We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week in La Mirada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing week in La Mirada”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hi I'm 42 from Lancashire took my daughter 21 on an all inclusive week and returned home on Tuesday 15 June, we had a fantastic relaxing well fed and watered week.

The hotel is top class clean and all staff were amazingly helpful at all times, the food was varied and plentiful, breakfast consisted of cereals, fruits, meat, eggs a plenty, toast, freshly baked bread rolls and pastries - lunch would be salads of many varieties,rice dishes, cous cous or bulgar wheat dishes, meat, fish, veg, chips or potatoes - evening meals were healthy and varied with meat and fish each evening, lovely salads and veg/rice/dishes - drinks on all inclusive are on draught or behind the bar, we hardly ever had anyone in front waiting and never saw a queue of more than 2 - everything in the hotel ran like clockwork which proves teamwork is key and they hit every target in my book.

The animacion team worked very hard to keep the little ones entertained and we enjoyed stretching class in the morning and aqua aerobics in the afternoon. evening entertainment was great fun for the under 12's and the later shows were geared at all ages and of very good quality.

Our room was a gem over looking the pool on the 3rd floor, spotlessly clean and well tended by the maids - we had everything we needed due to being all inclusive the only thing I missed was a kettle as i like a cup of tea on waking at 6 but water sufficed until 8 for a pg in the bar area.

The one and only problem i had was the hotel accross the road Rocamarina who chose to keep entertaing their guests at loud volume until 1 am some mornings - our hotel was nice and quiet after 11.30 which was great but Rocamarina continued to blast their noise ! Which sounded awful not sure if it was Karaoke all night long.

Top marks for quality of room food and staff - if you've got kids you will LOVE IT and the will too.

Well done team La Mirada !! Thank you for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazyjacko40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you very much for your very kind and detailed review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your week with us and will be passing on your praises to all our staff and entertainers. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    283
    101
    30
    19
See reviews for
473
165
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Two weeks holiday June/July. Three of us in the party including my teenage daughter.

Had a one bedroom apartment with a garden view. Reasonably spacious. Glad to find kettle. TV had uk channels if you wanted them. Nice balcony to have a relaxing drink.

Food in hotel fine, always something. Restaurant allows you to eat in main body, outside or in additional area to the back which often was a bit more relaxed. Staff busy clearing tables but occasionally you had to make set extra places yourself. Wish they would make the soup bowls deeper/bigger as they were so shallow it was difficult to walk with them without spilling over the side!

Pool areas very good. Pool never that busy. We used sunbathing area above pool, always beds. Families with kids seemed to find space around pool ok.

Lovely beach to while away a pleasant afternoon. Not huge but not too crowded either.

Entertainment passable. If you had kids the early dances and games seemed very well received. Adult shows hit and miss but most passed away an enjoyable hour. But NEVER should the hotel try to pass off a game of bingo as the only adult entertainment for the evening.

Drinks fine. Cocktails were presented very nicely and beer served its purpose.

All staff in hotel friendly. Had a few dealings with reception with the helpful girls. Animation team always smiling and saying hello.

Went on a few trips. Starfish boat is a must with various options up and down the coast. Everywhere in the resort seem to sell trips at same price. Went to Caves of Drach and Palma Shopping. On both trips bus guides made the announcements in various languages.

Cala Egos is quite self sufficient if your just looking for a change of scenery. Few pubs we frequented, all very friendly without loads going on. Good quiz in Doughtys on a Thursday, they also have a bookcase of books for sale (3 for a euro) which was handy as there wasn't much in the hotel in the way of book exchange. Also went to Bar Daniels a lot, big Hawian bar also pleasant. If you want more organised entertainment or shopping you really need to go into Cala Dor. Nice walk around Marina or jump in a taxi (about 6 euros ).

Fair to point out that jet2 were a very good company to travel with. Much cheaper than other tour companies. Rep visited hotel a couple of times only, but never saw rep from any company actually. Think sites like this now provide so much info you don't need the rep so much.

Overall fine holiday and would recommend as long as you didn't pay too much.

Room Tip: Wouldn't want a room whose balcony opened out to sun terrace with little privacy. Higher room wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgedoull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel and resort.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a good holiday with us here and will be passing on your praises to our hotel staff and entertainers. We thank you for your recommendation and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were just at the La Mirada in July 2014 for 10 days and would definitely return again
The rooms are clean and well kept, love the fact that they have a fridge to keep the juice cold.
The Staff were excellent and friendly, and the entertainment staff were great. They don't unlock the sunbeds until 9am after the pool has been cleaned so everyone has a fair chance without getting up too early. The Pool is on 2 levels with the main pool on the ground level, the kids pool above this with a waterfall into the main pool and sunbathing space to keep an eye on them, then there is another level up for sunbathing, and another deck area away from the pool just for sunbeds and sunbathing. There is a gorgeous little beach just a minutes walk from the hotel, where the boat trips also leave from. There is great range of shops, pubs and supermarket, and the main resort of Cala' dor is just a short trip on the road train for 2euros, or a lovely 15-20 minute walk through the Marina. We didn't have kids with us, but the kids there were well entertained and catered for. The food was good and there was a good selection on offer, always well stocked and fresh, unless you are very fussy there will always be something for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Alex,
thanks a lot for your very kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come come back and visit us again, hopefully in the not too distant future. For any questions and further informations please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I came to this hotel with my parents and 3 year old son. My son loved the nighttime entertainment and he really enjoyed staying here. The food was mostly good but if you're a non-adventurous eater all-inclusive may not be for you because the food served is mainly continental but it is very nice all the same. The cocktails were amazing and the bar staff were very friendly. The apartment was clean but the air conditioning was poor at times and sometimes this made it hard to sleep. This may have been just our room although we did complain about it they assured us there was nothing wrong. Overall we had a brilliant time here, some room for improvement regarding air conditioning in rooms but we would definitely visit again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fire-eyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for the very nice remarks you have made about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a brillant time here with us and that especially your little son loved the nighttime entertainment. We will be passing on your praises to all our hotel staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back next year. For any questions or special wishes regarding your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a fabulous 10 nights here with my family and can't wait to return!

We booked our holiday through Jet2 who I also give 10/10 for their service.

The hotel is just outside of Cala D'or, there is a fantastic beach just over the road and a few restaurants and shops nearby. Only went into Cala D'or once on the road train which picks up outside the hotel. Had plans to do various trips and activities during our stay here but there was so much going on in the hotel we never needed to!

The staff are amazing, especially the entertainment team who all work so hard and always have smiles on their faces.

The rooms are cosy with tv, mini kitchen etc. air con could be improved. The only fault I have is there's not light on the balcony,we couldn't sit out there on an evening and play cards :(

The food here was hit and miss but I always found something to eat. Myself and my family loved the 'peanut chicken'!!!!

The entertainment team always had something going on through out the day for all ages but they never hassle people who are just wanting to relax by the pool. We especially enjoyed 'Sangria Time' where Chocco and the team demonstrate how to make sangria and then getting everyone by the pool to sample the very boozy but delicious drink!

Evening entertainment was great, apart from some Latin dancers that came on one night, so rubbish but funny to watch!

Brilliant hotel, brilliant holiday We will most definitely be returning next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your very nice review. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to our entertainment team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again next year. For special wishes do note hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we are family of four with two daughters aged 9 and 5. We stayed for a week from 5th July. I'll review each part separately

Rooms: Adequate size for the 4 of us with air con. We had a pool view (as requested). I noticed on other reviews people had complained it was noisy. It could be but I would like to point out that this wasn't from La Mirada, but a neighbouring hotel, whose entertainment went on well after the 11pm stop here. The beds in the bedroom had very firm mattresses, so if you have a back problem your sorted...

Pool: We had no problem getting a sunbed at the pool each day, as the beds are locked until 9am. We always stayed at the main pool. There was not much room around the baby pool, but there is a terrace on the next level up, There was also a huge sun terrace with loads of beds if you wanted to be away from the kids and activities.

Food and Drink: We opted for All inclusive. The food was definitely quality over quantity. The lamb fell off the bone and was top restaurant quality. The salad selection was vast. My nine year old was fine as she loves fish (always an option each night). but it could be hard for my fussy 5 year old. You had to be quite imaginative (mash and take the gravy from the beef). however we found the snacks in the afternoon just before dinner had lots for fussy eaters, Pizza, chips and a toastie maker. so we would take her there to be fed and then there was no stress trying to feed her later. The drinks were great with wine, beer and soft drinks all self service. tip: add a bit of lemonade to the beer, this seem to improve the taste. Everyone was doing it. Slush puppies were also part of the all inclusive which the kids loved. (also nice with a gin)
We also talked to some people who were self catering. Whilst there wasn't much room to cook in the apartment, Calas Egos had some lovely restaurants, you would be spoilt for choice.
the bar and restaurant staff were lovely. miss you Javi.

Animacion... the best bit....
I can honestly say there was no room for boredom...
My five year old was collected from the pool at 10.30am and brought back at 1pm. She then had some lunch and dip in the pool and was collected again at 3pm then brought back a 5pm. She went every day except Sunday (they have a day off) and loved it.
My nine year old felt she was a bit old for the kids club and so stayed with us to partake in , Yoga, water aerobics, cross bow, Sjoelen, waterpolo, pool, French bowls, she was too young for the archery and Rifle shooting.
The evening entertainment consisted of mini disco, then a show. whilst the Flamenco dancing could be given a miss the shows the staff put on were fun and entertaining. Missing Chocolate, Fillip, Paula, Patrjcia and Magda. hoping there still there next year. "Animacion...No problem"!!

Calas egos is a beautiful, clean and safe town. They have a market on a Thursday evening. There are not many bars, but I can recommend Sparkles, they have a huge soft play area for the kids, but the drinks were very strong...

I would recommend this place to any young family, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher Floors had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests,
thanks a lot for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and staff. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you loved the entertainment for children and parents. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and especially to our entertainers. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year. For any questions or special wishes do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Cala Egos
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just back from holiday at this hotel on 6/07/2014. Went for 1 week All Inclusive,travelling as a family of 4 with two small children, 7 & 4 and it was perfect. The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms were adequate for what you need on holiday ( air con ) a must!!. All staff were very pleasant and friendly and spoke a bit of english. The food was fresh daily and there was something for everyone which helps with 2 small fussy eaters...Particularly enjoyed the Mexican night.
The pool area was good with plenty of sunbeds for everyone and you weren't allowed to put towels down till 9am which was a nice idea so you didn't have to get up early to get one!!!
The beach was only 100m from the hotel but was very? busy the day we went down. A train ride (€2 per person) takes you the marina, and pick up and drop off is outside the hotel. The usual restaurants and shops are only a 2 minute walk. There is a kids club which kept the wee ones amused and a kids disco at night which they enjoyed. Theme and music was a bit repetitive but the kids learnt the songs pretty quickly.Animation staff were friendly & cheery.
If you are looking for a lively the place,this isn't for you. Nice for taking the kids away to eperience a holiday abroad,so much so we are looking to book up for next year. Happy holidays folks,you will love it! Riad from Perth

Room Tip: Go for high floor as less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Riad,
We thank you for your very nice review and are glad to read that especially your children enjoyed the stay at our La Mirada hotel. We are happy about your comment that you consider to come back and visit us again next year. If you need further information or if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
We are looking forward to welcome you once again here with us.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
953 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Property: Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Address: Avenida Forti s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Cala d Or
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing