We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
759
433
134
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
759
433
134
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis clubthomson goldthomson repsgold hotelalter egoapple crumblecala egosresident bandgarden areaevening entertainmentolder generationsuperior roomaverage agehead waiterage groupolder guestslovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,048 - 1,053 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Sadly, the weather was very iffy. We were at the Rocamarina for just a week, 14th -- 21st May, as we were in the middle of selling our house and packing for the move, but most of the time is was cloudy and cool, sometimes with showers or heavy rain, and only occasionally with blue skies and sunshine. We had previously stayed here in 1999 and had good memories of the hotel and resort -- we rarely go back to the same place, preferring to visit new places.

The staff were brilliant and our room was spotless, well equipped and comfortable, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly -- couldn't fault them. The evening entertainment was excellent -- a good laugh, excellent singing and music.

Some of the food was excellent -- wonderful choice of fruits and cooked food for breakfast, and the cold hors d'oeuvres at dinner were delicious. But some of the main courses were luke warm and very bland. I had cod in batter one night -- the cod was full of bones, the batter soggy, the chips and vegetables were soggy and luke warm and the plates were cold. Food cooked to order was a different matter -- well cooked and hot, but of course you had to queue for that!

A final gripe was that use of the internet and wifi was charged for -- everywhere we go these days there's free wifi, even in a third world place like Goa. We could get free wifi in some of the cafes and restaurants nearby, but not in the Rocamarina! We needed to check progress with our house sale and purchase, so we needed to use email and the internet quite often. The management could offer this as a free service for all their customers!

OK, so we were unlucky with the weather, and had a few gripes about the food and lack of free wifi, but we did enjoy our stay, and would recommend the Rocamarina to couples without children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband has visited Cala D'or/ Cala Egos since he was a teenager and now 31 wanted to show me how much of a beautiful place it is to holiday.

I was stunned, after being used to the greek islands, I noticed how pretty and clean everything is in Majorca.

The Hotel was beautiful, everything was spotless. The staff were so friendly and would go out of their way to help you.

The only downside was the uncontrolled queuing for sunbeds first thing in the morning. There was a barrier which meant no reserving and this was opened at 9am each morning which meant everyone pushed and shoved to get a bed.. I was very surprised no one was hurt during this, good job we could have a giggle between ourselves though..

The food was gorgeous, not once did we not find anything we didn't like. My husband tried a bit of the famous curries each night and loved them, I did the same with the bread & butter pudding :)

The rooms were spotless and nice and roomy, couldn't ask for more..

The bits of entertainment we saw were brilliant but being a younger couple we ventured out into Cala D'or on most nights which is what I loved the most. The marina was stunning and nothing I'd seen before.

All in all was a perfect holiday and I would love to go back... :)

If I can help with any further questions, please feel free to contact me

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livelylinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just returned from Calor d'Or Mallorca, Hotel Rocamarina excellent hotel for the fun loving couples no children in a nice location close to shops, bars and eateries although every thing is catered for on the food and drink side, entertainment second to none we were there 10 nights only seen one act twice staff pleasent and hard working rooms nice and spacious. Swimming nice size and plenty of sun beds also plenty of outside table and chairs.

Room Tip: all the corriders were carpeted so no noisey stillettos clomping by your room silent closing doors (how nice)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoventryTrevorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We arrived at the Hotel around 2130 hrs after a delay at Palma airport .we were allocated a quiet ground floor room overlooking a pleasant courtyard garden.We were about to unpack our cases when a knock at the door revealed a waiter with a tray inc bread rolls cold meat and cheeses just what the doctor ordered after our travels from Scotland .In the morning when we arrived at the dining room we were greeted and allocated a table for the duration of our stay .The food was excellent with a great choice of hot and cold food a great variety to satisfy all tastes this included the evening dinner which was of the same high standard .The entertainment was great with Issy and Mike doing a great job both during the day at the poolside and evening cabaret shows.This is our third Gold Hotel we have visited and we would rate it the best .All the staff were great and we are back home having had a most relaxing holiday.
John & Joyce Fife Scotland
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our third stay at the Rocamarina and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Cala Egos is a lovely peaceful resort with a couple of small coves/beaches and only a short walk to the Cala D'or Marina. There's a mini train/local service bus during the day and a good taxi service (only 5-6 euros depending on the time of day) in to the centre of Cala D'or.
The hotel itself is very good - nice size rooms, flat screen tvs (plenty of English channels), nice pool and garden area. It was early season so plenty of sun beds/umbrellas available - this is not always the case in the main season.
You are allocated a table in the restaurant for the whole of your stay so no hunting around for tables. The food is brilliant - loads of choice at both breakfast and dinner.
The Thomson reps, Gold Team Entertainers, Resident Duo are all on hand to help/answer any queries and there is a professional show most evenings. The majority of the hotel staff speak good English and are friendly, polite and helpful. Its a family run hotel and it shows. Lots of people return year on year. We will probably go back but like to see other places too. Adults only hotel so if you want a break from the kids/grandchildren its ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheBradfordBentleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews