about 3 euros per day.

The location is brilliant and we found it cheap to eat out. There is a good butchers outside the hotel and many Spars all are good. Alcoholic drinks are reasonable and very cheap in the supermarkets. There are 3 beaches within walking distance all are good.

If I was a mum again with young children and had a complete disregard for other mature holidaymakers I would have found my niche here. We were surrounded by noisy children who are given free reign by their parents to run up and down the corridor all day and night pressing door buzzers and shouting and screaming. We barely slept, we do not feel that the hotel manager has complete control and this is understandable given the ratio of families to couples which our rep informed us was 3 times higher for families.

We asked for an americano cocktail at the bar my wifes holiday treat ,even after offering to tell them how to make it , we was told that we could only have drinks that were on the bar menu list . We then asked for a campari and soda and was told that they dont stock soda water, we have never failed at any hotel in the world we have travelled to date to get any drink we have requested i feel it is not good enough for a 4 star hotel.

So to sum up ,generally clean hotel perfect location for young families NOT FOR COUPLES LIKE US.

Room Tip: E mail the hotel and ask for a top floor room in block 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    319
    73
    18
    2
See reviews for
961
384
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We had a lovely holiday there this september.Lovely hotel so clean and everyone friendly, choose of 2 outside pools,we went self catering because there are so many places to eat out,but was told the food in the hotel was really fresh and good lots of choose.would definitly recommend staying there,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a great hotel, spotlessly clean, a great room, very courteous staff...compliments to the cleaner who would work around us with our little baby boy. The pool areas are very good with lifeguards stationed at each pool. we didn't try the food as we were self catering, pity we didn't have 3 rings as 2 isn't enough for cooking really but thats a minor point as the room was more than adequate. we stayed in the middle block and although near the entertainment stage we didn't hear anything! Cala D'or itself is lovely with plenty to do, the beach is small but i would recommend the starfish boat tour to montenegro beach. food in the evening restaurants was lovely and we would recommend c'on trumpe, Es Caliu, india johns for a curry, diferent and Meson Typico in the town. All the restaurants in the harbour were very good..we tried them all at some point...Just to some the hotel and Cala D'or up...we would definately go again and recommend you give a try too..!! ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed on a ground floor room facing a grassed area and this was lovely...quiet and peaceful for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynenichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay here in July and August this year. It's a perfect hotel for a family holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would certainly return. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, as there are so many great places to choose from in Cala d'Or, and we have family in the area so we went out with them a lot. We had breakfast most days, except when we went to Fernando's which we will NOT be doing again, especially as the hotel breakfast was very good, with lots of choice and excellent service. The pools were great, and the pool bars pretty good, and I liked the fact that the lifeguard would take towels off sunloungers if they'd been there too long, so that people cannot hog the sunloungers when they're not there. All the staff were great, the rooms nice and facilities very good. My only wish is that there could be 2-bedroom apartments! Otherwise, this is just a fantastic family hotel.

Room Tip: It's nice to be on the side facing the pool, especially if you have kids who are old enough to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyogini89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great location, great hotel!
Very clean and modern, everyone very friendly and helpful. Great for families and couples. Would Defanetly recommend this place and we will be going back!
Cala d'Or it's self is beautiful, little beaches and great views. Mixture of shops, bars and fab restaurants! ( we went self catering, but I heard the food at the hotel was very good)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed at Sa Marina from 10 August for 2 weeks. This was the first time we had to go in school holidays with our now 5 year old. Overall a fantastic holiday and great hotel. We had previously emailed and requested a room in the main block, high floor and pool view - we got a room in the main block but on the ground floor with view of the hedge! This worked out fine though as it was around 35 degrees everyday so our terrace was a haven of quiet and shade! The main block and pool are the quietest. The two pools were great - yes they are deep but our little boy still loved them, playing sometimes in his armbands, then taking them off for a while to practice swimming and going underwater. All the staff were friendly and efficient and always seemed to have time for a chat and joke with the kids too. The Receptionists were especially friendly and helpful, more so than we have experienced at other hotels in the past. We stayed half board and the food was excellent. My wife is a vegetarian and used to often having a limited selection at buffets, but the food at Sa Marina was varied and very tasty. We also ate in Cala D'or a few times and always enjoyed. Loads of places to eat and a friendly atmosphere, very family orientated - not too lively! The only downside at the hotel was the usual sunbed situation, you had to try and get your beds and shades between 9am and 9.20am, not always easy! There was also a lack of sunshades. They were not movable and not enough to go around most days. A few more of these would help the situation alot! Sunbeds and shades became more readily available after 4pm so this was a good time to be by the pool. Cala Gran beach was great - a deep and narrow beach, but always busy. Less than 10 mins walk from the hotel. Our rep, Sam, who was great, advised us to get there about 10am for a good spot, sunbeds and shade which was sound advice as it got really busy after that. The sea was fantastic, beautifully clear and blue, great for snorkelling. Would also recommend taking a trip on the Starfish boat which the hotel can book for you. We also went to the Pirate Show which was pricey but a fab family night out. We hired a car for one day, booked via the hotel. Very straightforward and reasonably priced. We have yet to ever return to the same place for our holidays, but were impressed with Cala D'or and Sa Marina so may well be tempted!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southapton england
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

the hotel i recon is the best in cala dor ,the appartments are just wonderful,its the second time this year my partner and myself have been there , we think every thing about it is just right the staff the food hotel ,my only thing is that the matresses could be a little softer and cala dor is such a great place ,go there its worth it.

Room Tip: its all good try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan mac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Sa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Sa Marina

Property: Inturotel Sa Marina
Address: Avda Calonge s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inturotel Sa Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star resort, opened in June 2001, and because of its excellent location, facilities and careful service, make it ideal for couples and families who are looking for a special place for their holidays. At 500m from the beaches of Cala D'Or and Cala Gran and at 300m from the "Cala Llonga" marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Inturotel Sa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Sa Marina & Es Sivinar Hotel Cala d`Or
Inturotel Sa Marina And Es Sivinar
Sa Marina Cala Dor
Sa Marina Aparthotel
Inturotel Sa Marina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing