We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just to start I would like to say the Animation team of Paula, Filip, Chocolate, Patricia, Andi and Magda were absolutely fantastic and made our holiday!!!!!!

This was our first holiday abroad with our 5&6 year old children. We chose the holiday for the family focus which was spot on. The hotel is 3 star which is about right, but in fairness the rooms were a good size and always spotless. The pools are great and our children spent most of the holiday in the kids pool which was great, allowing us to relax yet keep an eye on them, each day seemed to be a scrum for sun beds, some of which then went unoccupied all day with the exception of the resident beach towel!

The food was not bad especially given the challenges of catering for large numbers from different nationalities, we never went hungry and there is enough variety for all palettes. The snacks and drinks were all inclusive and there were seldom any queues for either.....the kids loved the toastie machine after an afternoon in the pool :-)

The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. The entertainment in the evening was always interesting and the kids loved the mini disco, generally George was hanging off Paula or Filip.

The animation team were fantastic, they must have some secret font for energy and enthusiasm as they kept going all day. The team really gelled with the kids and on many occasions the kids wanted to go to mini-club as opposed to spending time with mum and dad. Every day the guys also did there best to get parents involved in activities which I must say were enjoyable and got us off the sunbed.

We have been back 5 days and the kids keep asking can they go back next year.....I think the answer could well be yes!

Just one small point, the tiles by the pool are brown and get very very hot. Our children ended up with blisters after being in the pool then standing on the tiles for a short time, they were not alone as kids compared war wounds at the pool.

A great holiday - no problem!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you in the name of our entertainment team for the very nice remarks and praises you have made about them. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a great family holiday with us here and that your children are asking for a next visit next year. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and are looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel. Please say a big hello to your children from Paula, Filip, Chocolate, Patricia, Andi and Magda. We are glad that they have such happy memories of their holiday.
For any assistance for a next reservation please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada Team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pools not too deep - 1 for older kids and adults, one for younger kids and one for babies and toddlers. Food freshly cooked and very good. Fresh fruit always available. Wine, lager and sangria on tap and very drinkable, cocktails and other drinks also available. Lots of choice for kids drinks too. Really impressed that along with a lot of speciallised tea bags, they also had a box of PG Tips next to 2 kettles - for those of us who like our morning cuppa.
Location very touristy and great fun, and just a few minutes walk to quieter spots for admiring the views.
Damn near perfect for holidaying with kids!
Rooms fine, not pristine and aircon pretty ropey. You have to pay for safe 3euros a day. If you need a ground floor, as we did, ask for it because they'll charge you 35euros to change your room if you haven't. You also have to pay for wifi.

Top Tips:
Betty's bar - walking distance, free wifi, personal attention so you feel welcome and great fun. Went to 'Sparkle' karaoke bar and found it a bit crowded and impersonal, but they did have a great play area for little kids. Taxi into Cala D'or more expensive than taxi but more scenic, so worth at least one trip.
We went in next door's pool (not sure if we were allowed, but they didn't check anyone!) - brilliant kids pool with little slides, etc.

Room Tip: If you have a preference, ask when you book it, otherwise they could charge you to change your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rileylx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guests,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and resort. We are really pleased that you and especially your children enjoyed your stay with us here. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further informations: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada Hotel
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is 3 star and was perfect for the money we paid. It has an amazing family feeling and the hotel tries it's best to ease every nationality there.

The location is perfect for a quiet holiday, next to a small beach, a fantastic kids club and great mini disco. We stayed in a garden view room that was quieter and you could sunbathe outside if the pool was to busy. Best tip - ask for a ground floor garden view room if you have small children as the can play on the grass outside and sunbathe while they are sleeping safely.

The food was a little hit and miss but the staff actively tried to change it to suit the needs of the people who were there. If you love eating salad, meat option and fish ten this is the place for you. If you like a more unhealthy approach such as burgers, chicken nuggets ten this may not be the place for you. I personally thought the food was nice.

The only downside of this hotel was unfortunately the British customers who placed towels on the umbrellas to keep their space by the swimming pool and dived for the sunbeds when they were unlocked. Also because it was all inclusive there were greedy people around ( I watched one guy take every king prawn, about 10, from the top of the Rice) and there was a rush on when the restaurant opened for snack time etc. The catering staff out up with a lot.

A good hotel for the price we paid, good value for money, nice place and an excellent kids club. If you are a young family it's great.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you for your kind review and your comment that you got good value for the money paid. It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your children loved the kids club. We thank you for recommending our hotel to families with children and hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion. If you need assistance for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We checked out of the hotel on the 24th July after a 11 night stay.
My wife and four children aged 15,13,9,7 all in all enjoyed our holiday. We wouldn't rule out coming again only if the price was cheap enough.
The hotel was in a nice location and a minute walk from the beach and shops. We have no complaints with the cleanliness off the Hotel and room and the pool was kept lovely and clean. As much as it was a bit of chore setting our alarm every morning to get down to the pool area for around 8.20am to wait for the sunbeds to be unlocked at 9am, we still found this the most reasonable way to prevent holidaymakers getting up at 6am and reserving sunbeds.
The food was average and hit and miss, with my two youngest living off Chips and bread rolls. My wife and I struggled on a few nights to find something we liked and we're not fussy eaters what so ever either, But, not once over the holiday did we go hungry. We enjoyed the Mexican and Chinese nights! A big disappointment was the late snacks which were available from 9pm11-pm, it was hotDogs every night, so if you don't like hotDogs your stuck.
Wine, beer and pop,water,tea and coffee were on tap all day to help yourself. We did wonder if the alcohol was watered down as not once on the holiday did we feel even slightly tipsy, but don't quote me on that.
Now here's to the positive part of our holiday.....the animation team! Paula, Filip, Chocolate, Andi and Patricia made not just the childrens holiday fantastic but also my wife's and I. They worked so hard day and night, these guys are fantastic. Over the holiday we spoke to other holiday makers who all had their own individual moans about the hotel etc but everyone all commented on how the animation team were brilliant and made up for the some of the negatives in the hotel. They did alot of poolside activities for adults and children which was good for parents who didn't want their children going off to kids club all day. Even if you didn't want to join in in all the activities it was just as fun and amusing being a bystander. During our holiday we had a personal problem that we needed to speak to someone about, instead of going to the reception, we chose to speak to one of the animation team, she was really good and helped as much as she could.
When we checked out of the hotel the six of us all said how much we were going to miss the animation team rather than the hotel.
The holiday cost us £2700(without flights) for 11 nights, so for what it cost we can't complain to the overall holiday. :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Louisa,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us here and that you mention especially our animation team. We will be passing on your praises to all of them.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
For any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our second time at this hotel, with our 3 children, the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, I'm a vegetarian,and found there was always something I could eat,and our youngest daughter age 4 is a picky eater, but we only had to ask the head chef, and he went out of his way to make sure there was something for her to eat through out our holiday!
My children absolutely loved their holiday and can't wait to book again, I have no faults what so ever with this hotel, or the staff, the entertainers were brilliant with the children, always making sure they were kept happy and busy, dancing, or doing clubs, the only draw back we had was the all inclusive ended at 23.00, while it was 24.00 last year,
But other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, and will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guests,
first of all we would like to thank you for having choosen a second time our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that especially your children loved their holiday. We are looking forward to welcome you again , hopefully in the not too distant future. For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just return from a weeks all inclusive enjoyed every minute . Staff are fantastic cant do enough for you .Rooms are very clean needs abit of updating cant say that it affected our holiday . Food was good not loads to choose from but good quality . The swimming pool was crowded the hotel was full you could always get a sun bed on the terrace . The only down side is the outside toilet it needs upgrading .
Love the location loads of coves and bays to vist but watch out for the Jelly fish . Visit the rock pool the hotel staff will inform you how to get there . The walk to the marnia is lovley at night , where there is a pub called the smugglers where you can watch the world go by .
this hotel is good valve for the money
We area of Cala d,or is lovely we will be back

Room Tip: our room looks over the garden where the mini club is which was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guests,
it makes us very happy to thank you for your comments valuing the ideal location of our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider to come back.
For any further assistance for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very good location happy with that the hotel was a 3 star and the food was great better then 3 star hotel, the staff where very nice and did there best all round. The rooms need updating but where ok, cal a dor it self is a lovely place clean and very tidy, nice little pubs Betty Bar is well worth a look. If you go, go to the marina it's great one of the best marines we have been to, very busy marina, lots going on lovely views when your there. 15 min walk from this hotel, or a train to the marina for 2 euros. The pubs sold bottle beers that you get here and was cheaper then our home town. Thursday night is market night 6 till 11pm it's worth a look. Over all it's a good place the hotel needs updating but worth a look.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front off the hotel with a balcony top floor if possible great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about the resort and our hotel, location, food, staff. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
For any informations about a next visit do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Address: Avenida Forti s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £78 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Cala d Or
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing