We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Visit to the Tucan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“2nd Visit to the Tucan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned from my second visit to the Tucan and still enjoyed it. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The bar staff are slightly under pressure now that they do table waiting in the bar.. The rooms are kept clean with maid service every day. The food is of a reasonably quality but is a bit repetitive. The pool area is kept clean and well kept with plenty of sun loungers. I would return to this's hotel again and again as so many of the guests seem to do.

Room Tip: A pool view room is probably best as the entertainment finishes about eleven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HeatherandJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations. I have passed your positive comments to our staff. Thank you for your second visit and we hope to be able to welcome you for your third visit at Tucan s soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    309
    181
    59
    29
See reviews for
72
554
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel D'or Tucan 9th may for 1 week, and had a fab time, varied food ( and I am very fussy ) fantastic breakfast, omelettes made to order, bacon very similar to ours, and a very efficient toaster plus lots of other foods I wasn't interested in !! Excellent reception staff, angel and Barbara, and the younger blonde girl Of whose name I have forgotten, sorry ! I forgot my I phone charger and they lent me one of theirs daily, it was very clean in all areas, hard working staff thanks to pepe, Cito and others too many to mention. One thing that may have been a little more often is entertainment, but to be fair was early season, and may offer more as the season progresses...the piece de resistance was our 3rd floor corner bedroom with sun from 7am until 9pm approx what more could you want ....thanks everybody at the hotel Tucan we'll be back soon x

Room Tip: Room 343 a must or if not a room overlooking the pool for sun lunchtime onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 1957Debs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Director General at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
On behalf of all staff and management I would like to thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are all very happy to know that the time you spend with us was pleasant and that you enjoyed your holidays. Your comment about food, hotel service and staff are very appreciate. This will encourage us to keep working hard. We will pass all your comment to our staff. We all are looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife hates flying our Children tried so hard to persuade Mum to fly had a great time at the Tucan going back this year the people were lovely was it 4 star in our eyes yes just looked at some of the post's on trip advisor not our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JohnBrendaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us and you will come back to us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction. We are looking forward to greeting you again at Hotel Tucan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Well, what can I say? In August after reading the reviews of this hotel i was really looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately, the experience was different from expectation. Had I known that you could not post any comments on Trip Advisor for 3 months from a previous comment, i would not have posted that I was looking forward to this holiday.

Firstly, this is a Thomas Cook holiday - 4 star. This is the first holiday with Thomas Cook for a couple of years that we have flown with a Thomas Cook flight. The flight was fantastic, transfers were fine. However, on arrival at the hotel, we had to wait, not long, maybe 5 or 10 minutes for our room to be made available. There were 4 couples who arrived on the same flight. 2 were accommated immediately, the other 2 had to wait. We were allocated room no: 306. This hotel is situated with front on the street level and also sea views. When booking this hotel it was on the understanding that it was not on the street level side. However, 306 is a side view - side view of the next hotel, with a side view of the hotel across the street. Very disconcerning when sitting on the balcony the men in the hotel across the street seemed to only have one way of viewing and that was across the street. Having moved into the bedroom i had to close the curtains to get any privacy. I know this is not a fault of the hotel, but i do like a bit of privacy when sitting on the balcony.

Asked the rep the next day about a different room - was directed to the hotel receptionist. Impression was that he was going home the next day to re-start his university course and that another rep was coming on board and could not really be bothered. I thought the point of having a rep at resort was that they were to take on board any complaints etc of the clients and to deal with same. Silly me, for not realising that this is not part of their job. Spoke with reception and was advised to come back the next day. Went back the next day and had to go back later on that day, because they could not find the complaint!!! We were reallocated room no: 302 - same floor, but slightly towards the back of the hotel. Could see a bit of the sea now and sitting on the balcony was a bit more private.

My husband was not feeling too great the first day, he did not make dinner that evening and had not eaten so tried to take some tea bags to give him a cup of tea.When i tried to take some tea bags from the breakfast site i was repremanded by the maitra de who reminded me that this section was for breakfast only. When i explained the reason why, he allowed me to take some tea bags, but again reminded me that it was for breakfast only. This was the first and only time that i took tea bags to our room.

We were all inclusive. Water was in bottle form, nowever, you were not allowed to take the bottles to your room, same with wine which you did not drink (this was in the restaurant at dinner time.) Left over wine was reallocated to the bar. So we had to buy bottled water to keep in the room. If you asked for water at other times in the bar it was provided in a plastic tumbler.

Food - was not of great quality. There were picture signs of a sheep, cow (which also had steak written across it) a fish, a chicken/turkey a pig, vegetables and potato. Every kinds of meat was swallowed in sauce. So our diet consisted of soup, which was good, salad, ie. lettuce, tomato, etc and cheeses, followed up with ice cream. On our last night we ventured out to an Italian restaurant for a slap up meal.

Rooms however were clean and the chambermaids were pleasant. Replenishment of items used were not too forthcoming, luckily I always take extra toiletries with us.

While sitting in the pool area, there were too many discussions about the standards of this hotel. Many who were on half board were spending most of the holiday money on meals out because the standards of food were certainly not 4 star. Others complained of their rooms. I only met one couple who were happy with their all, their room was a pool side room, they said was large!! (i believe all rooms were of same size and ours certainly was not large) and they thought the food excellent. They however were staying for 10 days, we along with other guests were staying for 7. HOW DO HOTELS ALLOCATE ROOMS? IS IT A FIRST COME FIRST SERVE? DO THOSE WHO STAY THE LONGEST GET THE BEST ROOMS? It was sad to hear of guests who could not wait for the flight home, we were also of the same ilk. this was not only the Glasgow flights. One set of guests did not even unpack their bags. We could hear them on their mobiles stating that they would not stay there and were quite happy to pay the extra 140 euros to stay elsewhere. What does this say?

Cala D'or is not a bad place. For shops, restaurants etc it is a nice area. But we will certainly not be back.

I would say however, from other feedback that if you get the poolside room that you have requested, are maybe bed and breakfast only then perhaps this hotel would be a fine place to lay your head down. If you want anything else, then this is certainly not the place to be. I find it strange that we were not allocated any questionnaires to fill in. Sorry to say this is certainly not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: You will have to insist on a pool side room. However, how they allocate rooms is a mistery to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshineKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
First of all thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience at Hotel Tucan was not like you have expected. On TripAdvisor people are leaving their opinions and their always have right to have their own opinion. Concerning your review all rooms are the same size. The recepcion staff is always trying to allocate the customers as they requested, but sometimes it is just not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

hotel tucan in calor dor was in our opinion 3 star not 4,food was good ,but setting of tables very poor.clean rooms ,uncomfortable beds,definatley need new mattress.with no children very quite hotel.not much to do in cala dor and as a mobility scooter user found the town very difficult to get around as pavement did not have many ramps.thomas cook flight delay out of doncaster 4hours delay with no imformation of reason why until captain on flight explained..thomas cook broke the bank and gave us £5 voucher.travelled in october and at least we had good weather.overal not impressed .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda528807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations in 100%. Our management daily strive to offer our customers the most friendly and professional service. We appriciate your feedback because it helps us to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

visited tucan 08 oct 2013 to 16 oct 2013, think hotel closes end of oct .
4 star hotel and its fairly small about 130 rooms but that was fine by us.
one or two parts maybe needed a bit of painting but overall lovely decor.
the food was absolutely marvellous , plenty of choice and all lovely.
staff excellent.
the resort is quiet with 2 coves as apposed to a long stretch of beach, lovely for our time of the year but should amagine would be very busy in the summer.
lovely restuarants and shops plus a beautiful harbour to walk round.

you can walk to cala egos but ask someone the route as we walked the way the cars went and went out of our way.
basically as you walk from cala d'or to the harbour walk right round the harbour past the barracade up the hill to where the little train stop is. just before the train stop on the left there is a path with a sign saying beach/ hotels, follow that path running adjacent to the harbour when you come out dont go straight on turn left wak down past the houses and it brings you out at cala egos cove. the shops etc are past the cove turning right.
so basically if you want a nice hotel and smart quiet resort in majorca this is lovely

oops forgot to mention we didnt mind either way but when we booked it was no children presume thats all the time .

Room Tip: our room was fine but noticed some were smaller, we didnt pay any extra so if you feel your room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing a review about us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays at Tucan Hotel. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction. It is a big plesure to read that you liked the food and the staff gave you a great service. We invite you to come back to spend a nice relaxing holidays at Tucan in Cala D'or.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds,west yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I am going to go against most other reviews. In general terms the hotel itself was ok. Clean, tidy, light and airy and quiet......no children! Staff friendly and helpful. The other guests were of a 'more mature' age which is why it was quiet.

The main criticism is of the food in the restaurant. Every evening seemed to be the same, just different sauces and with indifferent taste. I can eat almost anything, but after 3 nights even I was struggling to find something.

So hotel and poolside ok, food below even average. Don't know where the 4**** comes from, but if you want a quiet hotel and want to eat out, then it is fine; there are plenty of bars ans restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 49michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the food in Tucan´s restaurant. Our staff is working hard every day to give best service to all our customers. One more time we are very sorry that you are dissapointed witha part of your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Property: SENTIDO Tucan
Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing