We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMPLETE UNWIND!”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing all inclusive break at The Tucan. This is a spotlessly clean hotel with reasonably sized air conditioned bedrooms ( with daily maid service) and an excellent shower. All areas of the hotel are well maintained and the front entrance is quite impressive. We booked this holiday with Thomas Cook last year and I requested a hotel close to a beach with a sea view. A bit naughty of TC ( or perhaps the rep wasn't aware) to give the impression the hotel is by the sea. Actually, it IS very close to the beach ( just over the road), but there isn't a sea view as the hotel is in the town of Cala D'Or and balcony views aren't great in any room. No children under 18 allowed ( a welcome break as I'm a teacher!) so the pool and surrounding area was blissfully quiet and a pleasure to use. Staff are friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, mediteranean with an English twist ( one of the chefs was from UK) and so much choice. Small criticism, as I am a vegetarian, some of the buffet's didn't give much of a veggie option... but such a large choice of salads I can't really complain. Lovely ( but crowded) beach, pretty harbour, very touristy town with the usual tourist tat shops and typical Mexican/Pizza/Chinese etc restaurants. We weren't tempted as food too good at our hotel. For a lazy holiday in comfortable surroundings this is ideal ( but yes... you do need to bag a sunbed early if you want a good spot and one with that is padded!).

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seem to have a better outlook, but no sea views. The back of the hotel seemed to be...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to know that you could take a breath in Tucan Hotel, specially if you really need it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Tucan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Was slightly worried before going by previous reviews, but have to say my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We always managed to get a sunbed, whatever time of day we went down to the pool - there did not appear to be a shortage at all. The pool area was lovely and peaceful as it was adults only and had wondered whether it would be too 'coupley' - no worries though - groups of friends, mums and daughters, sisters, couples, etc. We went AI and found that there was always plenty of choice, everything was hot and there was plenty of it. Even if you were very fussy there was always something plain to choose from (from reading other reviews I do wonder what people expect from AI buffets). The location of the hotel was great - just off the main street which is packed with shops, bars and restaurants - everything we wanted. We enjoyed cocktails at the Cheeki Tiki and had a meal out at Cafe Fernando - delicious! Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: First floor room facing Cala Gran beach - sun in morning so cool in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time to share with us your experience in Hotel Tucan. It has been a really detailed comment! We look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Tucan. The rooms were of a good standard with lovely spacious bathrooms which included a large double shower. It was immaculately clean throughout and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had no problems getting sunbeds around the pool, the doors were kept closed until 8 a.m meaning no silly 6.a.m starts.
The food was good and plenty of choice, the all inclusive was definitely a good choice for us.

There are 3 things that let the hotel down; 1. The carpets on the stairs and halllways could do with replacing. 2. The evening entertainment could be improved. 3.Could do with some background music around the pool but when we mentioned this to reception they said that Thomas Cook had asked them not to. I do think Thomas Cook should reconsider .

Though the hotel and it's staff (especially Lurch behind the bar) ensured we had a relaxing time, it was the people we met and the company we kept that made our holiday so fantastic Best mate Pete and Roy and wives, Angelea and Susan, The lovely school teacher and hubby that runs miles ( sorry can't remember names but you made us giggle ) , the lady's and theyre husbands to who. I gave my book to and Steve, Sheridan , Mum and Geoff ( hope little Dave helped you through your last week)
Last but by no means least on behalf of the majority of us is to Mr Christian Grey!!!!!!!!!! You all know what I mean xxx
Sarah and Dave

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sezsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Manager at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thanks a lot to share with us your experience in Hotel Tucan. We are really happy that your holidays has been so agreeable. We will work in order to improve the points that you find no perfect. Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

"WOW" what a relaxing holiday we had,but best mates wife and my wife kept us on our toes , just clicked there fingers for more drinks, fruit,& ice creams, totaly chilled out for two weeks, "FAB"the rooms were fine, food was fantastic,lots to choose from, anyone that moans about the food must be eating elswhere, the only thing i must say is the entertainment was a bit naf, but we sat by the pool and had a few drinks and wached other people dance to the music, so you can say they enjoyed it,made lots of freinds in our two week stay, hope "Gringo daves" ear is ok now, ha ha .
hotel staff were very freindly,had a laugh with the bar staff, near all shops , beach, " QUACKS".
all in all cant find no fault at all, would probably return some time.

Room Tip: as far as i know all rooms were fine, did not here of any complaints.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pete s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the Hotel Tucan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We returned 4th August after a 11 nights stay. This is my first experience of an adult only hotel and i have to say it was lovely! this is a quiet hotel both day and night. If you are looking for an action packed holiday then this place is not for you.Diving, lilos and balls are not allowed. it was lovely not trying to avoid balls. Entertainment is poor!

THE ROOM/ HOTEL / STAFF
The hotel reception is cool and decorated in creams and turquoise which was a good first impression. The bedrooms have had a re-vamp and the bathroom was one of the best we have had. There was a flat screen t.v but mainly spanish and german channels but you are not there to watch t.v! although it was good for the olympics.
There is a fan and FREE aircon and a FREE fridge which is something we have not even had in 5* hotels. Safes are near reception but this was not a problem. It would have been nice to have had some bottled water in the fridge on arrival. We were celebrating our anniversary and was pleased to find champagne and fruit in our room on day 3 but would have been nice to have found it on arrival. The rooms and all areas are kept very clean by the hard working staff.
Restaurant staff work very hard clearing away and re dressing tables and catering for your needs.
Bar staff need to smile a little more and give AL guests the same attention as HB guests as i personally experienced a bar member leaving me waiting for my drinks to serve a HB guest even though they had taken my order. This I have to say only happened by one member of staff on several occasions so is unfair to class them all the same. This is only one small negative amongst a whole lot of positives.

Sunbeds are reserved but this is the same everywhere! Whilst we were there the door was locked until around 8.30am and there was always availability to around 9am so better than i had expected.

The Management do aim to please and listen to customer requests and make immediate changes for their guests i.e. introducing hot food at lunch time at the pool bar for AI guests and
Re - introducing fruit at lunch.

FOOD
food was plentiful and lots of choice. In fact probably too much choice! every night you had salad, soup, pate, cheese, vegetarian, pork, beef, fish, roast, griddled meat, potatoes, chips, vegetables and sweet options. I believe this is why it may have seemed repetitive by some moaners! We always found something to enjoy. If people didn't over indulge they would not have found it repetitive!
You can get snacks including ICE CREAM and FRESH FRUIT from the snack bar all day and night, cold sandwiches and hot food( hot food introduced from end of July).
Drinks are 11am - 11pm and includes cocktails. Plastic cups during the day but full size glasses on an evening. You never have to queue and very civilized compared to 'family' all inclusive.

RESORT
BEAUTIFUL! everything you would ever hope for and more!
The only thing missing is a sea front to enjoy the sea breeze on an evening. The streets are full of bars, shops and restaurants but narrow and very hot with no air.

OUT AND ABOUT
We went on the land train around Cala D'or. I'm not sure how this works as we paid 3.50 euros and was told we couldn't hop on - off but i think others have so i think he probably makes it up as he feels, as we saw some doing this! It was an enjoyable hour though.
We went on the Island discovery tour booked through Thomas Cook and have to say this was one of the best we have ever done. Ask for a packed lunch at reception to take with you as food was very expensive at the mid way stop.

WE HAD A LOVELY STAY AT THIS HOTEL BUT I FEEL I HAVE TO SAY ONE THING!
we paid extra for a sea view room at a cost of £110 and want to warn others NOT TO DO IT!
This hotel is central and there are a limited amount of rooms that are classed as having a sea view. The hotel is set back from the sea with a hotel in front, the view we had was of the hotel with a left hand side sea view above the many trees. NOT what i expected and i felt ripped off. The room was very noisy as a road is below. I did complain to the rep but unfortunately you would have to move the hotel to get a better view. I Shall continue with this complaint now home. I don't think this complaint is at the fault of the hotel but Thomas Cook, so do not be put off but as a loyal reviewer i did not want others to pay for something you would not get.
Request a pool view room but do not pay extra. I believe that the view we had, bearing in mind the hotel opposite and the road below should have been a last minute booking room not to be paid extra for.

CONCLUSION
This hotel during our stay was visited by a range of nationalities and ages.

Is this hotel for you? if you want a quiet, civilized AI holiday in a central location with no children, then YES.

If you expect music day and night and be able to dive and have fun in the pool (Magaluf style!)
then NO.

Room Tip: Pool view have the best sun and view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and also thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us! We hope to see you again in Tucan Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Having stayed there 10 years ago, what a transformation!! went with `best mate Pete` and our wives, this hotel is top class, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the food is superb with plenty of variety, the negative comments in the past are long gone, everything is well cooked and presented. the hotel is very clean, we did have a problem with room 108 with a water leak but it was fixed within an hour.
There was never a problem with sunbeds, plenty to go around.
Special mention to `Gringo` Dave and Sarah, our new friends! also special mention to `Lurch` behind the bar, he has been here since 1978 methinks, he always made us feel good and made us laugh.
Special mention also to Nikki J, the Thomas Cook rep, she was absolutely delightful and above all helpful.
Many thanks to the Hotel Management and staff, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Chose a 3rd floor room so you can see the view above the trees!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rochesterrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you vey much for your kind words and to share your experience with us! We will comment it to all Tucan´s staff. Your words will help us to keep on working hard! And we really hope to see you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed the end of July and were very happy with our stay. As a couple in our late 20s we were very happy with the location of the hotel and the fact there were no children screaming and jumping in the pool. There seemed to be a rush for sunbeds on a morning we would have breakfast and go to the poolside around 10 and most beds were taken. We preferred to eat down the road for breakfast and did not eat in for our evening meal either so can't really comment too much on the food. We went for breakfast twice and the sausages looked a little under cooked and the orange juice tasted really cheap. We tended to go for breakfast down the road where a full english was 4 euros and much tastier. The rooms were very clean and had much needed air con and fan. We found not having a safe in the room a little worrying as we had only took cash however u can hire a safe which is in a safe room next to the reception. The shower was lovely although it tended to leak and the bath mat got very wet. Maybe a longer screen would help but cant really complain as it was a lovely shower room. The hotel is very central, close to restaurants, beach and shops. The staff are very pleasant and the maids worked extremely hard. I really enjoyed our stay and would reccomend it alot. I would like to stay again in the future. If I could change anything it would have been our view as we were on the side of the hotel over looking another hotel roof. We only got the sun 5am-7am on our balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inka4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Manager at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Many thanks for your comments. We are pleased that our staff have given you a good service! We look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £93 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing