We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rocamarina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala d'Or
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rocamarina
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went last September and had a superb time. Good rooms, pool, location, entertainment and food. Just a thoroughly good place. And the weather was fantastic too! What more could you ask. I know, no towels on sunbeds! Well done Rocamarina for policing the sunbeds properly!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    325
    106
    30
    15
See reviews for
130
787
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited in May 2014. Hotel was really good, spotless, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was excellent with great variety and Raul was very professional and accommodating. Short walk to small but pretty beach. Hotel caters very much to an older clientelle but does it very well. Not situated in centre of cala D'Or which we didn't realise but there are shops, restaurants and bars around the Main Street. Cala D'Or centre is about a half hour walk, through a gorgeous marina with lots of bars and restaurants. Hotel is hard to beat, we would have preferred to be closer to the town centre, but we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Limited sea view rooms, which overlook pool. Majority of rooms are towards the back looking into ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in May for 9 nights. Two days we had rain the rest of the time it was sunny and around mid 20's. Very pleasant with a cooling sea breeze.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Thompson Gold team were enthusiastic, but not too pushy, Natalie was an outstanding host.

The food was excellent, each night there was a selection of pre prepared food and meat/fish to be cooked fresh. I am a fussy eater, I always found something to eat and ate different food every evening. We chose to have a table outside, if you chose this option you had the choice of two sittings, 6.30 or 8pm. Breakfast was the usual affair of English and continental dishes. Freshly cooked eggs, omelettes and pancakes.

Don't worry about packing beach towels, these are provided for a 3€ deposit. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool, on the sun deck and in the garden. You would always find beds regardless of the time of day. The pool was very cold but did warm up towards the end of our stay, the hotel had only been open for the season for 3 weeks. There was waiter service around the pool, thank you to Antonio and Diego.

The entertainment was ok, but we have seen better. The resident duo played each evening, John was a very good musician and friendly. Alternate evenings the Thompson show team provided the entertainment, this was generally not to our taste. The professional acts were better. The drink prices were fairly comparable with English prices and the local bars, although the cocktails in the hotel were expensive, small and not very strong.

The hotel room (108) overlooked a small enclosed garden area. Nice quiet room. The room was very comfortable, had an excellent shower, was a good size and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The cleaners never stopped! The only downside was the safety deposit box being in reception rather than in your room.

The beach was a short stroll across the road through the tennis club. Behind the hotel there was a selection of bars and restaurants if you fancied a change. The 20 minute walk to the marina was well worth it to see all the yachts and boats, also there were bars/restaurants here worth a lunch stop.

We went into the main resort of Cala D'Or one evening, typical Majorcan resort with a larger section of bars and eateries.

We spoke with a number of returning guests, and it is easy to see why people do return year after year. All in all a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask to overlook the inner garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TheSimpsons13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Trip Advisor - Rocamarina Hotel

This is a lovely, lovely family run hotel within a stones throw of a beautiful secluded beach and cove. I can fully understand why my wife wanted to return for her 2nd visit and my in laws for their 11th visit in June. The hotel has been owned and run for decades by a Spanish family and is occupied predominantly by Thomson Gold customers, ensuring a child free, cordial and pleasant environment of mainly retirement aged cliental.

LOCATION

The hotel is situated in the quieter part of Cala D'or in an area called 'Es Forti' (The Fort) due to their being small historical fort on the peninsular of the bay which the hotel overlooks. The beach and small secluded cove is absolutely idyllic. The beach is incredibly clean and the water is crystal clear. There is a small beach bar and restaurant where you can grab a lunch time snack.

The centre of Cala D'or is a nice 15 minute stroll away and is full of boutique shops, car rental offices, supermarkets and restaurants. However, there is a smaller shopping area at the rear of the Rocamarina hotel where you can find bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets etc.

HOTEL

The hotel is quite possibly one of the cleanest hotels I have every stayed in. The bedroom was a reasonable size with a flatscreen TV, small fridge and a nice bathroom. However, the hairdryer wasn't that strong so you may want to take your own if this is important to you.

Note - There are no safety deposit boxes in the room, but one can be hired for about €13 per week and they are situated next to the hotel reception.

The hotel includes a small conservatory with sofas and large TV, which is always full with people following a key premier football match etc. A nice lobby with seating, entertainments area leading on to a bar/lounge area. There is also seating on the patio outside overlooking the pool and a second bar/restaurant over the road at the Rocamarina tennis club.

The lobby, entertainments area and bar are all open plan so it is very difficult to escape the evenings entertainment if you want to sit and have a quite drink, unless you go outside.

Wi Fi

Only available in the lobby/reception area and you need to request a new login and password each day (not sure why)

PRICES

Hotel prices were reasonable and what I expected for a hotel. A pint of beer was €4, spirits were also about €4 and a bottle of house wine €13.

Prices at the outdoor patio bar restaurant were also very good value for money. A 12" baguette with salad and crisps was only €4, and my wife and I would share one as this was sufficient for us at lunchtime.

Note - the hotel operate a charge card scheme, but it was not widely promoted and we only discovered it half way through out stay. These can be obtained at reception and allow you to charge all drinks to your room, which you settle on checkout.

STAFF

Very friendly, helpful and presentable. They really made us feel welcome.


ENTERTAINMENT

The resident duo (Helen and John) were very good, so too were the Thomson entertainment team. There was a daily 4 o'clock quiz for a bit of light fun by the pool, an evening quiz in the bar area, followed by bingo and then the resident duo who preceded the 10pm performance. This included performances such as an Elvis tribute singer and ABBA tribute band. Overall, these performances were good, but some of them not to my personal taste as they were aimed at a slightly older audience.

FOOD & DRINK

The restaurant is buffet service and we felt that it was very good. My only criticisms is that not enough traditional Spanish dishes were available and that it was catering too much to an older British generation of guests by offering full English breakfasts and classic British deserts such as apple crumble and custard etc. I appreciate this is a matter of personal taste and other than this the food was very good for buffet food.

Breakfast included everything from a full English, to fresh fruit, toast, choice of breads, cheeses, cold meats, porridge, fantastic fresh pastries and homemade yoghurt.

Evening meal always had a curry on offer as two of the chefs were Indian, Aside from this there was a variety of dishes throughout the week from paella, stews, grilled, fish, soup, pasta and different meat dishes. I particularly enjoyed the freshly grilled sea bass cooked in front of you. There was also a great choice of salads available with some delicious dressings.

Across the road from the hotel is the Rocamarina Tennis Club Bar & Restaurant if you want something other than buffet food. You do have to pay for this.

The wine & drinks choice was very good, and (as mentioned) reasonable prices for a nice bottle of Spanish Rioja. I discovered that the bar offered 4 traditional spanish beers called Sangra €2.85 for a 330ml bottle These were delicious and a MUST try if you like things like wheat beers, IPA (7.2% abv) or Blonde beers etc.

More info here http://www.iberianbeerunited.com/

CONCLUSION

I will definitely be returning to this hotel and would rate it 8.5 out of 10. It is a superb hotel, with great staff, in a lovely location and we had a great time.

I would have rated it higher if;

1. There was more traditional spanish food in the buffet.
2. Perhaps an a la carte tapas restaurant.
3. Coffee and tea making facilities in the bedroom
4. An area to sit and have a quiet drink in side away from the entertainment and TV room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank chezkeightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at hotel superior room a must, they look onto pool and sea.Room very spacious and clean.stayed beginning of may for one week.food excellent staff so friendly lovely location beautiful harbour will certainly be going back. alan london. . .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here from the 6th to the 13th May, we asked for a quiet room on a high floor and that is exactly what we got, the rooms are a great size with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space with plenty of hangers, the hotel is spotless everywhere, all the staff are lovely, the maître d was very efficient but miserable, he never spoke or even made eye contact with us although he seemed to with returning guests, apart from him everyone was smiley very efficient and very friendly.
The food is really really good, loads of choice and delicious. The entertainment is fantastic, the best I have ever seen and we are really well travelled, there are plenty of English TV channels if that is what you want, the hotel is in a very nice area with shops and restaurants close by, we took the mini train to Cala do'r plenty of nice shops, bars and restaurants and walked back which took about 20 mins, the pool area has loads of space we usually used the solarium the beds are much more comfy, this is a fabulous hotel and as it's a Thomson gold it does attract an older generation, there were some younger guests there as well but the entertainment is very varied and something for everyone, we had a fantastic holiday and although we have stayed in some great hotel we never return but we will make an exception in this case and we will definitely return and we are looking to book already. It's fantastic.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room the rooms overlooking the gardens are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank dexter0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Turned up for dinner first night in tailored shorts and nice flip flops only to be told you need trousers for dinner.so every night after I turned up in old jeans and trainers which appeared to be OK. IF I had turned up in July I would not have had any trousers and nowhere did it say dress up for dinner when I booked. It is Majorca not the Ritz. Also it is the 2014 not the 1950's. Also allocating a table for your whole stay felt like school . also be careful when ordering drinks as you get interrogated if they think you haven't paid,the senior staff need some lessons in manners and customer services and need reminding that we the guests are the customers. The waiters,waitresses and chefs are fantastic. Also I took my tennis racquet to play at the hotel courts but I would have had to be here many years ago. No nets,no fencing and weeds growing through the court surface. I did complain to the Thomson rep on all these points but I had smoke blown up my backside. As a 42 year old I felt it was very much Thomson old not gold and Thomson have lost a customer who hopefully has lots of holidays ahead. We will avoid this hotel and Thomson gold holidays until my dying day. A week at any hmp is more appealing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamarina

Property: Hotel Rocamarina
Address: Avenida Forti 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rocamarina 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Rocamarina Cala d Or
Rocamarina Hotel Cala d Or
Hotel Rocamarina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing