We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of TUI BLUE Rocador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI BLUE Rocador
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I had a great time on holiday and this hotel really made it for us!! The staff are so kind and helpful, the food was great and the location and views are fantastic.
We will definitely been back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Irene J,

Thank you for your post and for choosing us as your Holiday Destination.

We will be definately looking forward to welcoming you back to Rocador.

If you would like to contact us directly, please do not hesitate to send me an email to: miguel.rojas@nordotel.com

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

upon arrival we were given a most welcome glass of cava and chocolate strawberries but were informed there was a problem with our pool view room and were given room 1432 instead. This turned out to have the biggest balcony in the hotel with a garden and sea view and had 2 sunbeds waiting for us.. What a fabulous surprise! The reception did call to check we were happy with the room and also advised that, as we arrived late, the restaurant was just closing but they organized meals to be sent to our room. During the entire week we were there the staff were wonderfully efficient and nothing seemed to be a problem for them. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and the maid service excellent. I found the evening meal to be fine but my husband prefers English food and did struggle throughout the week. All in all this was a very relaxing week, the entertainment is low key but is in keeping with the 'chill out' experience.
We will be recommending to friends and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Yvonne F,

Thank you for your review.
All the Rocador Team, will be very happy to read you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Please if for your next visit you would like to contact us in advance, please do not hesitate to send me an email to: miguel.rojas@nordotel.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rocador.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were a bit nervous about booking this hotel as it had not be refurbished at the time we booked it!!... But we were pleasantly suprised upon arrival!! We were greeted with a glass of cava which was a nice touch and our room was ready within 10 minutes. Our room was on the 5th floor, a side sea view and a lovely view of the garden. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable indeed. But there is definately a lack of storage space in the rooms. A couple of drawers would have done the trick!!

Upon further inspection you can see that some things have just been painted over, rather than being replaced. Work was been carried out whilst we were there so it is work in progess, but when it is finished it will be fab!! The new Spa is work in progress.....

The location is great... a few steps down and you are on the beautiful beach with very fine sand and a beautiful clear sea.We loved the chillout garden with huge comfy beds (mind you, you have to be out early to get one!!) The swimming pool area was a bit cramped so not really for us. Also just outside you have many shops and restaurants. Although we were half board we ate out a couple of times... I would recommend Different, great food and lovely staff.

The staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful. They all seemed to be new and were trying their very best.

The breakfast was very good with a large selection. A chef was there to cook omeletes and eggs of your choice. The evening meal was interesting... Whilst all the dishes were very tasty there was such a choice nothing really seemed to go with anything else...

All in all though we had a lovely chilled out week here. Great location and great staff!! When it is finished I think it will be lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank kathyandgaryNorfollk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear kathyandgaryNorf,

Thank you for taking some off your time to share your experience with us.

All your comments will be put through to all staff to keep on improving. We are glad to read you enjoy your holidays with us, and I am sure, for you next visit you will be even more surprised with the day by day improvements.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rocador.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

right from the very start the hotel was superb we were greeted by mappi and julia very pleasant service also a nice refreshing drink of cava.we booked a pool view room which was very good ,but after a couple of days we realised we were in a disabled room a very large wet room and small bedroom.we put up with it because everything else was 100%,the dining room and food was lovely great staff rafael and chippi were great,also in the lobby bar was susi we had pleasant evenings with here she taught my husband spanish .the hotel is very well located down a few steps onto the beach and out the front door to the main resort .part of our week included 1 night in the la carte restaurant and 1 night in the tapas restaurant a lovely gesture .finally a great pleasure to be in a couples hotel,you could actually read a book round the pool with no loud music and screaming kids many thanks to all at the rocador.

Room Tip: sea view next time pool side very hot in the afternoon/evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
6  Thank blondie061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Blondie061,

Thank you for your post and for choosing us as your Holiday Destination.
We are glad to hear you had a Chill Out week with us, so please remember if you would like to relax again, we will be happy to welcome you back to Rocador.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was a little nervous about the hotel after reading so many mixed reviews... but it exceeded what we could have hoped for!!! A lovely friendly welcome with fizz, and a lovely room overlooking the beach and sea. The balcony is well designed so you don't have your neighbours looking in on you!

There are so many elements to the hotel, the chill out area being my favourite! All the staff made sure you had everything you needed, and with a smile! The tv lounge area with the world cup on lead us to meet and chat to people, which made the place feel safe and friendly. Sarah, the rep became a good friend and booked our day trips for us, making everything very easy! I cannot recommend the place enough!

If I have any down points, its that the wifi is only good in the lounge and dining areas, but is very hit and miss in the rooms... but that made us be less glued to our phones and actually look up and enjoy the place where we were staying! Ignore the people about the buffet food... theres plenty to choose from! I didn't enjoy the mediterranean restaurant, partly due to me being picky and party due to the creme brûlée being curdled custard with no top! But its a free meal so if its not to your tasting... go to the Tapas restaurant or the buffet instead!

We ate out one night at the Bar Diferent round the corner... which was relish! I highly recommend the nachos!

If you want to go to Majorca, STAY AT HOTEL ROCADOR! Its perfect location and lovely hotel makes it silly not to!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Becca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Becca H,

Thank you for your review and your trust when booking us as your holiday Destination.

Most of comments in tripadvisor are from previous years, when the hotel was not refurbished yet and was ran by another company.
In Nordotel, we are highly orientated to exceed customer expectation and to make your stay as delighful as posible, so after Reading your post, we feel veery happy to know you enjoyed your holiday and time with us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Rocador any time soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our first of only two disappointments was on check-in/arrival when the hotel put us in a room with absolutely no view other than a lamp post! A bit frustrating when we had paid for a room with a lateral sea view. We addressed the issue at once and were asked to come back to the front desk the next morning. The next morning we were promised a new room at 3pm. When we came for the room at 3pm, it was not ready. We had to come back at 4pm. There was no compensation from the hotel for this inconvenience. The second complaint is that hotel staff would enter our room when we we had the "please do not disturb" sign on. Quite frustrating.
Now for the positive. The hotel is centrally located in Cala Dor next to shops, bars and restaurants. The best food to be had in Cala D'or is in the Marina which is a short walk from the hotel. We had rented a car as we like to go to small beaches in the area. Free parking is not difficult in the streets close to the hotel and blue area parking while chargeable is not expensive. The hotel's swimming pool and lounger area is very nice for adults not seeking pool frills like slides, water jets etc. The loungers are new and very light weight (easy to move). Thy also lots of reclining adjustment possibilities. The rooms are nice, but not overly large. Great bed, nice duvets, good aircon, great bathroom with excellent shower, great balcony and an unbeatable selection of TV channels including most BBC and ITV channels (a rarety considering most hotels only offer German and local channels in Mallorca). Other facilties include two excellent outdoor hot tubs on the lawn facing the sea and large outdoor sun beds (although these are usually "towel hogged" by early morning). The buffet restaurant has a nice view over the Cala Grande beach on which the hotel is situated. The breakfast spread is really excellent which practically everything you could want for the day's first meal. We tried the dinner buffet once. Great variety of food and excellent presentation, but the food is at best bland bordering on tasteless (almost as if the hotel does not want to offend by serving dishes which might be too spicy for some). Finally a word re the beach right outside the hotel area. Cala Grande is very popular with the local population as well as tourists, but the water is crystal clear and the seabed is 100% sandy with no stones. It is worthwhile trying. Had we not had a rental car, we would certainly have spent more time on Cala Grande. The hotel staff were all friendly, courteous and service- minded. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will likely come back. Having undergone a recent total renovation, the hotel still has some teething problems. On our floor water from pipes embedded in the walls were seeping water, but this did not impact on our stay or guest experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear DavidH56,

Thank you for taking some of your time to leave your feedback.

First of all, Our apologies for the inconveniences you suffered on your first days. Yor comments about it will be put through to all the staff to keep on improving.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us, and we hope to have you back in Rocador one day soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were a little nervous after reading the reviews online due to the refurb of the Rocador. There was no need as everything turned out to be great. Clean, friendly and excellently situated. The room had a couple of tiny problems (The safe wasn't fixed down and a leaky tape) but after they were reported, they were fixed in minutes. Nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. There were lots of little touches that made our stay great. Such as food left in our room after a very late arrival, Champagne also left in our room. Free drinks most days on entry to the dinning area. Fruit skewers around the pool and miles of smiles. I would recommend this hotel and destination to all.
Well done to all at the Rocador

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msmaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel R, General Manager at TUI BLUE Rocador, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Msmaffa.

Thank you very much for taking some of your time to write about your experience in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

If you need something or you would like to contact us again, you could always do it via email to miguel.rojas@nordotel.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back Rocador.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sentido Tucan
Sentido Tucan
#16 of 46 in Cala d'Or
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI BLUE Rocador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI BLUE Rocador

Address: Carrer del Marques de Comillas, 3, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly TUI SENSIMAR Rocador)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £112 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TUI BLUE Rocador 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hotel TUI BLUE Rocador has an exclusive location, right on the sandy beach of the Cala Gran bay . Adult-only hotel with indoor and outdoor pool, Spanish-Mediterranean cuisine, BLUE Spa, BLUEf!t sports programme. Only a short walk away from the center of Cala d'Or. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TUI BLUE Rocador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocador Playa Hotel
Hotel Rocador
TUI BLUE Rocador Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing