We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly happy atmosphere, food could be better...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly happy atmosphere, food could be better...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our stay went really well. The studio apartments are spacious and clean. The facilities (swimming pool, toilets, bar etc.) were great. Only negative point for us was on the food: breakfast and lunch ok but the buffet at dinner was not great... We would have preferred Spanish style food instead of average English or Asian one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurore2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in a friendly happy atmosphere and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. We try to cater for the taste of so many different nationalities in our hotel and from time to time we offer as well typical Spanish dishes like Paella, filled vegetables., Fidevada, etc. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    255
    90
    28
    15
See reviews for
399
149
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is the second year for us at the La Mirada!!! Truly Wonderful!

My husband and I along with our 3 children (aged 5,8 and 12) liked it so much last year that this year we invited my family - there was 15 of us in total. The staff are so helpful and cannot do enough to help you - all you have to do is ask! Ann on reception is extremely helpful and assisted us on many occasions with advice on trips and local attractions etc. All the girls on Reception were lovely, friendly and helpful
The food was lovely - the Head Chef should be very proud!!! There was something different every meal and had themed nights (Mexican and Asian). In fact, there is food all day long (breakfast, snacks, lunch, cake at 3, toasties and more snacks at 5, then evening meal!!!) - the diet starts tomorrow. The food certainly exceeds its 3 stars! The restaurant staff never stop and work so hard.
Paula, Magda and Chocolate were fab! they had lots of time for us and they kept us entertained every day and night. We all had so much fun joining in with the activities - Great team guys!!!! :-)
In the evening there was Mini Disco and game for the children and then something for the adults afterwards - really enjoyed the Abba night, the Latin dancers, the Acrobat duo and saving the best til last - the show put on by the animacion team!!! (daddy cool!)
It was really great to see Davide from last year - the best Sangria maker ever!
The bar staff were very friendly and provided us with plenty of drinks (hic) - BUT my only moan is that the all inclusive bar stops serving at 11 pm, after this you have to pay, even for soft drinks. I agree that alcohol should have a time cap on it since you can drink all day up til 11 pm (if you wish) but I do think soft drinks and coffees should be made available at all times.

The beach is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and the shops are only a couple of minutes too. I really love Cala Egos because it is quiet but Cala D'or is only a walk away (or via land train, bus or taxi) if you want more shops and restaurants.

Overall - We felt so relaxed!! Lovely clean hotel with great pools. Amazing food and very hard working staff. The best thing is that everyone made you feel special and could not do enough to ensure that our two weeks were memorable!

A Big Thank You - See you next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were in a garden view room, ground floor - Lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bex1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guests,
first of all we would like to thank you for visiting us for the second time and especially for inviting your family to come with you. We are really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff : reception, waiters, Chef of the kitchen, entertainment team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again next year. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for a week during the May half-term week with a party of 7 with ages ranging from 70 to 10 years old. The location of the hotel was perfect. 5 minutes to the fort with fantastic views, 10 minutes to the unmissable rock pool, cross the road and you're on the perfect little beach and turn left and you're among the shops and bars.
The hotel itself, as one of our party described it, has much more character than those around it.
The staff are some of the friendliest I have come across. At reception they are always ready with a smile and helpful advice. The bar/restaurant staff are friendly and very hardworking and make sure you have a clean area to sit and eat your food.
I have read some reviews where they criticise the food. What are you talking about? While it's true there was not as great a choice in some other places, I feel they swapped quantity for quality with some of the best all inclusive food I have tasted. As another reviewer said - make a proper meal rather than bits of everything.
The cleaners were almost invisible - didn't really see them very much like in other hotels but most days the beds were made, clean towels etc supplied and they had a quick tidy up.
I did feel that the floor could have done with a mop and the towels could do with being replaced as they were a bit thin and old looking but other than that the cleanliness in the hotel was good.
I would happily recommend this hotel and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: I asked for a pool view and got it. Also had a garden view and a mountain view thrown in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you very much for giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you mention the friendliness of our staff. We will be passing on your praises to all of them. We thank you for your recommendation and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
our very best regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Returned yesterday from a week at La Mirada with my hubby and 2 children aged 6 and 3. We had a fabulous time. The hotel staff are warm and welcoming, really couldn't do enough for you. On arrival, we were invited to grab some lunch before checking in which made my little people happy! Our first room was overlooking the pool......clean, but too noisy with a 3 year old if you wanted to get to sleep before 11.30 pm so we changed rooms which cost 25 euros so keep in mind when you check in to ask for a room facing the garden or away from the pool area. Wifi cost 20 euro for the week. It was slow but worked in all areas. The pool area was clean. Sunbeds are locked up until 8.30/9.00 so people were milling around to get a bed/ spaces around that time. Food was lovely, always something that we liked. A few odd choices like chicken nuggets for breakfast lol! The staff will pack a picnic for you if you fancy a day trip. The hotel is in Cala Egos, much quiter than Cala'D'or but clean, no one pulling you into bars or hassling you. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, a small, clean cove with rocks to explore. The glass bottom boat trips run from there a few times a day. There is a happy train stop outside the hotel. The driver is not happy! Cheaper to get a taxi (and more friendly!) The staff at the hotel were absolutely lovely, always smiling, working hard to keep fresh food out and the tables cleared. There seemed to always be food available and if you can't wait an hour for snacks to be available after breakfast, lunch or dinner then there is a little vending machine on site and shops 5 seconds up the road, but you wont need them! Beer, wine, sangria, hot drinks and branded soft drinks on tap The Animacion team were fabulous too, especially Magda, who my 6 year old adored! The Mini Club for the kids was good, even my youngest who is very wary of new situations, got involved. The evening entertainment was good for the kids, the same songs in the Mini disco every night to allow the kids to get to know the songs, but bless the team, they made it seem like every night was the first night they were singing! Cu chi wa wa wa ......I will be singing that song for months! They also had other entertainment like a reptile show, parrot show, Latin dancing, Abba tribute and a man v women night. In short, if you have a young family you will definately enjoy La Mirada, thankyou to all the staff for lovely holiday memories x

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area if you want to get to sleep before 11.30pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to the staff of the Mini-Club. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. Please say a big hello from Magda to your children. We are glad that you have such happy memories of your holiday!
Our very best regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have given this hotel a 5 Star for the simple fact that the staff and what was on offer went above and beyond.

The staff were great, on arrival we were shown to the dining area before checking in properly so we didn't miss out on any food. It was a nice gesture and appreciated. All the restaurant/ bar staff were always busy and working hard and constantly.

The Animacion Team were sensational! They did so much with all the activities and keeping the kids, and often ourselves, very entertained and involved.

We personally found the food to be good, and for all inclusive, well above the standard we expected. Even if there was something you weren't particularly keen on, there were plenty of other choices for us all. As well as the treat as food being pretty much served ALL DAY!

The rooms were basic, but very satisfactory. We didn't intend to much time in there so was ideal for our needs. A TV with some English channels for the evening. Advisable to bring your own shampoo and stuff.

Also I will advise, this place is ideal for families and kids to keep them entertained. Perhaps not if you are just a couple wanting a quiet time by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJohnson06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Mr. Johnson,
first of all we would like to thank you for the very nice remarks you have made about our hotel and staff and for giving us "5 STARS"! !! We are really very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us here. We thank you for your recommendation for families with children. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are a family with 2 young children who have just returned from a great stay at Gavimar La Mirada. For a 3 star hotel, it was well worth the money. The staff make you feel very welcome there. They are always interacting with the kids. They try to get the adults involved in the daily activities but they don't force the issue.
The reception staff were lovely, and gave some great advise on where to go during the day and the best trips to take.
The bar staff were a good laugh, introducing me to some new drinks and always smiling no matter how busy they were. Javi was especially good and was always so polite and pleasant to deal with.
Special mention to Magda from the animation team who was fantastic with the kids. She also does the kids club and makes sure that all the children feel included.
The entertainment at night was varied and often hilarious, especially the "Mister" competition where they had the audience involved.
My 4 year old loved the Latin dancing that was on the night we left, and she also loved the reptile show that was on.
The location is perfect, the 2 euro train ride to the marina or Cala D'Or stops right outside the hotel, or else you can get a taxi for 6 or 7 euro.
The only negative that I would have is that our room was not cleaned very often. We stayed for 9 nights and was only cleaned 3 days within that time.
The rooms are a bit outdated, but what do you expect for 3 star and you're not on holidays for the quality of the room.
Besides that, I have no complaints and I would recommend this hotel to anyone with kids or without, young or old, there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: If you have a buggy, ask for a ground floor preferably with a garden view. We were on the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for the very nice remarks you have made about our hotel and especially about the friendliness of our hotel staff and entertainers. We will be passing on your praises to all of them. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a great family holiday with us and would be delighted if you do decide to visit us again on another occasion. The frequency of the cleaning depends on the demands of our partners, i.e. touroperators.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my family (13 of us in total) stayed here for a week in May, the hotel was very clean, staff where friendly and good with the kids, the entertainment staff were very good with the kids and adults. Overall we all really enjoyed it, food and drinks nearly all day with a decent choice.
There is also a nice little beach about 2mins walk from the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Wayne,
we thank you for your nice report and are really very pleased to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainment team. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Property: Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Address: Avenida Forti s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Cala d Or
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing