We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for 4 days all inclusive. Hotel is in great location, food was plentiful and of a good quality. I am a fussy eater and didn't go hungry and loads of fresh fruit every day (water melon, honeydew, pink grapefruit, apples, bananas, etc.). Drinks were good and you can help yourself to beer, sangria, wine and soft drinks. We had an apartment that slept four and whilst it was basic it was clean and comfortable, air con in the bedroom and we had a large terrace to sit out on if we wanted to. Staff were mostly friendly, one or two grumpy ones but we could live with that. The only thing I can criticise the hotel on was the towels provided in the rooms - they were too small for showering and rather threadbare but other than that nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very nice remarks about the location, food and drinks. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Ariel Chico for 4 nights/ 5 days, all inclusive, for our honeymoon. We stayed in a hotel room on the ground floor. Within 10 minutes of checking in we received a lovely surprise - a bottle of cava and 2 glasses delivered to our room, compliments of the hotel.
Our room was lovely and cool and quiet, despite our terrace overlooking the main road. My hubby and I are vegetarian and although there was more food choices for those who eat meat, we found there to be plenty of choice at mealtimes and our plates were always full!
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and service excellent. Plates were promptly cleared at mealtimes and our room cleaned/ towels replaced frequently.
There are 4 pools within the complex - the larger is quite lively during the day time with water aerobics and polo. The other 3 are smaller, but offer quiet areas to relax and bathe in.
The evening entertainment could be a bit hit and miss for adults but certainly seemed to appeal to kids/ families.
Cala Gran beach is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and can be seen from the on-site mini golf course. Shops, restaurants and bars are also within a short stroll of the hotel, making this a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Be specific about which room you would prefer to stay in e.g. with a pool view as the hotel do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guests,
thank you for having choosen our hotel for your honeymoon. We are very happy that you enjoyed a fantastic holiday with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
Our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked a 4 day all inclusive break last minute and bagged a bargain. Two of us in an apartment for 6. Clean, comfortable bed and pillow, air con, balcony in a quiet spot on the other side of the road from the entertainment. Some furniture dated, but not an issue. Breakfast and lunch ok, but dinner a bit hit and miss. Lovely little beaches close by. Can imagine it would be a different story in peak season but perfect for a June getaway. We were glad we popped into a Spar shop for final directions as the assistant told us where to park for free!

Room Tip: 201 by smaller pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

dear guests,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive.
The hotel is in a great location a few minutes walk from the main centre, 5 mins walk from the beach and 10 mins walk to the Marina.

Our room was on the 3rd floor of the reception building overlooking the road but there was a nice view to the distance. The room was regularly cleaned and the towels changed daily. Room was pretty basic but had air con, a flat screen tv with BBC channels a nice bathroom and balcony. Pillows and mattress were quite hard but didn't really bother me. For a 3 star hotel it could not be faulted. There was occasional some noise from the road below at night but didn't really bother us. The rooms around the pool would be quieter at night so request one of them if occasional noise bothers you.

The food was better than I have had at some previous all inclusives, particularly the breakfast. There was a good continental selection along with bacon, sausages, eggs, beans etc if you like your English breakfasts. At lunch and dinner there was a good selection of salads and hot food including pastas, rice dishes, meats and potatoes. The different dishes rotated regularly. We ate out one night to sample something else and there is a god selection of restaurants on your doorstep. You could also have burgers, chips and hot dogs at the pool bar in the daytime. Could not fault the all inclusive drink selection with soft drinks, cruzcampo lager on tap, the 3 different wine colours, Sangria and cocktails. You could pour your own except for the cocktails. There was never a long wait at the bar even at the evenings entertainment.

The animation team were good and put on games around the pool in the day and different shows in the evening. You were never forced to join in which is something that I particularly liked. There was a good mini disco for the kids in the evening followed by a show aimed towards the adults with live singers, quizzes etc.

There are a mixture of nationalities staying at the hotel, the main ones being British, German, French and Dutch. Overall I would recommend this hotel particularly to families but also couples and if I ever returned to Cala D'or I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YNWAJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guests,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel, location,food, drinks, staff and entertainment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff and entertainment team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

went all inclusive great apartment good food and the kids entertainment really made the holiday for our two children my 5year old daughter was really fond of one of the kids entertainers there named nelly who was absolutely great with the kids and she also ran the kids club during the day.also plenty of trips organised from the hotel and a must is the world famous pirate adventure in magaluf great entertainment for the kids and the adults

Room Tip: don't really know about the other rooms but we had a family apartment which was basic but had ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicksull_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guests,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your children loved the entertaiment programme with Nelly. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. We remain with kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was disappointed with the self catering studio accommodation provided as we ended up in the Pins apartments behind reception which seemed of a lower quality than the rest of the complex. Tried to get moved after an infestation of ants in the bathroom & kitchenette but to no avail! SC facilities were poor & what was there was unusable for 3-4 days until the ants were killed. Didn't eat or drink at the complex due to being SC and the abundance of bars/restaurants nearby but I heard good reports about the food. The apartment was only cleaned 3 times a week but towel changes were every day if needed. The main pool area was very busy, with many reserving their sunbeds before going for breakfast - even though there were notices saying not to. The complex is very central for Cala Gran and the pedestrianised area. I would stay there again if I could be guaranteed an apartment in a better part of the complex and I think that the hotel should make it clearer that they provide different standards of accommodation as I only booked with them after seeing the photographs provided to the travel agents

Room Tip: Avoid the Pins block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juttab43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you for your comments valuing the good location of our hotel. We are sorry that you were not informed correctly by your travel agent. The Ariel Chico Club Resorts consists of several different buildings. The frequency of the cleaning depends always on the criteria of the particular tour operator. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. Please contact the recepcion before arrival to reserve the accommodation as desired.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just got back from our stay here and we loved it !

Rooms
were really big and ours was recently refurbished, we were on the ground floor overlooking the road, they were cleaned regularly and our towels changed every day, really nice !

Location
was fantastic and just a short walk to the beach, the hotel has a pool for everyone - 3 smaller ones and one large one so quiet ones and busy ones ! all with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas and we didn't have to get up early to put towels on them like some people have said, a few wasps but this wasn't a worry and they soon buzzed off !

Entertainment
Something on each night and it's typical European type shows which were fine for what they are, lots of other things in the days, I played water polo one day and my fiancée did aqua aerobics loads and loved it ! All the activities are on the board near reception !

Food
This was the best part of his hotel ! And my absolute compliments to the chefs -we have stayed at loads of all inclusive resorts and they can often get very repetitive and often the food isn't that fresh -this wasn't the case here !!! Different choices every lunch and tea all really fresh and well labelled and though through -something for everyone ! Restaurant has three bits so even at the busiest times there is always somewhere to sit, also you can pick your food quick as there are two serving sides, loved all the fresh breads they made each day to and pastries at breakfast and the lovely choices of meats ! Again huge huge huge compliments to the chefs !!!

Drinks
Great choice and not strict if you overfill or take a few glasses at one go like lots of places, main brands in the cost and great times , Oh and the snack bar was good to when we used it -it is a snack bar not a Michelin star restaurant though so be prepared for burgers and chips here ! But still really nice !

Overall
Lovely hotel, great food, great for families , couples and all ages, huge components to he owners ! We are very impressed and will be back,

Thanks !

Room Tip: The rooms near reception have recently been refurbished on ground floor -so if your staying all incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear James,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel, rooms, location, entertainment, food and drinks. We are really pleased that you and your fiancee enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d ' Or and your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.8 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort

Address: Calle Ariel 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £44 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive three-star Club and Resort located in Cala d'Or, in a beautiful and peaceful area just 50 m from the beach. Fully air-conditioned. Large gardens. Reception open 24 hours, bar, pub, TV room, restaurant with buffet serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 Swimming pools with children's area, sun loungers and parasols. Entertainment team with a daily programe for adults and children. Miniclub. Sauna, solarium, table tennis, squash, volleyball, billiards, boccia (some of the a.M. May have a surcharge). Free WiFi Internet access at the lounge. Wifi Internet access available all over the complex, both in public areas as in the rooms with a small surcharge. Comprehends Hotel double rooms as well as 1 bedroom Apartments, 2 bedroom Apartments and also Studios. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with a bathroom, direct dial telephone*, air condition, central heating, safe*, Satelite TV, balcony or terrace (depending on the type of room). The Apartments and Studios, added to the room facilities, they all have an equiped kitchenette with electric rings, a toaster, a kettle and a fridge. A Microwave can also be provided under request. *Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ariel Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ariel Cala d Or
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing