We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Review of Hotel Rocamarina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala d'Or
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rocamarina
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After many visits to the Rocamarina my wife and myself tell our friends that the Hotel is SIMPLY THE BEST in all aspects - cleanliness,food, entertainment and first and foremost - the staff!!
From the Head Waiter to one of your new waiters - Felipe. they were all STB

Thank you Thomsons for a wonderful holiday - we`ll be back!

Norman and Mary Woods, Lanark, Scotland

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best, with Pool Views etc. Unfortunately we couldn`t get one this year, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank normarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

First the positives - very clean hotel and the food was excellent - in fact it was better than most other 4 star hotels I've stayed at. Staff are very helpful, pleasant and courteous. The Thomson reps always seemed to be available and did a great job.

The negatives for me were that this hotel is mainly for the older generation with regular entertainment for that era. On your first trip to the dining room you're given the choice of eating either outside on the terrace or indoors and once you've selected your preference it's very difficult to change your mind. We wanted to eat outdoors at breakfast and eat indoors in the evening when it was a little chilly, and although the Maître de was accommodating, we got the impression that we were messing up his very organised roster.

Wifi was also a problem. You had to get a new password every day though I believe this has now been changed to weekly. Wifi was always losing connection and you had to keep logging in. There's no wifi in the rooms, only in public areas and you're not allowed to get your password before 8am.

There's a nice little lounge area with a large screen TV but the hotel guests are not allowed to change channels - you have to ask a member of the reception team.

Having said all that we spent a most enjoyable week but I don't think I would stay there again although I would recommend to others who I know would enjoy such a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

brilliant hotel . everything you could wish for on a budget. only downside was the cattle drive in the morning to get a sunbed by the pool. why do people act like children when the majority are senior citizens. beautiful location especially the harbour and the small resort of cala egos caters for everything you need

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank monty1252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

my wife and i stayed at the rocamarina in may for 1week.easy to see why this is a thompson gold hotel.the staff are very friendly and helpful.hotel is very clean and bright.our bedroom was cleaned every day,and clean towels provided whenever we requested them.choice of food in the dining room was excellent,as was the service.the bedrooms are a good size,with plenty of wardrobe space.evening entertainment in the hotel was better than most hotels we have stayed in.the thompsons reps in the hotel do a great job of keeping guests entertained,and getting to know you. the hotel is in a great location,just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful marina.resort centre is a 20 minute walk from the hotel,but we didn't find this a problem.a taxi to the resort centre is 6 euros.there are a few local bars and restaurents just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.if you want a nice friendly bar with good entertainment then try betty's bar,5 minutes from the hotel.leanne who owns the bar has a fantastic voice.we were made very welcome by leanne and her friendly efficient bar staff.overall this is a fantastic hotel and resort.we will certainly be going back again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: superior rooms overlook the pool.we stayed in 215 which was around the side of the hotel,good suntra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ronniefirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel was excellent The staff were brilliant and very friendly and helpful. Any small problems were sorted out immediately. The food choice was very good and varied. The only small concern was the internet connection was intermittent. This affected not only us but also the thomson reps who were excellent and very friendly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went last September and had a superb time. Good rooms, pool, location, entertainment and food. Just a thoroughly good place. And the weather was fantastic too! What more could you ask. I know, no towels on sunbeds! Well done Rocamarina for policing the sunbeds properly!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited in May 2014. Hotel was really good, spotless, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was excellent with great variety and Raul was very professional and accommodating. Short walk to small but pretty beach. Hotel caters very much to an older clientelle but does it very well. Not situated in centre of cala D'Or which we didn't realise but there are shops, restaurants and bars around the Main Street. Cala D'Or centre is about a half hour walk, through a gorgeous marina with lots of bars and restaurants. Hotel is hard to beat, we would have preferred to be closer to the town centre, but we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Limited sea view rooms, which overlook pool. Majority of rooms are towards the back looking into ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#23 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamarina

Address: Avenida Forti 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rocamarina 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Rocamarina Cala d Or
Rocamarina Hotel Cala d Or
Hotel Rocamarina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing