We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday July 2014 - mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We did email and received replies regarding a sea view room but weren't lucky enough to have one. We were in Block L, facing the restaurant but could also see the pool from our room which was very nice - the only downfall with the balcony was that from 2pm until about 8.30pm the sun was on it and very strong. We couldn't sit out as much as we would've liked as there was no shade whatsoever!!!!
That said we all agreed it was the best resort we have stayed in and it was immaculately clean, the room did need updating and while clean was dated and needed a refurbishment.

If you like a lie in the mornings this is not the complex for you, most sunbeds are taken by7.45am and although they do have a policy of no reserving beds,(they put a notice on and if you do not return after 40 mins, they remove your towels) - an early start is a must. Those staying half board were particularly pushed to eat their breakfast in this time.

I know it seems like a moaning email but I would definitely go back and would recommend a stay here but perhaps book direct through the hotel for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or the side get the shade in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 11 nights in this very well run hotel with a lovely beachside location. The sea really is turquoise and very clean with fish swimming around in it. The beach was fine sand- it would have been perfect with fewer people, but was rather busy as expected at the end of July. The hotel was so near the beach that we preferred to sit in the park area and walk down to the beach for a swim. Despite the number of people staying there, we never seemed to wait long for anything and it was suprisingly quiet at night.
Really enjoyed the meals, that were varied, with something for everyone and plenty of Spanish specialities- worthy of a four star hotel. Excellent service, just the drinks made the price of the holiday more expensive (around 12 euros for a bottle of wine with dinner) The happy hours were a good idea, so all the family could enjoy double drinks for the same price.
The sporting activities were well run-great volleyball matches and exercise classes. Small but very functional fitness room. Lots for younger kids, but a bit boring in the evening for teenagers as some of the shows were basic, some very short and others pretty bad! Mostly English-speaking, which suited us.
Outside the hotel, the coastline is beautiful. Cala d'Or itself not very interesting with a lot of karaoke bars! We hired bikes and cycled to Cala Mondrago, which was nice. Another day, took the local bus to Palma (nearly two hours but interesting visit)
Very enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Demandez vue sur mer. Batiment J eloigné de la plage/piscine alors que d'autres ont une vue sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from a family holiday here with my wife and two daughters (1 & 4). We stayed half board and requested a quiet room away from the entertainment. This we got in P block.
APARTMENT
Despite other reviews we found the apartment great, it was very spacious, TV with some English channels (kept the girls entertained when getting them out of the sun), small kitchenette. The only thing to improve was we let the girls share the bedroom so we wouldn't disturb them once they had gone to bed. This meant my wife and I slept on the sofa's, these were OK but not the greatest from a comfort point of view.
POOL
The swimming pool area was great and where we spent most of our time, I do agree that it was a case of if you cant beat them join them regarding getting some sunbeds. Although as the afternoon progressed beds did became available. Although most of our time was spent in the pool or sat on the edge.
BEACH
The little covered beach was as magical as the view from the reception, the water does become deep fairly quickly and the beach did get busy during the middle part of the day. We went on some cloudy mornings (less busy) as well as just walking down for a lovely swim. For adrenaline seekers there are plenty of rocks/cliffs to jump into from due to the depth of the water.
MEALS
The food that we experienced via our half board package was excellent, great range of foods from an extensive salad bar, grilled fish and meat, pizzas, pastas and lots of specials for example Paella night, tapas night etc. Breakfasts were equally well sourced and plentiful. Even some good old HP sauce. We also had a couple of lunches at the beach bar overlooking the sea. Service and quality very good. We didn't feel it necessary to eat away from our boarding but the centre of Cala D'or did look better for this (about a 10-15 minute walk).

ENTERTAINMENT
Our children did not access the kids club but they look very well run and the enthusiastic staff delivering the mini-disco, water polo, darts, rifle shooting and aqua aerobics were a credit to the hotel. Evening entertainment we didn't access as girls were shattered and in bed by then.

It is a little problematic with a pushchair so be prepared to have to carry younger children rather than continuing to push due to lots of steps. This was not a negative for our holiday as our 1 year old would rather walk anyway but something to bear in mind. This was a lovely holiday had by us and despite a terrible return transfer, it was the hotel staff rather than holiday reps who were trying to sort this problem as well. A great hotel and would definitely like to visit again.

Room Tip: Always request a quiet room away from entertainment and also ask for a sea view (especially if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just back from these apartments, could not find fault with these apartments, spotlessly clean, location great. As we were returning customers asked for pool/sea view which we got (H313). When we arrived they had left a welcome letter and a bottle of wine. This apartment was very quiet, close to the supermarket and this block also had a lift. We found the restaurants in the immediate vicinity not all that good, so we choose to go into the centre of Cala D'Or each night. The towel brigade started each morning at 6.30, there were signs saying not to reserve or your towel would be removed but this was not enforced. As the apartments were on the beach we preferred to pay 12 euros each day for sun loungers and parasol rather than stay by the pool. Appeared to be very few english speaking guests so nobody to
socialise at pool. One mornng at 9.30 as I was going to the beach a lady overtook me and nearly knocked me over to get the last two sunbeds by the pool. Not the apartments fault by we found the majority of the guests in these apartments to be very unfriendly rude, queue jumpers. Would stay here again but not for two weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mr_Cool007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just came back a few days ago and we found it to be a lovely hotel very well maintained & very clean with friendly very professional staff. Its in a great location only 10 mins walk to the town centre with all the shops restaurant's etc. The beach is so close you can sit by the pool and walk to the beach for a change of location in minutes! We found hardly anyone staying there without children so maybe not the place for people wanting peace & quiet by the pool!

Room Tip: avoid block M if you want a early night as some rooms look right over the stage, but the music goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were a little apprehensive taking our young children (3 and 5) abroad for the first time, but choose Cala d'Or based on reviews. We choose Esmeralda Park based good price and good reviews. We stayed end June - beginning July 2014 for 11 nights.

Personally we thought the resort was beautiful, very clean and clearly geared up to families and felt very relaxed and safe. Staff all friendly. The hotel was very good - rooms slightly dated, but good size, comfortable, with good balconies. Cleaners were excellent. We stayed half board and thought the choice was excellent - varied, fresh (never any empty trays) and well presented. Although the dining room could be busy, there was never any delays, so a pleasant and relaxed environment. We felt that half board (for us @ £40 day for a family of 4) was very good indeed taking into account the quality, choice and service.

The hotel complex has great pools and you can share the facilities in the immediate Cala Azul Park (almost same set up). Everything so clean. Although mixed nationalities(German/Dutch/Spain main hotel residents), the entertainment staff were excellent and very enthusiastic. Could not fault. Our children actually found the varying languages being spoken to be interesting.

Cala d'Or is scenic, beautiful and relaxed. If it has a down side, then it is that trips (such as water parks etc) are a fair distance away (1 - 1.5hrs travel), so not so ideal for teenage families if those types of activities are planned. Travel from Palma airport takes @ 1.5 hours with drop offs. The resort does not attract the crowds or the hen/stag parties and it felt very civilised. The hotel does not offer all inclusive which appears to be a good thing - little drunken activity, no drinking around the pools, so it felt very relaxed and pleasant.

We would not normally go back to the same hotel or holiday, but I have to say that we were sufficiently impressed that we have booked to return again next year - which says a lot for its qualities. With a young family, it ticked many of our requirements and actually exceeded expectations in many areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in K block (1st floor) - no sun on balcony which was helpful with young family. No views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Peter_HH5396PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Amazing holiday. Spotlessly clean hotel, everything is looked after and maintained perfectly. Food plentiful, fresh, varied excellent value. Entertainment team the best I've seen, worked hard all day to put on great evening shows and also kept the young and old busy in the day with various activities. Location is superb, Cald D'or only a ten minute walk to but lots of shops and resturants along the way. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gem9976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
#7 of 46 in Cala d'Or
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Esmeralda Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Esmeralda Park

Address: Carrer Calo des Corral s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £39 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inturotel Esmeralda Park 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south-east coast of Mallorca, the complex boasts an excellent setting - on the sea front of the beautiful beach of Cala Esmeralda, which offers marvellous views of the Mediterranean Sea. Located at a short distance from the Cala D'Or shopping and tourism resort and with an interesting range of complementary services located close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inturotel Esmeralda Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Esmeralda Park Hotel Cala d`Or
Inturotel Esmeralda Park Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing