We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked this resort for safety and with the hope that there enough to keep myself and teenage daughter happy. This was an excellent choice! The hotel is central without the noise, the rooms are basic but clean, the hotel is kept very clean too. We stayed AI, and I was pleased we had because the cost of eating out was not cheap .The hotel food varied; at times good, great breakfasts, but poor lunches, thank goodness for the snack bar! The staff were extremely hard working, friendly, helpful in particular Abraham,Marilyn,Pablo, with the entertainment team trying so hard too, Stefano and Sylvia were great !
We had a fantastic holiday , in the hotel everyone was very friendly, this was a great mix of French, Dutch, Germany & English, my daughter made lovely friends, and everyone was always friendly.
The Tropical Gardens is a must, such a great place and 5 mins away, tribute acts every night, great atmosphere and an escape from the usual AI nighttime entertainment!
Cala d'or has something for everyone, great shops, lovely restaurants, cafes. The Petit Port - Marina is also a must, it felt like being in Monte Carlo.,
The Cala Gran beach was literally just out of the hotel, it is a small and very busy cove, no personal space at all, but the sea was clear and cool.

The hotel is a little old fashioned, and could do with a make over, especially the public toilets for the pool and bar, simply inadequate and not cleaned enough to service a full hotel.
The pool was fantastic but sadly the actual surrounding space was not spacious so rather cramped, and at times no space between sunbeds.
We still enjoyed this, and would return simply because of the location, and staff who really made a huge effort to ensure you had a good holiday.

Room Tip: Don't get one that overlooks the pool near the dining room, you simply have to have your curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed a great holiday with us and that you would like to return. We are glad you are mentioning the friendliness of our staff (especially Abraham, Marilyn, Pablo) and of our entertainers (Stefano and Sylvia). We will be passing on your praises to all of them. You stayed at the main pool but there are 3 smaller pools with more sunbeds. We thank you for your suggestions for improvements and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. For any further informations or special wishes for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.wgavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this resort because we wanted an easy-going, good value holiday with plenty of things to do for our children, aged 10 and 7. This is exactly what we got, along with pleasant, hard-working staff, a nice environment and everything in easy reach, despite the resort being on two sides of the road. Beaches are near and clean, but small and crowded. We had a couple of quick visits to the nearest, but soon decided that poolside at the hotel was best for us. Food and drink was OK, although I’m not sure vegetarian guests would say the same as choices were very limited for them. There was quick service at the bar and decent, if repetitive snacks throughout the day.

Don’t miss:
- the weekly sangria making workshop;
- the grilled fish at lunch / dinner;
- your chance to get a spot by the pool via the ‘sunbeds at dawn’ self allocation at 9am – in fact, even if you don’t want a sunbed, go and watch the bun-fight anyway;
- the animation team’s cabaret – we thought it was going to be rubbish but in fact they are very funny guys, especially the talented Jerome.

Do miss:
- the draught Sangria (unless an instant headache is part of your holiday plan);
- asking for an early morning alarm call on departure day (they never rang);
- bus transfer to the resort (we were on there for about 2 hours each way; I began to recognise roads we’d been down 20 mins previously – get a private transfer for a few extra quid);
- being near the main pool during volleyball and polo in the afternoon (testosterone-fuelled, uncontrolled mayhem).

We got a really good deal at this resort through EasyJet holidays. As long as you remember that you have booked a 3 star hotel and your expectations match (the facilities don’t pretend to be anything else), this is a good place for a holiday if you have children.

Room Tip: Modernised rooms are on the site across the road from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Ann,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your children loved the activities offered by our entertainment team. We thank you for your kind remarks about the resort, food, drinks, staff and the entertainment team with Jerome. We will be passing on your praises to all of them. We are very sorry that you did not receive the early morning alarm call and will not hesitate to inform the manager of our hotel. We thank you very much for your recommendation and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you and your family once again with us. For any special wishes for a next visit please contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gaimar Ariel Chico team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Ariel Apartments Cala D'Or Majorca. The apartments are conveniently situated near to bars, shops and sandy bays (nearest being Cala Gran approx 2 mins walk away, where you can hire sunbeds, pedalos and even the Starfish boat trip around the coastline). Entertainment is on a nightly basis in one of the hotel bars. It starts with chidren's activities and then moves on to more adult based. I have to say that some of the entertainment was a little "strange" and not really suitable for young children.
If going All Inclusive, the food is excellent and variety of choice possibly too extensive if you are struggling to keep off the pounds!! Staff are generally very friendly, although we did find the manager a little unaccommodating when we asked about a late check out room (which we were "guaranteed" by our tour operator at the time of booking). We were picked up for our return flight at 1.20am but had to check out of our room 11am the previous morning. My husband wasn't feeling well and we had to resort to booking a sunbed under a canopy on the beach so that he could rest. Overall our stay was good and Cala D'Or is a great place to take the family.

Room Tip: Our room was basic, but comfortable. The rooms with balconies are good for sitting out at night time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Tina,
We thank you very much for the kind remarks you have made about location, staff and food. We are very sorry that you could not get a late check out room, but our hotel was completely booked up at this time and there was no vacancy available. We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed a good family holiday and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion. If you need any assistance for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a split site resort with 5 pools and a variety of accommodation and board options. It's very well-located near a sandy but busy cove beach but if you want to stay on-site there are plenty of pools to choose from. Usual issues with towels reserving unused sunbeds despite signs saying don't. The food is fresh and plentiful if a little repetitive and somewhat limited for vegetarians but nobody could possibly go hungry! Unlimited drinks for those on all-inclusive again a bit restricted in choice and the lack of fresh fruit juice was noticeable and disappointing. Our studio apartment was very clean, well appointed, had two balconies and a good powerful shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and although most spoke English better than I do Spanish, they appreciated my efforts at using the local language.

Room Tip: This is several hotels blended into one complex so many different rooms and blocks available. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCZ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you for your very kind review and are very glad to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again. Thank you ever so much for your efforts to speak spanish!
esperemos de volver a verles pronto. if you need any help or if you have special wishes for a next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2wk stay at the Ariel Chico club resort.

The hotel is in an excellent position, only 2 mins walk from the Cala gran beach. Which is lovely for swimming and snorkelling with a beach café. Also you are only 5 mins from the main square of Cala d'or where there are a variety of cafes restaurants and cocktail bars. You will be spoilt for choice.

Also in town there is a childrens play park with Go karts, trampolines and amusements. The Marina is only a short walk away with some lovely restaurants.

The apartments are basic but clean.

The hotel has 4 pools. The main pool is very large with plenty of sunbeds. The other pools are very small and ideal for families with smaller children. We had the usual sunbed issue every morning, the sunbeds were locked up till about 9am so if you wanted a bed you had to be down by the pool by 8.15 to queue.

The food was very good, plenty of variety we always found something we liked. Snacks by the pool side were burgers and toasties. We were surprised that the hotel would not provide a picnic if you were going out on a day trip!!!. A bit annoying.

We did not go to the evening entertainment as we preferred to go down town for drinks and coffee, the Tropical Garden show bar is a good place to go for shows.

To hire a safe it will cost you 3 Euros a day.

Wifi 60 min 2 Euros
day 6 Euros
week 20 Euros

Towel hire 7 Euros

Air conditioning FREE

We thought the wifi a bit expensive but you can go into town to the restaurants and use theirs for free.

All the drinks stop at 11pm. You are not even able to get a glass of water. I think the hotel could have left the drinks machine on for this.

We went on a trip to Aqualand water park. The largest on the island. A coach trip from the hotel costs 43 Euros an adult and 30 euros a child (12 and under). Great park but you did have to queue being August. Take your own picnic as the food and drink is very very expensive.

We were a family of 4 with 2 children age 12 and 14 and we had a fab time. We would definitely return to Cala d'or and the Areil Chico. It is a great family resort with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main pool on the other side of the road from the main reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leekeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guests,
We thank you very much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and Cala d' Or. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider to return. If you need any assistance for a next visit or if you have any special wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us : gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
we are looking forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your gavimar Ariel Chico team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at the hotel and received a warm welcome to the hotel as well as our all inclusive wristbands. On arrival we got a cold dinner that had been prepared for us.

Staff-
All very friendly and welcoming.

Room-
We had a one bedroom studio apartment. It was lovely although we were on the 2nd floor so carrying our bags up with no lift was a little tiring. The room was clean and there were 3 beds- 1 single and 2 pushed together that could easily be parted. The air conditioning was really good and worked perfectly. The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful. Our room had a front facing balcony onto the street and a back facing balcony facing onto the pool. Although we were on the street, it was pretty quiet and unpolluted, however don't expect to sleep on Saturday night as loud local entertainment seemed to go on more a less all night.

Location-
Perfectly located. There were many shops and restaurants within very close walking distance and also a bus and land train stop about 50 M from the hotels' entrance. The beach was very close and it was a nice (sometimes very busy) cove beach where you can relax or do some more extreme cliff jumping or rent a pedlo. The airport transfer on the way to the hotel took a long time as we went via lots of hotels, however on the way back it only took around an hour.

Pools-
There were 4 pools.
The main one was always very busy so we avoided it. All the pools were clean and well kept.
However if you want a sunbed you need to be there as soon as they're unlocked. Although there are signs clearly stating you can't reserve sunbeds, nobody complies and so through most of the day there are many empty sunbeds but people have reserved them with towels so you can't use them.

Food and drink-
The food was standard all inclusive and basic food. It was all well cooked and there was enough of it. There was always a salad bar, a meat option, pasta, chips, lots of bread and desert. It was perfectly fine although it did get a bit repetitive.
The all inclusive drinks were your usual coke cola, fanta, sprite etc, beer, wine, juices and water. These are self service throughout the day and are available until 11pm on an all inclusive basis. The only disappointment with the drinks were the juices. They were very watery and not fresh.

Entertainment-
Every night there was set entertainment on the main stage with lots of seating.
Everyday there was also a day plan of sporting activities. There was also a kids club.

Facilities-
The facilities at the hotel were very basic. There was crazy golf, a very basic gym (for over 18's only), a sauna and I was told there was a tennis court at a neighbouring hotel of which you had to pay for. The facilities disappointed me a bit considering what I'd read was at the hotel on a website before booking.

Internet-
Wifi cost €20 for a week.
The wifi was very temperamental as to when and where I'd work around the hotel.

Other-
There needs to be some designated smoking areas as when you are trying to relax by the pool it isn't nice getting a face full of cigarette smoke.

Overall we had a really pleasant stay here and i'd recommend it to families to stay here. We'd happily come back to this hotel in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank KateCzylok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kate,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We thank you for your recommendation to families and the very kind remarks you have made about location, staff, room , food and entertainment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you consider to come back. If you need any assistance for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar ariel Chico Team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a great family holiday in this lovely hotel, a stone's throw from a beautiful beach, in the great resort of Cala d'Or. The staff were all very helpful, especially the entertainment crew who were ever friendly, smiley and full of energy and fun. The restaurant, bar, pool and entertainment areas were all clean, safe, modern, light and airy, and the food was absolutely fabulous - we couldn't get enough of it and were often up for seconds and thirds. I highly recommend this hotel to families - it was excellent value, especially for the very reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank teachermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks that you have made about our hotel, friendly staff, good food and entertainers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed a fabulous family holiday with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you once again on another occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have special wishes for a next visit<. gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
thanks for your recommendation ,hope to see you soon again
your Gavimar Ariel Chico Team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort

Address: Calle Ariel 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £54 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive three-star Club and Resort located in Cala d'Or, in a beautiful and peaceful area just 50 m from the beach. Fully air-conditioned. Large gardens. Reception open 24 hours, bar, pub, TV room, restaurant with buffet serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 5 Swimming pools with children's area, sun loungers and parasols. Entertainment team with a daily programe for adults and children. Miniclub. Sauna, solarium, table tennis, squash, volleyball, billiards, boccia (some of the a.M. May have a surcharge). Free WiFi Internet access at the lounge. Wifi Internet access available all over the complex, both in public areas as in the rooms with a small surcharge. Comprehends Hotel double rooms as well as 1 bedroom Apartments, 2 bedroom Apartments and also Studios. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated with a bathroom, direct dial telephone*, air condition, central heating, safe*, Satelite TV, balcony or terrace (depending on the type of room). The Apartments and Studios, added to the room facilities, they all have an equiped kitchenette with electric rings, a toaster, a kettle and a fridge. A Microwave can also be provided under request. *Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ariel Hotel Cala d`Or
Aparthotel Ariel Cala d Or
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing