We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveller rating
757
429
134
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
757
429
134
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis clubthomson goldthomson repsgold hotelalter egoapple crumblecala egosresident bandgarden areaevening entertainmentolder generationsuperior roomaverage agehead waiterage groupolder guestslovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We've just returned from a 7 day holiday at this hotel & can't wait to go again! This is a comfortable, clean & friendly hotel in a beautiful location. The evening entertainment was a little 'old' for us but never the less very well done, we made the most of the location & went for some lovely walks in the evenings. The staff are very friendly, there was no problem getting sunbeds, excellent breakfast, evening meals a little bit boring but well cooked & lunch time snacks very good. Highlight of the week was Izzy's Splash dance - very funny!

Room Tip: If you like to go to sleep early ask for a room away from the pool area as the entertainment goes on until quite late at night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

After just reading some reviews i think we must have been in a different hotel,The rocamarina we stayed in was fantastic, staff were all very nice, rooms were spotless and furnished to a high standard. The food was really good PLENTY to choose from always hot food cooked on front of you was excellent e.g. anything ranging from fish to meat chicken prawns etc also all the meats carved for you were good, good and varied selection of veg & potatoes,not to mention the other dishes that were available e.g. casseroles, fish,paellea,salads oh & the indian curries are a must. oh forgot to mention breakfast what can i say if you could'nt find anything you liked then i'm afraid there's something wrong with you even the jams & marmalades were homemade. Pool area was nice as was the garden never had a problem getting a sunbed. Went to tennis club one day nice & relaxing also had a lovely lunch there. Did,nt stay in much for entertainment as we like to wander a few nice bars near by.Also went into cala'dor one night only 5euro's in taxi lots of nice bars if your looking for a change.Went on trip to puerto pollensa good day out nice market i'm not really into markets but this one was nicely set out around all the little windey streets.Also enjoyed Palma.Only fault i can think to mention is it was'nt long enough! P.S we had plenty english channels on t.v can'nt wait to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 0014 on the bottom,only down side did'nt get much sun on balconey was'nt a problem as we were'nt in room much ,very peaceful & quiet for a good nights sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shauna662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 days to 4 June this year. We didn't know what Thompson Gold meant and from some reviews we didn't expect much. We were so wrong, the hotel was excellent, the Staff brilliant and the food (and I am a big eater) fantastic and plentiful. We got from previous reviews that the dining room supervisor was a bit of a sergeant-major....not at all what a really nice man...on his day off things were not as well organised, staff tried but it was not as well co-ordinated, he was always courteous and very pleasant. The young man who cooked eggs was friendly and always smiling...Diego who was a barman/waiter both down the Cove and in the bar/lounge was brilliant, The room cleaners were so pleasant and willing to help, we had a thoroughly great holiday and would certainly go again. I would encourage people to spend their holiday here, the only 'down' side was the transfer from Palma airport to the hotel..(2 and half hours and we were the last stop) but that had nothing to do with the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel provides all you need from your summer holidays. An exceptional family run organisation that provides that homely feeling that one craves for while away.
Management and staff are very efficient, dedicated in their work, everything is done to ensure that guests remember their stay at the Rocamarina.
The hotel is spotless throughout; this will be the cleanest hotel you will have stayed in.
There is nothing to complain about the food, always plenty of choice, very well cooked.
In the outside grounds there are plenty of new sunbeds around the swimming pool and in the gardens.
We can well recommend the bar menu for lunches and snacks in the hotel bar.
Across the way at the Tennis Bar also provides a very good menu both at lunch time and in the evening, a very tranquil area to relax in.
Although reading some reviews there are various comments stating that this hotel is for the older age group, I have to disagree as there were younger age groups why we stayed.
The resident duo Vegas who are very professional have a very varied portfolio of songs, any requests asked for are sung, some of the arrangements played are very impressive. It certainly made the Thomson hosts job much easier, credit must be given as everything was always organised.
The highlights of acts that were also on are an Il Divo tribute act called Anchora, Steve Salter comedian, Graham Powell singer, and the Thomson touring production team that are on three times within a fortnight.
It is not surprising after visiting the Rocamarina to see how many repeat guests that return each year.
We hope to return in the future after this enjoyable holiday which ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank central123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area of Cala d'Or but a room overlooking the pool means excessive noise from the evening entertainment until midnight! A superior room is a must but the large bed is still very hard and a good nights sleep is hard to come by unless your home mattress is like an ironing board!
The food is good and selection is varied. The staff in the dining room are good and helpful but a credit account is a must to avoid having to pay for drinks in the dining room and at the bar.
The pool was unheated and very cold in early June but at least the hotel at this time is not overcrowded and some sunbeds and loungers and still available without the usual rush and towel bagging!
Most people are over 65 but we did not find this a problem as we qualify.
Overall a good friendly clean hotel but we have stayed in better four star hotels.

Room Tip: Superior room a must but avoid overlooking pool unless entertainment noise is not a problem to you.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews