We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
763
437
136
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
763
437
136
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis club thomson gold thomson reps gold hotel alter ego apple crumble cala egos resident band garden area evening entertainment older generation superior room average age head waiter age group older guests lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Good welcome, very friendly staff. Very comfortable room with tea and coffee making and a very nice balcony overlooking the pool and Cala Forti beach. Excellent food - fantastic variety. Entertainment suited to 50 plus. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it has not let us down. The beach is a short walk away and so are the shops.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank RobQ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Had a restfull 7 days in Rocamarina. Great for retired folk, food and ambience is just what they want!! Food is mostly English roasts most days and apple crumble and bread and butter pudding every day. There were other dishes but not a lot of "Spanish fare" other than paella.
Staff excellent especially entertainment and front desk, restaurant staff work hard to keep tables clear. Entertainment was some of the best I have seen in Spanish hotels.

Pool cleaned every morning and the usual 9am rush for sunbeds, we called it "The Geriatric Steeple chase" but only 5 or 6 coulpes did it. Don't know why they bothered plenty of chairs left ?? There was also a sundeck on the next floor above the pool.

Beach nearby bit small and crowded some days but lots of sunbeds, get your chair ticket from reception its cheaper. It also has a snack bar overlooking the beach.

Drinks are roughly the same as pub prices in England but the are a couple of Spa shops nearby for your fridge drinks. Fridge does not have a freezer space so get ice from downstairs bar. (Yates bar up in the village cheap drinks there and British beer and cider)
You are not likely to get a lot of sun on your balcony unless you are very lucky we had room 274 and only had 1 hour at about 9 in the morning.

Expect a 1 hour 15 minutes drive from airport. Hope your driver doesn't keep you waiting.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank D1tchJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Our 11 night stay at this Thomson Gold hotel was a happy experience in the Es Forti area of Cala d'Or. Think of low rise buildings painted white, palm trees and attractive floral displays. The hotel is family run and without exception all the hotel staff are most pleasant and helpful. We had requested a quiet room and were not disappointed. It had a 'free of charge' safe in the wardrobe, mini fridge, wide screen wall mounted HD television with most UK channels. The air con was one of the best we have encountered over the years of travel.The room decor was first class and the view from the balcony was of a grassed and palm tree lawned area below. The guests are all British. We found the restaurant to our liking. On your first night at dinner you show Juan, the Maitre 'd, your room key and you are allocated your table for the duration of your stay. We thought this a great idea, shame that all holiday hotels haven't latched onto this idea. The food choices are varied and mostly to suit a British taste. Most vegetables used and the excellent house wines available are sourced from the owner's own estate. The Es Forti shopping centre is only a five minute walk from the hotel and supplies of water (Spar own label 2 litre is 95c) and milk, plus all things imaginable at the friendly Spar mini market next door to the excellent Tony's Restaurant ( you must try the carrot cake!). The hotel also owns the Tenis restaurant across the road which is a very good venue for your lunchtime baguette or whatever you fancy, and the staff are charming. Walking through the Tenis restaurant grounds and down a few steps you are at the attractive Calo Es Pou sandy bay which has a further hotel owned restaurant, Es Pou Restaurant, overlooking the bay. We had a couple of snack meals here outdoors, in the shade, totally perfect experience.

The hotel has 6 Thomson reps available during the daytime. All the usual Gold attractions are there to participate in should you require advice. I wish the entertainment started earlier at night, 10 pm for the main attraction is far too late.

The guests are predominately over 50 years of age, just a few young couples.

Should you find the sun loungers around the pool occupied I recommend the grassy area just above the outdoor stage where there is plenty of space, many sun loungers always available and shade under the pine trees if shade is your thing.

The hotel must be very popular, with guests returning year after year. We talked to folk who had been to the Rocamarina as many as 11 times!

If you want to criticise Cala d'Or as a resort, unless you hire a car you are cut off from the rest of the island in order to want to sight-see. The public bus service didn't appear to service neighbouring resorts and we never found where the bus stop was! Palma is a long, long way off, however, it is the final destination for the free blanket trip. There is a mini train on the hour from near the hotel at train stop 6 by the Tenis restaurant. Like most people we did the circular trip for 9 euros without getting off, yes, it gives you a one hour ride. Take a cushion to sit on, the roads are very bumpy in Cala d'Or !
Enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for 214!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Hotel lovely albeit slightly dated.Spotlessly clean in all areas.
Food good -very much typical hotel food.
Lots of areas in hotel grounds to sit e.g. around swimming pool, on the solarium roof and in the gardens. Across the road behind tennis courts areas to rent sun beds and on the small beach .
Hotel guests mainly middle age and above.
Staff extremely helpful and polite.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room in a quiet area of hotel -standard double on second floor. Very peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Could not fault the Hotel.The room,food,service,entertainment and location were excellent I would certainly recommend this hotel.
We were in room 226,this had the Sun from about 1-0pm until sunset
People who paid for Superior room upgrades to rooms facing the front of the hotel,lost the Sun about 1-0pm The Sun is such an important part of the holiday, that this should be made clear before you upgrade

Room Tip: Room 226 We had the Sun from 1-0pm
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews