We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for families with young children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal for families with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I came to this hotel with my parents and 3 year old son. My son loved the nighttime entertainment and he really enjoyed staying here. The food was mostly good but if you're a non-adventurous eater all-inclusive may not be for you because the food served is mainly continental but it is very nice all the same. The cocktails were amazing and the bar staff were very friendly. The apartment was clean but the air conditioning was poor at times and sometimes this made it hard to sleep. This may have been just our room although we did complain about it they assured us there was nothing wrong. Overall we had a brilliant time here, some room for improvement regarding air conditioning in rooms but we would definitely visit again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fire-eyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for the very nice remarks you have made about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a brillant time here with us and that especially your little son loved the nighttime entertainment. We will be passing on your praises to all our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back next year. For any questions or special wishes regarding your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    255
    90
    28
    15
See reviews for
399
149
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a fabulous 10 nights here with my family and can't wait to return!

We booked our holiday through Jet2 who I also give 10/10 for their service.

The hotel is just outside of Cala D'or, there is a fantastic beach just over the road and a few restaurants and shops nearby. Only went into Cala D'or once on the road train which picks up outside the hotel. Had plans to do various trips and activities during our stay here but there was so much going on in the hotel we never needed to!

The staff are amazing, especially the entertainment team who all work so hard and always have smiles on their faces.

The rooms are cosy with tv, mini kitchen etc. air con could be improved. The only fault I have is there's not light on the balcony,we couldn't sit out there on an evening and play cards :(

The food here was hit and miss but I always found something to eat. Myself and my family loved the 'peanut chicken'!!!!

The entertainment team always had something going on through out the day for all ages but they never hassle people who are just wanting to relax by the pool. We especially enjoyed 'Sangria Time' where Chocco and the team demonstrate how to make sangria and then getting everyone by the pool to sample the very boozy but delicious drink!

Evening entertainment was great, apart from some Latin dancers that came on one night, so rubbish but funny to watch!

Brilliant hotel, brilliant holiday We will most definitely be returning next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your very nice review. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to our entertainment team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again next year. For special wishes do note hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

we are family of four with two daughters aged 9 and 5. We stayed for a week from 5th July. I'll review each part separately

Rooms: Adequate size for the 4 of us with air con. We had a pool view (as requested). I noticed on other reviews people had complained it was noisy. It could be but I would like to point out that this wasn't from La Mirada, but a neighbouring hotel, whose entertainment went on well after the 11pm stop here. The beds in the bedroom had very firm mattresses, so if you have a back problem your sorted...

Pool: We had no problem getting a sunbed at the pool each day, as the beds are locked until 9am. We always stayed at the main pool. There was not much room around the baby pool, but there is a terrace on the next level up, There was also a huge sun terrace with loads of beds if you wanted to be away from the kids and activities.

Food and Drink: We opted for All inclusive. The food was definitely quality over quantity. The lamb fell off the bone and was top restaurant quality. The salad selection was vast. My nine year old was fine as she loves fish (always an option each night). but it could be hard for my fussy 5 year old. You had to be quite imaginative (mash and take the gravy from the beef). however we found the snacks in the afternoon just before dinner had lots for fussy eaters, Pizza, chips and a toastie maker. so we would take her there to be fed and then there was no stress trying to feed her later. The drinks were great with wine, beer and soft drinks all self service. tip: add a bit of lemonade to the beer, this seem to improve the taste. Everyone was doing it. Slush puppies were also part of the all inclusive which the kids loved. (also nice with a gin)
We also talked to some people who were self catering. Whilst there wasn't much room to cook in the apartment, Calas Egos had some lovely restaurants, you would be spoilt for choice.
the bar and restaurant staff were lovely. miss you Javi.

Animacion... the best bit....
I can honestly say there was no room for boredom...
My five year old was collected from the pool at 10.30am and brought back at 1pm. She then had some lunch and dip in the pool and was collected again at 3pm then brought back a 5pm. She went every day except Sunday (they have a day off) and loved it.
My nine year old felt she was a bit old for the kids club and so stayed with us to partake in , Yoga, water aerobics, cross bow, Sjoelen, waterpolo, pool, French bowls, she was too young for the archery and Rifle shooting.
The evening entertainment consisted of mini disco, then a show. whilst the Flamenco dancing could be given a miss the shows the staff put on were fun and entertaining. Missing Chocolate, Fillip, Paula, Patrjcia and Magda. hoping there still there next year. "Animacion...No problem"!!

Calas egos is a beautiful, clean and safe town. They have a market on a Thursday evening. There are not many bars, but I can recommend Sparkles, they have a huge soft play area for the kids, but the drinks were very strong...

I would recommend this place to any young family, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher Floors had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and staff. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you loved the entertainment for children and parents. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to our entertainers. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year. For any questions or special wishes do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala Egos
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just back from holiday at this hotel on 6/07/2014. Went for 1 week All Inclusive,travelling as a family of 4 with two small children, 7 & 4 and it was perfect. The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms were adequate for what you need on holiday ( air con ) a must!!. All staff were very pleasant and friendly and spoke a bit of english. The food was fresh daily and there was something for everyone which helps with 2 small fussy eaters...Particularly enjoyed the Mexican night.
The pool area was good with plenty of sunbeds for everyone and you weren't allowed to put towels down till 9am which was a nice idea so you didn't have to get up early to get one!!!
The beach was only 100m from the hotel but was very? busy the day we went down. A train ride (€2 per person) takes you the marina, and pick up and drop off is outside the hotel. The usual restaurants and shops are only a 2 minute walk. There is a kids club which kept the wee ones amused and a kids disco at night which they enjoyed. Theme and music was a bit repetitive but the kids learnt the songs pretty quickly.Animation staff were friendly & cheery.
If you are looking for a lively the place,this isn't for you. Nice for taking the kids away to eperience a holiday abroad,so much so we are looking to book up for next year. Happy holidays folks,you will love it! Riad from Perth

Room Tip: Go for high floor as less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Riad,
We thank you for your very nice review and are glad to read that especially your children enjoyed the stay at our La Mirada hotel. We are happy about your comment that you consider to come back and visit us again next year. If you need further information or if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
We are looking forward to welcome you once again here with us.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here in May half term. Two families with children/teen ranging from 7-16.
The rooms although dated were spotlessly clean. We had requested a top floor and our request was met no problem at all. We had plenty of towels, and although the beds weren't the most comfortable I've slept in, after a few cocktails I slept fine!
The food was okay, but there wasn't as much choice as previous AI that we have stayed in. The younger kids in our party sometimes struggled to find something they liked. However a pizza bar up the road was a handy alternative for them. I would say that the Gavimar either needs to be AI or SC and not try to cater for both. The AI drinks selection was great and lager, wine, hot drinks and soft drinks were self service. This was a brilliant idea as it alleviated a lot of queuing.
The pool area was clean (pool was freezing) and sun beds were available at all times on the upper terrace. If you wanted one in the pool area you had to be there at 9am and accost the poor bloke putting them out. I say poor bloke as at 9am every morning the Brits were there taking them out if his hands and putting them anywhere they felt like. Once they'd put their towels on off they would disappear for hours till they felt like sunbathing. These were probably the same Brits who thought they could dump their rubbish anywhere but the bins and expect the staff to clean up after them.
The area the hotel is situated in (Cala Egos) is lovely. Plenty of shops and restaurants if you fancy a break from the AI, and a nice beach two minutes walk from the hotel.
The only real complaint I have is the wifi. £20 for the week,or £2 per hour. We could rarely get on as the reception was that bad and I could not use it at the same time as my partner and son as the price was only covering one device. Eg; a password was issued when you paid for the wifi, this password could be used on any device but only one device at a time can be used with the password. Therefore if you have a couple of kids who use their iPads etc (like during a rainy afternoon) you will need a password for each device. So in my opinion the wifi charge is rather extortionate.
All in all we did all enjoy our break. I couldn't fault the staff, they were all very friendly and never seemed to stop.working or cleaning (with the exception of one miserable female member of staff).
Just to add, the kids entertainment team worked tirelessly non stop to entertain the kids and deserved a medal for what they did.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a high floor. No one above you scraping furniture across the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janluvsflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totnes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

DO NOT USE OK RENT A CAR (more later). This great little hotel is situated across the road from a tiny, sandy beach. Lovely small (120 rooms) hotel. Spotlessly clean, pleasant surroundings and, incredible staff, always pleasant, efficient and helpful, 5*. Rooms are spotlessly clean. Our apartment with balcony was a good size with bedroom, living room and kitchenette, not luxurious but more than adequate (we paid £250 each for an all inclusive week)4*. The food was excellent, not Cordon Bleu, but very good, catering not only to UK guests but also to German and East European guests. Breakfast (cereals, eggs, bacon, fruit, cold meats etc etc) was superb, even my non eating hubby made sure he was there in time...if you missed it there were mid morning snacks. Lunch and dinner always provided amazing salads along with a meat and fish choice with various potato and pasta dishes with desserts of fruit and other sweet dishes. There were also afternoon and late evening snacks. Drinks (wine, beer and pop stuff) were, literally, on tap save for spirits to be requested at the bar.

Entertainment and the animation team were also excellent. But, this is a family hotel and a family resort. For a couple looking for a quiet, sunny break, this is not for you. I thought I had booked outside half-term, but no...I nearly divorced my husband half way through because he was so distracted by the noise of children and baby buggies trundling up and down the very modern, purpose built, lack lustre, souvenir selling resort. 'Mini Disco' was going on from 20.30 to 22.30 and the parents were in raptures, but it was all I could do to stop my husband from tripping some hyper-active child into the pool! It was not just the hotel, everywhere there were children being ferried about in buggies and having tandem tantrums! as fast as one stopped another one started!

So, the hotel and everything about it was good....but, it is a place for families not couples.

Porto Petro next door was a lovely little spot, an old fishing village. The market's were also good fun with many artisan products on sale.

Back to OK RENT A CAR. We booked them as an alternative to airport transfer on the Travel Republic website at the time or booking and trusted they would be reputable. Please do not be tricked into going with them. OK will try to make you pay extra for damage waiver insurance to the tune of 90 euros (buy a policy on-line from Worldwide for £32 before you go); They will charge you a 15 Euro fee for bringing a car back full of fuel; REVIEW the form as to damage to the vehicle before leaving and, the copy they give you and scour the vehicle for the most insignificant damage and...take photos with your mobile of anything...same goes with when you return the car. OK will rip you off good and proper.

Back to the hotel. The Yorkshire pudding looked like a block of flats...well done...if you really wanted to eat Yorkshire pud in Majorca!

Thoroughly recommend the hotel...not the resort and definitely not OK RENT A CAR.


,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. we thank you very much for your very kind remarks about cleanliness, friendly staff, entertainers,food, drinks .
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. Thanks for your recommendation.
kindest regards from majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 7 day break at this hotel with my partner and my 2 year old. The hotel is not child friendly in terms of Health and Safety. 2 big flights of stairs to get up to the pools with a buggy and bags, towels etc was not ideal. The tiles round the pool were extremely slippy and constantly covered in pools of water (no grids for it to drain) the entertainment at night was on the stage right next to the main pool, the hotel was that busy it meant there was nowhere to sit of an evening to watch my 2 year old if he wanted to join in. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when needed. The food was lovely and fresh every day and enough to suit everyone. There is a train outside the hotel that comes every hour and takes you in to the centre for 2 euro each. If you come out of the hotel and do a left up to the shops, there is a bar called Sparkles which has a soft play centre for little ones (thank god) all in all we had a lovely holiday but I could never go back to this hotel as I was on pins the whole time due to how unsafe it was.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CChadwick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. You mention the friendly staff and the good food. All other points that are mentioned we are taking into great consideration. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Property: Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Address: Avenida Forti s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Cala d Or
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing