We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a superb location with many positives.”
Review of Hotel Rocamarina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala d'Or
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rocamarina
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our first visit to the Rocamarina but certainly not the last.
Major positive having the same table as long as you get on with close neighbours!! Which we did, smashing 85 and 84 years old.
Major negative was 'Without Doubt'. Without doubt this couple have not yet decided whether they want to be poor comedians or average singers!!
Agree with previous comments that the method of choosing your evening meal proved somewhat difficult. Shame the show cooking area couldn't have been away from already cooked meals.
Nevertheless, an excellent holiday and we will return.

Room Tip: 223 was very quiet with sun on balcony from 2.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have just returned from a week at this hotel with husband. First hotel we have been to and there
was not a cold buffet laid on for a late arrival, 11 pm. Made a coffee in room, faulty kettle,result burnt hand with blisters. Food not very good quality and and very repetitive. Lived on salad most of the holiday. If you want a decent meal go to the Tenis Club. Waiter gave our bottle of wine to our neighbouring table, although it was clearly marked with our table no. and then gave us their 1/4 full bottle.

Allocation of tables chaos, if you sit on the terrace you have your breakfast there but not at your allocated table, if its full tough, you have to queue and wait for a table to be given to you inside.

Wanted bingo tickets one night, on sale from 8.00pm to 8.30 pm. Rep still not ready at 8.10pm
went back during my dinner at 8.35pm and told you can't have any its past 8.30. Were they busy, NO sitting behind a pillar having a drink, so much for customer service.

Being diabetic zero sugar drinks should be readily available. Your options diet coke or water.
After complaining they got in some Fanta zero's. No puddings available for diabetics

Room was clean, Beds hard and uncomfortable, pillows long bolsters with not much to them.

We had a taxi transfer, on return to airport we had to wait outside the hotel. The taxi driver was
not allowed inside the hotel, thankfully it was not raining.

My husband and i have been to many Gold hotels and this one so far has been the worst. The location is lovely but that is far and away its only good attribute.

Room Tip: Had an upgrade room booked this was fine, but if your an early to bed person can be noisy due to roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellierose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

got home on the 29/5 after two weeks of bieng spoiled, best hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff were brilliant ( each and every one of them) they looked after us so well, the food was excelent,so much choice,well cooked and presented with flair,the rooms very clean and spacios, the cakes and pastries to die for, we highly reccomend a holiday with the rocamarina, so much so we are going back september ( my husband ray does'nt know yet ho! ho! )

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise, upgraded rooms above the entertainment so a bit noisy till 11ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights at the Hotel Rocamarina and really enjoyed our first visit there. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Cleanliness everywhere was excellent. No charge for the fridge in the room and safety deposit boxes worked out approx 2euros a day. In the dining room we were allocated the same table for breakfast and evening meal throughout our stay which was a good idea. The choice of food was varied, plentiful and of a high standard as you would expect of Thomson Gold. We had a chicken baguette each at lunch time and they were enormous, best to have one and share. We were disappointed after having taken our travel kettle, to read in the information leaflet in the room stating we were unable to use it?? The evening entertainment at the hotel was well attended but was a little too loud for us. Not a lot going on in this resort , more of a relaxing holiday but there are some lovely walks if you feel up to it. The Noddy Train is well worth 2euros into nearby Cala D'or which takes about 20minutes. We enjoyed a walk after our evening meal with a stop at Tony's Bar for coffee and brandy. In the pedestrian walkway across from Tony's Bar a kiosk sells frozen yogurt with various toppings, delicious, makes a change from ice-cream. This hotel is certainly worthy of another visit.

Room Tip: Room 071 on the ground floor was spacious and there was no noise from the road on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

No point in me covering what has already been said on the positives of this hotel. However, unlike most others I found the food to be bland &, mainly not hot enough for my taste, & the excessive queues for the freshly cooked "while you wait" food put me off, resulting in my opting for the already cooked options. For those of you who want to feel "at home " with no feeling of being in a foreign country, this is the place for you. Everyone from the British Isles, everyone eating typical British food including porridge, bread & butter pudding, apple crumble etc . Staff were very polite & helpful, but being served cream crackers & cheese, yogurt & tinned fruit in our room on arrival after the end of dinner service was disappointing to say the least. This followed a 2hr 15mins transfer from the airport. On departure day we were invited to partake of continental breakfast which was set up in the lobby, with white pan bread instead of the traditional rolls, & not allowed use of the dining room. The tables in the dining room { with the exception of a few } are spaced about 3 ins from the neighbouring tables & insufficient space to get around adjoining tables was at times frustrating. However, enforced proximity fosters friendship & many people got along swimmingly with their neighbours { including us }.
The "great sunbed race" was a daily entertainment in itself. After staying at the hotel for around 6 days & being unsuccessful in acquiring a suitable sunbed, I had to stoop to this practice myself. I found the wicker sunbeds to be too uncomfortable for me & had to use the cushioned beds on the upper solarium { after climbing 25 steps I was ready for a comfortable rest ! } The alternative for me would have been to pay for the use of sunbeds at the Tennis club owned by the hotel { a misnomer as there were no tennis courts----only the outlines of the former courts. So, if comfort is important to you, gird up your loins, sharpen your elbows & join the 9am scramble.
On holiday, we always use a safe deposit box & we found the location of these boxes in the lobby to be a constant nuisance. Just leave your valuables at home ! Another irk for us was that the hotel would only issue us with one room key. Certainly you can hand it in at reception, but as we drift in & out at various times of the day on differing missions, I'm sure the reception staff would eventually get cheesed off with this arrangement. This is the 1st time we have ever been refused a second key from a hotel. I am aware that all of these points are minor niggles & we still enjoyed our holiday { 2 weeks of very dodgy weather & a few thunderstorms & cold winds aside }. All in all, good value for money.We were lucky to have met good companions [you know who you are !] who saved seats for us for the evening entertainment to allow us to finish our evening meal without hurrying. If you decide to book this hotel I'm sure you will enjoy it, so long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CALLORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After many visits to the Rocamarina my wife and myself tell our friends that the Hotel is SIMPLY THE BEST in all aspects - cleanliness,food, entertainment and first and foremost - the staff!!
From the Head Waiter to one of your new waiters - Felipe. they were all STB

Thank you Thomsons for a wonderful holiday - we`ll be back!

Norman and Mary Woods, Lanark, Scotland

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best, with Pool Views etc. Unfortunately we couldn`t get one this year, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank normarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First the positives - very clean hotel and the food was excellent - in fact it was better than most other 4 star hotels I've stayed at. Staff are very helpful, pleasant and courteous. The Thomson reps always seemed to be available and did a great job.

The negatives for me were that this hotel is mainly for the older generation with regular entertainment for that era. On your first trip to the dining room you're given the choice of eating either outside on the terrace or indoors and once you've selected your preference it's very difficult to change your mind. We wanted to eat outdoors at breakfast and eat indoors in the evening when it was a little chilly, and although the Maître de was accommodating, we got the impression that we were messing up his very organised roster.

Wifi was also a problem. You had to get a new password every day though I believe this has now been changed to weekly. Wifi was always losing connection and you had to keep logging in. There's no wifi in the rooms, only in public areas and you're not allowed to get your password before 8am.

There's a nice little lounge area with a large screen TV but the hotel guests are not allowed to change channels - you have to ask a member of the reception team.

Having said all that we spent a most enjoyable week but I don't think I would stay there again although I would recommend to others who I know would enjoy such a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamarina

Address: Avenida Forti 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rocamarina 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Rocamarina Cala d Or
Rocamarina Hotel Cala d Or
Hotel Rocamarina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing