We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good but could have been better"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENSIMAR Rocador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Rocador
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Good but could have been better"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

On arrival at this hotel the first impressions were excellent. Our room was overlooking the pool and had no complaints except for a slight leak within the shower. The food was very nice with freshly cooked bacon and egg for breakfast. The bar prices were comparable with other places we drank. There was a safe within the wardrobe but it was not bolted down. There is also an empty fridge within the wardrobe and tea and coffee making facilities. Take some tea bags etc as they are not replenished after the first day. Pool towels can be obtained from reception for €10 each with the deposit returned when handing back the towels at the end of your stay. There were a lot of rooms still not completed with the furniture stored within them waiting to be completed when the workmen got around to it. . People were constantly waiting a long time for their rooms on arrival, i.e. 4 to 6 hours and maybe even more. We have been back since 17th May so hopefully they are getting a little more organised by now. I was not really keen on the pool area. It is set within four walls facing the front street and I think in the hot summer months it will get very hot as it is not possible to get a good breeze through. There is only one side that houses the sunbeds with the exception of about a dozen beds on a raised area to the right hand side of the pool and these beds proved to be very popular and the first to go in the morning. The remaining sunbeds are one row behind the other with not a lot of rooms to move with the sun but that is only my opinion. They have done what they could with the space they had. I have seen much more stunning pool areas. Would I return - maybe, if the price was right. Hopefully this hotel will improve with time.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view get sun in an afternoon/evening and the balcony gets too hot to sit on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CaroleHSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at SENSIMAR Rocador, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mrs. CaroleHSunderland,

First of all, thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination and also for this review.

Please apologise if you suffered any incovenienced during your stay We appreciate all your comments and they will be put through to all staff's attention in order to keep improving.

We hope you had a pleasant stay with us and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at Rocador.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    163
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
414
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Hotel Rocador is now a Thomson Couples hotel. The old Rocadors have gone through a massive refurbishment and the new Hotel Rocodor opened its doors on 7 May 2014. I know because we were the first Thomson flight from the UK in the hotel.
This new venture has not been without its problems but this is understandable given the task they had on their hands. I commend the management and Sarah, the Thomson rep, for the sterling work they did trying to get the problems sorted.
The hotel is of a high standard, the main entrance is modern and clean lined. The reception staff are helpful and efficient.
The bedrooms are very modern but could do with a bit more shelving or drawer space. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The linens and towels are of high quality. There are safes in the rooms, the keys are available at Reception.
The pool area is new with a bar serving light lunches and cake right beside it. There is no shortage of sun beds and towels are supplied for a small deposit from Reception.
The food is of a high quality with plenty choices. The plates are constantly replenished so it's always very fresh. There is another restuarant downstairs from the main dining room , also set out buffet style, but we didn't feel the need to use it.
The nightly entertainment is low key which is the same all over Cala D'Or.
The hotel is scrupulously clean, has a great staff who go out of there way to be helpful.
We had a great holiday here and will most certainly return .

Room Tip: Book a sea view, the hotel is right on Cala Gran. Beautiful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at SENSIMAR Rocador, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Alison D.

Thank you for choosing us as your holiday Destination and also for taking some of your time to write down this review.

It was a pleasure for us to have you at our hotel and to hear you had a pleasant stay.
On behalf of the whole team, we will be looking forward to welcome you back at Rocador.



Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our 4th visit back to this hotel and won't be our last. Fair enough the hotel isn't amazingingly luxurious but the location makes up for any sow points the hotel has. The guests are mainly Spanish so you don't get the usual English riff raff drinking all day. It is a quiet location overlooking a beautiful cove but is also just a ten minute walk into the bustling centre. A great for families and couples alike

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Rocador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Rocador

Property: SENSIMAR Rocador
Address: Calle Marques de Comillas 3, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Rocador Playa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#11 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SENSIMAR Rocador 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hotel Rocador has an exclusive location, overlooking the pretty cove of Cala Gran. It's fronted by a curve of golden sand, which is kept private from the main road by a sandwich of rocks. From here, it's less than a 5-minute walk to the restaurants and bars of Cala d'Or's cosmopolitan town centre. The hotel grounds are coated in palm trees, lawns and shrubs. The greenery gives way to a large terrace, where you'll find a swimming pool and a bar for daytime cocktails. There'll also be another bar just a few steps from the sand, which will stay open until late, and offer sweeping views of the Balearic Sea. The hotel's interiors have been styled in a contemporary manner. The rooms, for example, will feature stark white walls and bed linen, offset by colourful, arty wall murals. Each one will come with a balcony or terrace as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your SENSIMAR Rocador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocador Playa Hotel
Hotel Rocador
SENSIMAR Rocador Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing