We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a terrible start to the holiday with our flight being cancelled and having a 12 hour delay. We finally arrived at the hotel at 5.30 am, we were greeted by a lovely man who checked us in, also turned on the drinks so we could have a drink. When we got to our room we just put the suitcases down and went to bed. In the morning the room looked clean, had an apartment which was lovely. Had a large balcony which overlooked the park. All the food we had a delicious so much choice and fresh fruit & salad daily. There were a few different pools we only went in 2, which had plenty of loungers available. A few days in the aircon broke in our room, which couldn't be fixed straight away so Cheryl on reception arranged for us to move to a different apartment which overlooked the pool which was also fab. Big thank you to nelly & andy on the animation team who kept my son, niece & nephew entertained for our stay. The area of calad'or was lovely and the bars / restaurants around were great. All in all I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiestockwell2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainment team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again.
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    413
    145
    47
    31
See reviews for
461
330
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After reading the reviews I was expecting a lovely hotel with friendly staff and clean but basic rooms, sadly this was not to be. Booked a twin room as this was mine and a girlie friends 5 day break from the husband and kids, arrived to a queen size double with dirty bedding and broken toilet, went straight to reception to be told there were no other rooms available till tomorrow morning and if we wanted another room we would have to upgrade as there were only one bed apartments left and that was at the cost of 16 euros extra per night, We decided to cut our losses and pay an extra 48 euro in the hope the room would be better.
we didn't unpack but headed to the dining area for lunch as it had just opened after all our faffing, all I can say is the food was inedible with not a lot of choice, there were cold meats cheese and bread, salad, chips always on offer but the other food was like what you would get by the road side of a greasy van . All the drinks are self service from taps with wasps climbing inside the tubes so be careful and look into your plastic glass before you drink. I at one point spilt my drink and was shouted at, yes shouted at for making a mess on the bar! My friend asked the young bar member for lime while he was stood behind the bar and his response was main pool bar this bar closed, she pointed out the lime was behind him to the right and his reply was yes I see but bar closed and walked off, Very rude! Next morning next room was worse, so back to reception it was they couldn't help so we left, I wasn't having my holiday spoilt so we booked and stayed in another hotel we have stayed at three other times,
Also I have stayed at many All Inc and never have they stopped serving drinks at 11.pm with not even a water point left running,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. your suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments.
kind regards
Gavimar Ariel Chico Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days from 16th june. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and couldnt fault it, very spacious with air con in all rooms. We had a few ant infestations but we had insect spray so were able to deal with situation.

This hotel is ideal for families and couples. My little boy is three and he had a ball with his cousins during the day at the pool area and at night at the entertainment area.

Food and drink was fine. Good choice and location ideal. Beautiful beach literally a few mins walk away and plenty of shops all around hotel.

Only negative was that at the side of the main bar there are 2 (1 euro) toy machines for kids. All the kids were obsessed by them. I was standing beside my son whilst he was getting a toy from the machine and when he went to turn the knob the whole machine fell on top of him. It was so heavy that a member of barstaff had to help lift it off him. Both my son and i were very shaken and my sons eye was all cut at the side, which later bruised. 2 bar staff said they would report it to manager as myself and others advised the nachines should be chained orvweighted at the bottom. Days later and machines still not sorted so asked again to be told that the man that maintains them would be coming to fill them on wednesday. I happened to be passing by when he was filling the machine and advised him of what happened. He said he had already been tokd and was cery sorry. I asked if he could ensure they were secured so no other child would be hurt but he shrugged saying he couldnt. This dissapointed me as it would be so easy to fix.
All in all though we had a wonderful holiday and would go back x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlie-pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guests,
we are very happy that you enjoyed a fantastic family holiday at our hotel and thank you very much for the very nice remarks you have made about food, drinks and resort. We are very sorry about the incident with the toy machine and will not hesitate to relate it to our general management. We thank you for your recommendation and send a big hello to your little boy. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again with us here.
our kindest regards
your Gavimar ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here in mid June with my family and young son for 1 week and I have to say it was fantastic. The rooms are basic but very clean with lots of storage space which is important when travelling with toddlers. I can be a fussy eater but the food was excellent with a different selection every day for lunch and dinner. I particularly enjoyed the self service drinks during the day time but it was a nice touch to put proper bar tenders on in the evening. I must make special mention of the entertainment team who worked non stop ensuring that the guests were having fun and making the most of their holiday and my 3 year old especially enjoyed the mini disco every nights at 8pm.
The only negative point is that if you want an early night it can be a bit noisy if you are in one of the rooms on the main road but everything is finished by around 11pm so it's not too bad really. We did have another problem with wasps around the pool but this was caused by spilled drinks and the staff came and hosed down when requested.
The reception staff were also great and I really admired them for swiiching between German, French and English on a regular basis. They are also quite strict about reserving sun beds and keep the locked up until 9am so everybody gets decent spot!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you have little kids to get to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed a fantastic family holiday and thank you ever so much for your very kind remarks about food, drinks, entertainment team and staff in reception. Please say a big hello to your little son who loved the mini-disco.
We would be delighted to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
Our kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your gavimar Ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for 4 days all inclusive. Hotel is in great location, food was plentiful and of a good quality. I am a fussy eater and didn't go hungry and loads of fresh fruit every day (water melon, honeydew, pink grapefruit, apples, bananas, etc.). Drinks were good and you can help yourself to beer, sangria, wine and soft drinks. We had an apartment that slept four and whilst it was basic it was clean and comfortable, air con in the bedroom and we had a large terrace to sit out on if we wanted to. Staff were mostly friendly, one or two grumpy ones but we could live with that. The only thing I can criticise the hotel on was the towels provided in the rooms - they were too small for showering and rather threadbare but other than that nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very nice remarks about the location, food and drinks. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Ariel Chico for 4 nights/ 5 days, all inclusive, for our honeymoon. We stayed in a hotel room on the ground floor. Within 10 minutes of checking in we received a lovely surprise - a bottle of cava and 2 glasses delivered to our room, compliments of the hotel.
Our room was lovely and cool and quiet, despite our terrace overlooking the main road. My hubby and I are vegetarian and although there was more food choices for those who eat meat, we found there to be plenty of choice at mealtimes and our plates were always full!
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and service excellent. Plates were promptly cleared at mealtimes and our room cleaned/ towels replaced frequently.
There are 4 pools within the complex - the larger is quite lively during the day time with water aerobics and polo. The other 3 are smaller, but offer quiet areas to relax and bathe in.
The evening entertainment could be a bit hit and miss for adults but certainly seemed to appeal to kids/ families.
Cala Gran beach is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and can be seen from the on-site mini golf course. Shops, restaurants and bars are also within a short stroll of the hotel, making this a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Be specific about which room you would prefer to stay in e.g. with a pool view as the hotel do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guests,
thank you for having choosen our hotel for your honeymoon. We are very happy that you enjoyed a fantastic holiday with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
Our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked a 4 day all inclusive break last minute and bagged a bargain. Two of us in an apartment for 6. Clean, comfortable bed and pillow, air con, balcony in a quiet spot on the other side of the road from the entertainment. Some furniture dated, but not an issue. Breakfast and lunch ok, but dinner a bit hit and miss. Lovely little beaches close by. Can imagine it would be a different story in peak season but perfect for a June getaway. We were glad we popped into a Spar shop for final directions as the assistant told us where to park for free!

Room Tip: 201 by smaller pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
dear guests,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort

Property: Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Address: Calle Ariel 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive three-star Club and Resort located in Cala d'Or, in a beautiful and peaceful area just 50 m from the beach. Fully air-conditioned. Large gardens. Reception open 24 hours, bar, pub, TV room, restaurant with buffet serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 Swimming pools with children's area, sun loungers and parasols. Entertainment team with a daily programe for adults and children. Miniclub. Sauna, solarium, table tennis, squash, volleyball, billiards, boccia (some of the a.M. May have a surcharge). Free WiFi Internet access at the lounge. Wifi Internet access available all over the complex, both in public areas as in the rooms with a small surcharge. Comprehends Hotel double rooms as well as 1 bedroom Apartments, 2 bedroom Apartments and also Studios. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with a bathroom, direct dial telephone*, air condition, central heating, safe*, Satelite TV, balcony or terrace (depending on the type of room). The Apartments and Studios, added to the room facilities, they all have an equiped kitchenette with electric rings, a toaster, a kettle and a fridge. A Microwave can also be provided under request. *Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ariel Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ariel Cala d Or
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing