We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a family holiday. The entertainments team were very good and friendly. The food was good and quite varied. There was something for everyone. The rooms were clean, but quite small and there was not a lot of storage space. The swimming pools were clean and there were plenty of sun beds. All in all a nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roxyinuxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your very kind review and recommendation. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us . We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to our entertainer team.
We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
best regards from all of us
your GAVIMAR Ariel Chico Club Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Me and my mother stayed here for a week half board. The 1 bedroom apartment that we stayed in was spotless and well decorated. However, the kitchen area was not adequate had you wanted to prepare food here. It consisted of a 3 ring electric hob, no oven, no kettle and a fridge full of water that had leaked from somewhere. Bed sheets are only changed once a week with maid service 3 times a week. The balcony, while very long and spacious is very narrow, had there been 4 of us (which the apartment holds) we would have not been able to sit around the balcony table together. When we checked in to the hotel in the early hours of the morning (after a long flight delay) we were greeted (if you can call it that) by an uninterested man who rolled his eyes as he saw us entering reception. No information was given to us about the hotel we were just given a key and left to find our room after travelling for 13 hours!! All the reception staff have been very unhelpful, rude and uninterested the entire duration of our stay (except for one lady who has been lovely and friendly and is always smiling!) the hotel has got 4 pools (which we were left to discover ourselves). Only one has a substantial amount of sun beds (free) etc.. Which is actually in the part of the hotel across the road. The pool in our part of the hotel just had dining chairs so I ended up laying on a towel on the wooden floor most of the time! In reception there is lots of information about different trips and activities etc... And lots of folders in different languages.. Yet there's not ANYTHING in English (and the hotel staff struggle to speak it too). The hotel has a brilliant location.. Close to all of the bars, cafés, shops and the beach. We were hardboard.. Luckily when we booked it.. This was actually cheaper than self catering.. As I'd be VERY disappointed if we'd have paid extra for the food as we only ate there once! Breakfast isn't served until 8am, which is quite late if you have an early excursion. The quality of the food was disappointing.. The selection wasn't good. The scrambled eggs were cold and runny with a thick crust on top.. I tried toast but you have to out it through the machine about 5 times before it even starts to brown! No drinks were included with the meals we were provided.. With dinner we had 2 cokes served in a small wine glass which came to around €3!!! Internet access is quite reasonable at €7 a week per appliance connected. The beds are quite hard.. one of the beds has a sharp spring shooting out of the side which would be dangerous if you had young children or didn't realise. I would maybe stay here again.. Although definitely self catering only.. However the hotel is full of Germans who are very rude and seem to have forgotten how to smile or have any basic manners! (And people say the English are rude!)

Room Tip: Worth paying for one bedroom apartment.. Studios look very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Katie,
we thank you for taking your valuable time to rate our hotel so profoundly. We are taking very seriously your advise and we are going to check the level of quality in all the different departments with our employees.
We are convinced that you will notice the improvements in your next holidays at our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you and your mother again and hope that all goes well for you till then.
kind regards from Cala d Or
your GAVIMAR Ariel Chico Club resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here 18th-25th July 2013. I wasn't expecting much as some of the reviews were poor. However I was pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for good value 3star accommodation in the heart of Cala D'Or with beaches, restaurants, shops and bars close by then this is just the place.

Accommodation - my husband, 17yr old daughter and I stayed in the hotel part of the complex. The room was cramped with 3 of us but was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was new and the shower was very good. HOWEVER the rooms are not in any way sound proof so earplugs are recommended! I don't know whether this was an issue in the apartments. Some towels do need renewing as stated in a previous review! The public areas are modern,comfortable and very clean.

Food - VERY, very pleasantly surprised at the quality and choice of the food. The chefs prepared joints of meat most nights and carved them freshly. Everything was well presented and very tasty. The restaurant is kept very clean and the staff work very hard. My only criticism is that there is no member of staff showing guests to available tables which resulted in people being asked to move tables and groups of people standing in the main doorway. We had an early flight and the staff put on a continental breakfast for us before we left which was very much appreciated.

Pools - there are 4 pools, all clean and inviting! The one by the Pins apartments is small but shaded. The one by the hotel restaurant was our favourite as it was quiet and also close to our room (no sun loungers though). The main pool across the road was large with plenty of sunbeds and is where all the activities take place. There is another smaller pool opposite it.

Entertainment - the animation team work very hard and are very good with the children. Some shows were good, others not so good. We walked across the road to Tropical Gardens where tribute acts perform - very good entertainment and funny, helpful waiters too.

Reception - 24hrs and speak many different languages. All pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear guests,
thank you so much for evaluating in such detail our hotel. We are very pleased with your comments about the good food, the cleanliness and the friendliness of our hotel staff and entertainers specially with children. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you and your family again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d Or and from our Ariel Club Resort team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Returned from the Ariel resort yesterday after staying their for a week with my boyfriend on our first holiday abroad together. I can safely say we both had a brilliant time! As we were all inclusive we were obviously restricted to eating in the hotel restaurant most days but the food did not disappoint, there was a good variety of food including different themed food nights e.g Mexican, Italian and American.
Entertainment throughout the day and night was also very good and we were particularly impressed with the 'burlesque' night. The animacion team were fantastic and all spoke English (we were a little apprehensive before after reading some reviews saying how the hotel only catered for Germans).
Always managed to find sunbeds around the pool which was great as we didn't have to get up early to put towels down, lots of parasols around too so if we were ever too hot we could always find some shade.
Our ONLY complaint is that our room was a little on the basic side and needed redecorating but we were hardly in the room so it didn't matter too much.
The overall location of the hotel was great. Beach was about 5-10 minute walk as was the main town which had plenty of restaurants and bars for those who didn't stay all inclusive. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to others, was very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie_L4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Katie,
we thank you very much for your kind review and your recommendation. We are really very pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to our hotel staff and entertainement team. It makes us happy that you want to return and are looking foward to your next visit , perhaps in the very near future? in the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d Or and the Hotel Ariel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were booked into gavimar Merida on the 8th of July when arriving we were informed there was a problem with our room and offered the aerial Chico instead with taxi cost paid and free safe and wifi for our stay(which if paying for wifi don't bother it's rubbish)hotel is in great location and clean food is average but ok self serve in plastic cups and glasses in restaurant local alcohol and not much queues didn't stay in to watch entertainment so can't comment all in all it's good value for money 3* and had lovely hols in cala dor

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustynuts72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your opinion which is really very important for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. kind regards from Cala d Or,
your Hotel Ariel Chico team
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from the Ariel resort and I must say I had no complaints whatsoever !! Food was gorgeous and plenty of variety> Lots of activities for all ages, great pool plenty of sunbeds rooms were a bit on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Had a fantastic week and would definately go back no hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms a bit small but there were 3 adults not sure if there were any family rooms but we managed oik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear guests,
We thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
we leave you with kind regards from all of us
your Hotel Ariel Chico team
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked into the gavimar Le mirada hotel but on arrival they said they had no rooms and placed us in the ariel Chico. This was the worst holiday I have ever had. The staff was rude and un helpful. The food was always cold. Nothing to drink at the bar except beer or cheap rum. Full of Germans. I wish I stayed home and never wasted money !!! It's a scam. You book into on hotel with good ratings ect. Then put into another that you would of not booked in a million years !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Charlie,
thanks a lot for your opinion. If you check the previous reviews you will notice that our clients are generally very satisfied with their stay at our hotel. Maybe you are very upset because you were changed from La Mirada to Ariel Chico? Anyway we are taking very seriously your advise and we are going to check the level of quality in all the different departments with our employees. We are convinced that you will notice the improvements in your next holidays at one of our Gavimar hotels.
kind regards
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort

Address: Calle Ariel 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £55 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive three-star Club and Resort located in Cala d'Or, in a beautiful and peaceful area just 50 m from the beach. Fully air-conditioned. Large gardens. Reception open 24 hours, bar, pub, TV room, restaurant with buffet serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 Swimming pools with children's area, sun loungers and parasols. Entertainment team with a daily programe for adults and children. Miniclub. Sauna, solarium, table tennis, squash, volleyball, billiards, boccia (some of the a.M. May have a surcharge). Free WiFi Internet access at the lounge. Wifi Internet access available all over the complex, both in public areas as in the rooms with a small surcharge. Comprehends Hotel double rooms as well as 1 bedroom Apartments, 2 bedroom Apartments and also Studios. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with a bathroom, direct dial telephone*, air condition, central heating, safe*, Satelite TV, balcony or terrace (depending on the type of room). The Apartments and Studios, added to the room facilities, they all have an equiped kitchenette with electric rings, a toaster, a kettle and a fridge. A Microwave can also be provided under request. *Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ariel Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ariel Cala d Or
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing