We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star”
Review of Hotel Cala Ferrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I were very disappointed with this hotel. It is very old and in much need of updating. The lounge and bar area is very dismal and dark and not a nice environment to sit and have a drink, so we had to go out every night into Cala D'Or which was lovely. The bedrooms are passable but very dated. Although we had a sea view and the view was beautiful, the hotel is in a gorgeous spot but in much need of a face lift. Not much entertainment at night and pool area poor. All in all very disappointed and NOT 4".

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    259
    168
    57
    70
See reviews for
229
268
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We as a family of 12 stayed here oct 2013 mixed ages from 8-65 n we ad a terrible week!
Rooms wher bunk beds n 2 single beds not good either, food was ok plenty of choice snack bar was open all day but food was left ther till stale not changed unless u say so staff ignorant n hated us!!! crazy family we got called and that was the first night!!! Location was nice but the hotel opposit over the water looked more our scene with a night club, pool was freeeeezing n I mean cold we went in once in the 12 days ther n it was a hot day n still too cold the sea was warmer I must admit!!!!! if u want a family holiday n to av fun don't go here they don't like noise at all and u get kicked out the bar area at 12.30pm wher then u made ur own fun but it was wrong if you did, entertainment was Shocking at evening we ended up at the bar at end of street with live acts on every night that was great, my nan took ill and we was taken in the worst ambulance ride in the world to a PRIVATE hospital more than 45 mins away so incase of emergencies good luck with that, Complaints after complaints all week oh ye and if u av dyed hair DO NOT USE HOTEL TOWELS ON IT !!! I got in trouble for hair dye on the towels !!!!!! To be honest we wouldn't return here again hotel itself was lovely too many stairs to get to pool area though. Nice area of cala dor though just not nice staff in the hotel x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from an all inclusive 5 day trip to this hotel. Having read previous reviews I was rather dubious, but I can say we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would certainly return. The location is fantastic, just a few steps away from the sandy beaches and coves which are beautiful. It is also a very short walk into town. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the food of a good standard for the price we paid. The white wine, cava and beer we drank were very pleasant although I can't vouch for the red or rose wines. Cocktails were from a machine and not wonderful.
We always managed to find a sunbed, although the pool and terrace were on the small side. Make sure when you book, your accommodation voucher says "sea view", as our travel company let us down by not providing what we booked, and we had a lot of hassle to get a sea view as the hotel was nearly full.
All inclusive finishes at 11pm which caught us by surprise when we came back from evenings out listening to live music. Drinking water is provided during the day in plastic cups, but there is a charge for filling your own bottle up, and we couldn't get water after 11pm.
Fresh fruit and salads were plentiful at all meals, and there were 3 or 4 choices of meat/fish dishes provided. However nothing was cooked to order in front of you, a service we have had in other buffet type hotels. It was a good 3* hotel and does not profess to be 4* as some of our travel agents claim it to be. Beach/pool towels are not provided but are quite cheap to buy. (5
euros) Wifi is not free anywhere in hotel and costs 20euros per week.

Room Tip: High up with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here in 2 single rooms with my Brother and was very surprised how nice the Hotel was,a lot better than we expected.
We had booked bed and breakfast and you couldn't fault it, a choice of everything you could wish for and the restaurant area clean and tidy.
The pool area was adequate, with the beach just a few steps away.
Single rooms had two beds in and were of a reasonable size with balcony, good bathroom with a nice little shower.
The single rooms are at the front of the Hotel and the view is not bad you can just see the sea to the left and the hills to the right.
As the rooms have no air conditioning I slept with the balcony door open most of the night and as with other reviews the room is noisy, with music from other Bars and Guests arriving during the night.
The staff on the desk were very helpful although they may seem a little reserved at first.
My only criticism of the room would of been the glasses in the bathroom had not been cleaned and although I would not normally use them they were still encrusted in toothpaste.
I have been to this resort around 7 times going back to 1988 when my children were young, and have stayed in villas the last few years with my Wife and Daughter and Grandchildren.
The resort is very family orientated and I have been fortunate not to have seen any problems and feel it is a safe place to go to.
It is a very clean place with many bars and restaurants, including Burger King if you so desire (I had one).
I did feel that when you sat down for a drink, that the Bars mainly expected you to order food and only being two of us would of rather had a family sitting at the table especially in the evening.
I always asked for a large beer and the price ranged from 2.95 euros to 6.50, sometimes changing price in the same bars, I think it can depend on the time of day or wether you are eating.
I once had to pay 6.5 euros for a large fanta, so parents beware, drink prices do not seem to be advertised much nowadays.
We stayed for 8 nights and ate out each day for lunch and dinner and while most meals were passable the food was never very hot and not that cheap.
That said I would definitely consider going back to this Hotel and staying fully inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank tony1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from an all inclusive week at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is spotless and the food is excellent. I challenge anyone to be unable to find something they like to eat. My husband loved the salads which look amazing with lots of choice. Every day we had a different menu and I also loved the desserts. The service in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms are not air-conditioned but in June this wasn't a big issue and we were able to get a through draught of air because there were open windows in the corridors.The lifts are old and only take one command at a time which can result in it not stopping at your floor, however they are well maintained. The drinks choice is good unless you only want named brands which you have to pay for. The beer on tap at lunch and dinner is good. The hotel was not full and so the pool and sunbeds were adequate. The location is superb and we loved sitting on the balcony looking over the sea. There is only one thing that annoyed us.The entertainment in the hotel next door was outside and was very loud and dominated the outside space for several hours until 11.30pm.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmarydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first all inclusive holiday,this was selected because our 8yr. old grand-daugher would enjoy self service drinks ,meals and snacks.,plus childrens club.
This holiday was fantastic value, food catered for a variety of tastes.
During our 9 nights stay every member of staff gave 100% plus exras.
Thank you Cala Ferrera.
Carol and Mike.
V

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked this hotel for an all inclusive holiday but were disappointed to find that anything other than food seemed to be chargeable. The drinks package was abysmal, whilst they advertise that the package is until midnight they actually stopped serving at 11.00 p.m. and when it was available the quality of the drinks, both soft and alcoholic was dire. As most things close down in Cala Ferrara at 11.00 it was then impossible to get a nightcap before bed back at the hotel. The hotel also advertise that the rooms have air conditioning which we were prepared to pay extra for on arrival only to be told that there is no airconditioning other than in the restaurant. The holiday was also advertised with free Wi Fi available at the hotel, reality is that it is again chargeable and such a slow connection that it wasn't worth bothering with.

If it was possible to charge extra for something they would, anything at all! One guest was even charged extra to receive a fax detailing the flight changes when the air strike was ongoing!!!

However, having said all that the hotel itself is ok in every other aspect. The food was fair for an all inclusive package, the hotel was clean but tired and the maids did clean the rooms daily. The staff were mostly friendly although some were very curt. All in all we had a very good stay but were very disappointed with the money grabbing tactics used.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room as all the others are pretty poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Ferrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Ferrera

Property: Hotel Cala Ferrera
Address: Avenida Felanitx s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Ferrera 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cala Ferrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Ferrera Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala Ferrera d Or
Hotel Cala Ferrera Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing