We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

When we stayed here only last week it was absolutely great. Booked in for all inclusive and the food was great, the atmosphere was wonderful and the staff were nice and friendly.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, nothing to moan about. 5 mins from an amazing bay and the rooms were absolutely fine as we spent most of the time in the great weather near the pool anyway. Nice gym we could use and great jacuzzi.

Food was really varied and could eat something different each time, the wine and beer was also great.

Would go back, loved it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for taking your time to write it. If you liked your room and you would like to come back to us just write an e-mail before coming back and we would try our best to allocate you in the same room that you liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    354
    196
    61
    30
See reviews for
82
632
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you are due to stay at the Hotel Tucan, come and enjoy, we are here now. I totally agree with postings that the carpets are in a dreadful state and this alone makes the place look grubby. The food is acceptable (not great), the bar is well stocked , however if we was aware just what the hotel was like before we booked, I would have, without doubt only booked B&B not the all-inclusive deal. A drink in the bar after dinner is fine, but not when the entertainment is on, I really do wonder if the entertainers are just volunteers.

Room Tip: Be adamant you do not want the room over the pool toilet - it smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking your time and writing about us. We appreciate client feedback as this allows us to better the service and make our guests' stay as enjoyable as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The reviews we read before going to this hotel had us all very worried about what to expect all I can honestly say is the Hotel was immaculate the staff very friendly and helpful, food was varied and very nice. (although could have been a little hotter on occasion). The area is right in the centre of all the restauants and bars and the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel had entertainment a couple of times in the week and was of a good standard. Rooms were cleaned every day, I would have no problem in returning next year and will probably do so.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After reading many of the awful reviews I was really hoping they were as bad as the reading – but hey ho they are true. We visited this hotel last week, myself my husband and 2 friends – Oh goodness where do I start. As I booked the hotel I feel responsible for booking such an awful hotel.

I booked the hotel because it was a 4 star, we all had expectations from a 4 star, and this is certainly not four stars. The food is the nastiest I have ever experienced, cold and bland. The hotel entertainment is horrifying to the point it is hilarious. This hotel needs a really good deep clean and all the awful stains on the carpets need to be addressed. I understand the hotel has only been open for a couple of weeks, Management why would you open your hotel with carpets that are full of stains ?

To anyone who is only thinking about booking this hotel – DON’T. For anyone who has booked don’t stay all-inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking your time for writing a review. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our management and all staff is daily striving to offer our customers the best service. Once more time we are very sorry about all the inconviniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

After reading previous reviews of this hotel, I was somewhat nervious of what to expect.
On arrival I can honestly say all our worries were dispelled. The hotel was clean, the rooms were lovely, we had a view overlooking the beautiful pool, which we made good use of.
The staff were all very friendly, and looked after our every needs.
The hotel was very close to the beach, and many restaurants.
We would not hesitate to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thephairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked the Tucan for myself, hubby, sister and brother-in-law through Thomas Cook specifically because it was a style holiday and 4 star which it definately was not. Expected tea/coffee facilities in our rooms, there were none, reception told us that we could hire a kettle which was not mentioned in the brochure.
The food although a wide choice was not hot but warm, at no time did we see any of the staff temperature test any of the supposedly hot food. At the welcome meeting with our rep on Sunday morning we complained about the food temperature and lack of kettle which she said she would look into. On Sunday morning my sister and I walked along the corridor (2nd floor) to the far end and noticed a crack the full width of the window which moved when touched. We reported it to the staff in reception in the hope that they would have put tape across it or some other means of securing it as the window overlooked a concrete path, the result of someone leaning on it would have been disasterous. On Tuesday it was still the same so we then told our holiday rep who said she would look into it, we left the hotel on Saturday and it was still the same.
The kettle issue was resolved after four days by way of paying a 20 euro deposit. The staff of which there weren't many in the restaurant and bar worked very hard and were very attentive.

There was no daytime entertainment and during the evening backgound music was played, we had auld lang sign one night and a christmas tune, they booked a singer on the Tuesday and on the Thursday a duo sang/played music suitable for Blackpool ballroom.

We were told during our stay that the hotel had re-opened the day we arrived following a refurbishment but we don't know what area was refurbished as the carpets on the stairs and halls are stained and worn and overall looked dirty along with some of the chairs and sunbeds (of which there were plenty).

The hotel is central for bars and restaurants, we ate at a place called Different which was delicious and reasonably priced. If you go all inclusive and let reception know by 8pm they will provide a substantial packed lunch which consists of meats, cheese, tin of tuna, tomatoe, bread roll, fruits and water.

On the transfer coach back to the airport we were told by the rep that the Tucan re-opened the day that we arrived and was not closed for a refurbishment but due to managerial/financial issues and that our tour operator was in the throws of pulling out of the hotel so why put us in there?
If you have already booked the Tucan on all inclusive then take extra money just in case you have to eat out.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool can be noisy as there are bars quite near, having said that there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne19611076988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a opinion about Tucan Hotel. About 80 % customers that are in Tucan at the moment, that are people they have been before at Tucan Hotel. We are very glad about it and we are doing our best every year to make the stay of every customer so nice as posible, That is also a very good reason why Hotel Tucan should NOT have remeinded closed. About the window, it has been fixed at monday. We were waiting for a profesional to come. The Hotel is situated in center of Cala D´or and every room can be noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Myself and 9 others were booked into the hotel Tucan on the 3 rd of may for 7 nights. 3 days before we were due to go we had a call from Thomas Cook, to say the hotel was not available and we would be moved to sa coma in the thb plata, I would advise anyone who is booked into this hotel to check with your tour operated as we went to visit the resort and the hotel does not look like it will be open anytime soon. The hotel they sent us to, the food is discussing and the facility's are non existent. The choice at the pool bar for food is a dry bread cheese or ham sandwich, and the restaurant is not much better. We are 10 very disappointed people who were out to celebrate 3 50th birthdays, so Thomas Cook get ready!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
19 Thank joypoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We are very sorry, about problems that the closure of Hotel caused. It did not really depend of Hotel and we did our best to try to solve problems so fast as possible. The Hotel Tucan is open since 25th May. We would like to apologise one more time about all the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Property: SENTIDO Tucan
Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing