We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just got back from our stay here and we loved it !

Rooms
were really big and ours was recently refurbished, we were on the ground floor overlooking the road, they were cleaned regularly and our towels changed every day, really nice !

Location
was fantastic and just a short walk to the beach, the hotel has a pool for everyone - 3 smaller ones and one large one so quiet ones and busy ones ! all with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas and we didn't have to get up early to put towels on them like some people have said, a few wasps but this wasn't a worry and they soon buzzed off !

Entertainment
Something on each night and it's typical European type shows which were fine for what they are, lots of other things in the days, I played water polo one day and my fiancée did aqua aerobics loads and loved it ! All the activities are on the board near reception !

Food
This was the best part of his hotel ! And my absolute compliments to the chefs -we have stayed at loads of all inclusive resorts and they can often get very repetitive and often the food isn't that fresh -this wasn't the case here !!! Different choices every lunch and tea all really fresh and well labelled and though through -something for everyone ! Restaurant has three bits so even at the busiest times there is always somewhere to sit, also you can pick your food quick as there are two serving sides, loved all the fresh breads they made each day to and pastries at breakfast and the lovely choices of meats ! Again huge huge huge compliments to the chefs !!!

Drinks
Great choice and not strict if you overfill or take a few glasses at one go like lots of places, main brands in the cost and great times , Oh and the snack bar was good to when we used it -it is a snack bar not a Michelin star restaurant though so be prepared for burgers and chips here ! But still really nice !

Overall
Lovely hotel, great food, great for families , couples and all ages, huge components to he owners ! We are very impressed and will be back,

Thanks !

Room Tip: The rooms near reception have recently been refurbished on ground floor -so if your staying all incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear James,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel, rooms, location, entertainment, food and drinks. We are really pleased that you and your fiancee enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d ' Or and your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Its been 15 years since we were last in Cala D'or, this was our first time at the Chico Ariel and we stayed in an apartment for 10 days, here is a list of the pluses and minuses of our stay.

Pluses:

Location

The location is excellent for getting around Cala D'or, it is situated in the centre of the resort , the shops, beaches and bars are within a couple of minutes walk, the marina is approx. 15-20 minutes walk. Cala Gran beach where you get the boat trips is approx. 5-10 mins walk. there is a short cut through the hotel which takes about 5 mins via the crazy golf range.

Hotel

The Hotel was kept spotlessly clean, we saw cleaners either mopping floors or wiping down walls, cleaning hand rails .The Hotel is split into two we stayed on the reception side in an apartment with a balcony. The restaurant and two small pools were on our side Across the road was the main bar area and the main pool with a small pool located at the rear of the accommodation. This is where the activities team operated from I think they were French but spoke very good English, every day they had something on and all activities were advertised on a board by reception.

Staff

The staff were very friendly.

Minuses:

Entertainment

The entertainment finished by 11pm the bar shut in the hotel at 11pm so you couldn't get water as the drinks machines were switched off.... we had a couple of nights at the tropical gardens bar which finished at midnight. The entertainment was ok something different every night.

Accomodation

Our bed was a double bed with a mattress that was about 3 inches thick, I woke up most mornings with sore hips. The sheets did not fit the bed they were not wide enough, we took two sheets and turned them length ways to cover the mattress. The apartment was ok.... note there are no lifts.. I saw people dragging cases up three flights of stairs to there accommodation....I had to drag mine up 17 steps to our apartment.

Food

The salads were excellent , the fish was very good, meat balls and stews were good. anything covered in batter that should be crispy was soggy and poor......eggs for breakfast you were lucky to get a fried egg with a soft centre.... unfortunately they were generally steamed solid not very nice.....easy remedy for this have a chef with a great big frying pan cooking eggs at the hotplate...like other hotels do.....sausages not very nice... bacon streaky and soggy.. Hash browns ok.....basically the English breakfast was poor the continental better.... the choices varied slightly over our stay but started to become boring towards the end.

Summary

Its a 3 star hotel and the staff work very hard.. for us Cala D'or was a bit quiet...The weather was great the food we ate was very flavoursome ..but could have been better .Overall for us 10 days was too long, 7 would have been better.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, the highest I noted were 3 storeys. I was on the second floor and had to drag my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movinonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We thank you for your long list of "pluses" . We have made a note of your "minuses" and will not hesitate to relate them to the departments concerned. There are several different buildings in theAriel Chico resort and in the main building you will find a lift. Certainly Cala d ' Or is quieter than Arenal or Magaluf but offers many shops, cafeterias, restaurants and the marina. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great location. Rooms are basic but no different to any other mid range hotel. Choice of pool if you want to be quite on your own or loud and busy. Food and drink of good quality and daily meat joints sliced to order are the best I have ever had. Snacks cooked to order at main pool. 10min walk to the marina, 2 min walk to the best beach I have ever seen and all shops and restaurants on your doorstop. Evening entertainment poor but staff night shows are very funny. I can recommend Don Leon for a meal out. I would also recommend going on a Starfish trip from the local beach. Would highly recommend and we will be returning, the sooner the better. Wifi is poor but you can use a computer in reception for a small fee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicNak1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

dear guests,
we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return soon. We are looking forward to seeing you again and remain in the meantime with kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 weeks stay at this hotel, all inclusive. we were a family of 9 having 3 rooms. We had a fantastic time and would certainly recommend this hotel.It is a very good standard for a 3 star hotel. The rooms were basic but had all the usual things, they were cleaned every day and the towels were changed every day ( even when not requested ). All the staff, and I do mean ALL the staff, were very helpful and friendly. We had 4 children with us and so the childrens club and entertainment were very important to us. We had no cause to worry as the animation team were fantastic. The food was good, with joints of meat carved as required. There was always something to find, even for a picky eater. We had a table reserved in the dining room for the 9 of us which was very helpful. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Only a 2 minute walk to Cala Gran beach, which is beautiful and also right in the centre of all the shops, bars and restaurants of Cala D'Or. This hotel exceeded all my expectations and I hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: rooms in the "hotel" area are noisy. The apartments and suites are large with kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie N Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Marie,
we thank you very much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and are looking forward to seeing you soon on another occasion. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a fantastic time at our Ariel hotel.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from a short 3 night all inclusive break at the Ariel Chico and we could not fault this place.

Checkin was super quick and the reception staff had us checked in and all info provided within minutes.

Our room was clean and tidy and we also had a pool view. We were on the top floor and that is only two flights of stairs. We climbed these daily as we like to exercise, but there was also a lift for those who needed it.

The food was also good and you could always find something tasty to eat. The chefs were constantly within the restaurant checking everything and this in my opinion is brilliant.

There is always something to eat to suit everyone in my opinion.

The main pool area was a great place to relax and we found no problems finding a sun lounger and relaxing for the day.

The bar setup was great too as we could basically walk up and serve our own beers and soft drinks. Saved a lot of time and it was also nice to come up from the pool and grab a cool drink.

This patio area also served as the evening entertainment area and in my opinion was pretty well run. Of course the entertainment is designed for kids and couples and as such is all light hearted fun.

The entertainment team worked tirelessly during the day with fun activities and were also there in the evenings on stage as well. They are an asset to the hotel and make the place a lot of fun!

The hotel is also very central and you can literally walk anywhere within the resort in a few short minutes.

We will certainly be returning to the Ariel Chico sometime soon as we know just how good this hotel is.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Chris,
thank you ever so much for your very kind review. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Arrived for a 5 day break with my wife and 2 year old and had booked a 1 bedroom apt, all inc on the basis we would be sitting out on the balcony at night after our little one went to bed so wanted a bit more room than a normal hotel room.

I guess we lucked out here - We got a 2 bedroom apt that sleeps 7 at a push and had a sun terrace rather than a balcony which also overlooked the entertainment area that we would have been sat in anyway. It was perfect, plenty of room for our child and located perfectly. The All Inclusive option was great too, excellent value for money!!

Good points: Located brilliantly - everything on your doorstep, plenty of shops, beach about 4-5 mins away (stunning - but busy), food was great - never went hungry (good 3* quality), pool was ideal for kids and we relaxed far more than we expected.

Bad points: the road dividing the complex is only small but does have some busy coach times and can get noisy - but this only affected us because our balcony overlooked it - was not a big issue though. Bit of a Bee problem around the pool - they seem to be enjoying the spoils of the sugary drinks left around the pool area and bins - I got used to them pretty quickly and didn't see anyone get stung but they can be a nuisance.

I booked this as a cheap week away for our daughter to have a holiday and its fair to say it surpassed all my expectations, she loved it and it enabled my wife and I to relax more. The Staff clearly work hard and deserve recognition, the entertainment team are always on the go too, especially with the kids stuff. The mini disco was rolled out every night by Nellie?? who was a master at dealing with children and getting them all involved and knew exactly how to keep them all in line.

Overall - a great holiday and if I see another deal come up in the future, I wouldn't hesitate to return. A complex designed purely with families in mind and works very well..

Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patmustard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

dear guest,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. we are happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed a relaxing holiday and that your little daughter loved the mini disco with Nellie. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after a fantastic 5 nights stay at this great hotel. Considering it's an all inclusive, we wasn't expecting much..but the food was absolutely delicious along with the fresh fruit supplied every day. The staff were great and very helpful..always smiling. Our room was cleaned daily, and was always left immaculate. The pool was one of the cleanest I have seen, something I can be a little funny about! This hotel is literally 5 mins away from the beautiful beach, so always chance for a change of scenery if you get bored! The sea is like looking through glass..try and rent a peddalo boat out. For €15 you get 1 hour and they even have slides! All in all, me and my partner had a great time, and will be returning with the kids next year now we know there is plenty to offer for children. The only 1 criticism I would mention is that on leaving, we headed downstairs at 6.30am for the breakfast we were offered..only to find that someone had already eaten it and left the plates. This meant we had an hour on the transfer bus with no food..as no shops were open that early. Definitely hasn't put us off though. Thank you very much for your hospitality..see you in 2015.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bethjones18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your kind remarks about our hotel, food, drinks, clean pool and friendly staff and that you would like to come back and visit us again next year. We are looking forward to seeing you again and assure you that there will be no error anymore with the early breakfast.
our very best regards from Cala d ' Or and
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort

Address: Calle Ariel 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £55 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive three-star Club and Resort located in Cala d'Or, in a beautiful and peaceful area just 50 m from the beach. Fully air-conditioned. Large gardens. Reception open 24 hours, bar, pub, TV room, restaurant with buffet serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 Swimming pools with children's area, sun loungers and parasols. Entertainment team with a daily programe for adults and children. Miniclub. Sauna, solarium, table tennis, squash, volleyball, billiards, boccia (some of the a.M. May have a surcharge). Free WiFi Internet access at the lounge. Wifi Internet access available all over the complex, both in public areas as in the rooms with a small surcharge. Comprehends Hotel double rooms as well as 1 bedroom Apartments, 2 bedroom Apartments and also Studios. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with a bathroom, direct dial telephone*, air condition, central heating, safe*, Satelite TV, balcony or terrace (depending on the type of room). The Apartments and Studios, added to the room facilities, they all have an equiped kitchenette with electric rings, a toaster, a kettle and a fridge. A Microwave can also be provided under request. *Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ariel Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ariel Cala d Or
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing