We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gavimar La Mirada - the return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gavimar La Mirada - the return visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

So we went back for 2nd year running. We have 2 children aged 3 and 6. This is a 3 star hotel but it's good value
Again it was great for a family holiday. Rooms are perfect and the whole hotel is v clean. Food is good and the entertainment team are brilliant for the kids.....it gives the adults about 1 hour each night to just sit and relax
We requested ground floor room both times and our request was met
This year we were in room 505 which has terrace straight on the upper sun terrace. Initially t.hought this was going to be bad, but it worked really well as the only downside is the idiotic rush for sunbeds around the pool. Some people were sitting there (pretending to be invisible) up to 30 mins before the beds were available. Then you see people put towels down then disappear for several hours. If there was 1 thing for the hotel to do to get sorted, that would be it as space is limited around the pool
Anyway we slummed it on the upper sun terrace and it was perfect, no hassle, no rush and we just walked down some steps to them pool and then back up to our sun lounger. The kids were able to hop over the terrace wall and go back to room whenever they wanted
The nearby beach is ok it's quite narrow so it doesn't take many people in the sea to feel a bit crowded however there are plenty of other beaches if you want
Overall we have had 2 great holidays at La Mirada. We won't go next year simply as we have been twice and want a change. If the Sunbed "games" can get sorted that would be great but as stated the upper terrace is absolutely fine

Room Tip: Request ground floor room for small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kevin,
we thank you very much for having choosen a second time our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed again your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers.
We understand that you want a change next year but would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    261
    93
    28
    15
See reviews for
408
156
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is without doubt a 3 star only. We are a family of 4 and stayed in the hotel during August. The room is fine. It had a separate bedroom, small kitchen area with a fridge, sink and hobs. The towels are thin. The bed sheets are thin and lie direct on top of the unprotected mattress. There is air con but it was weak. The AI drinks were good. There was self service campo lager, soft drinks and slushes. Bar staff served cocktails and spirits. The food was hit and miss. Sometimes it was good and then poor. However you would never go hungry. The area around the pool was busy. The sun beds were locked up at night and unchained at 9am. I think this was a good idea but you could still see a dozen or more people hanging around the beds at 8.30am. The best place was up the stairs on the terrace where there were numerous beds. The animation team worked from 10am until 11pm. There put on some shows and guest "artists" were regular visitors. The entertainment was average but the staff worked hard and were always smiling and saying hello. The hotel is in Cala Egos which is about a 40 minute walk to Cala Dor. The marina is about a 20 minute walk away and well worth a visit. There is a small beach about 2 minutes away and ideal for a swim or a jump of the rocks into the sea. The StarFish boats stopped here to pick up passengers for trips along the coast line. Cala Egos is small with one commercial centre. You can walk around this area in 10 minutes. Venture outside of this area and you are in villa land. We prefer walks along promenades and the sea during evenings so for this reason I wouldn't return to the resort. I also wouldn't return to the hotel but I'm sure alot of people will love it. for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for your kind remarks about rooms, AI drinks, friendly staff and friendly entertainers. Regarding the food we try very hard to cater for the taste of so many different nationalities in our hotel. Apart from salads, soups, pasta, meat and fish dishes and a big choice of desserts, we offer a special buffet for the children, there are themed evenings, and tipical Spanish dishes like Paella or Fidevua. Your suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments. Although you mention that you prefer to walk along promenades and the sea we would be delighted if you do come back and visit us again on another occasion. If you have any special wishes please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great selection of food, great availability all day (we were all inclusive). Had no issues, infact the staff never stopped and were helpful
Room basic, but air con, served its purpose
Only downside was sun beds, people queued at 8.30, found it very difficult getting beds near swim pool esp baby pool (we had a 2 yr old and 6 yr old), it didn't stop us having fun though
Entertainment team put there all in, kids loved them and they encouraged kids to go to kids club which my oldest loved

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that your children loved the entertainment team and the mini club. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers.
We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel. If you have any special wishes for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2-week all-inclusive stay at the Mirada (me, my husband and our 2 boys aged 10 and 6), and were really impressed. The hotel is clean, staffed by friendly and very hard working people and is situated in a very lovely resort - a minute's walk from a lovely little beach and near the shops and restaurants. The room was perfectly acceptable for a 3-star hotel - plenty of storage space and comfortable beds. The pool is of ample size (can get a bit busy at times, but this was Majorca in August!) and there were always enough sunbeds (although if you want one right next to the pool you need to be ready with your towels at 9am when they unlock them).

The food was plentiful - always lots of salads and fresh fruit selections, and the main courses varied each lunchtime and evening. I'm veggie, and our youngest child is a bit fussy, and all of us always enjoyed our meals. In between mealtimes there is a selection of snacks available (better choice than in other all-inclusive hotels we've stayed in) so you can't possibly go hungry! The all-inclusive drinks selection is good, and the self-serve beer and wine (and soft drinks) means that the queue at the bar for the other drinks is shorter than it would otherwise be.

All the staff are hard working - the chambermaids do a good job with the rooms, the reception staff were always very helpful and the restaurat staff in particular deserve a mention. The speed at which they cleared tables, re-stocked the food trays, brought out more cutlery, crockery, etc - and all with a smile on their faces - was impressive. The restaurant was very busy at times, but we never had a problem finding a table and never had to queue for the food.

Unlike most other reviewiers of this hotel, we were not that interested in the entertainment and preferred to go out-and-about after dinner. What we did see of the shows seemed ok - the animation team clearly work very hard - but it was occasionally louder than it really needed to be (see comments below).

Other than the pool, the hotel does have other things to help keep the kids amused - a little playground, table tennis, pool table, computers with internet access, etc. And nearby there are bouncy castles, a go-kart track, crazy golf, etc.

There are just a couple of minor criticisms we have, which is why we've not given it 5 stars:

- There are no lights on the balconies, which bothered us a bit as once the kids have gone to bed we like to sit and read, play cards, etc. We tried having all the bedroom lights on and opening the window shutters, which did provide some light but not really enough. Bit of a flaw in the design I think - and one I think they should address.

- There are no matress protectors, which for a family hotel should be mandatory.

- The entertainment was often too loud. We're not bothered about hotel-based entertainment shows, but totally appreciate that lots of other families are. However, the shows didn't need to be as loud as they were - people woud have enjoyed them just as much if they'd been a bit quieter. However, most nights the shows were over by 10.30pm so not too big an issue (but depends on what time you / your children like to go to bed).

- The hotel over the road was a nightmare in terms of volume - not every night, but on at least half the nights we literally couldn't sit on our balcony and have a conversation because the music / singing was so loud. I did complain to the hotel in question (a Thomson hotel) and they couldn't care less - seem quite used to people complaining. Not the Mirada's fault, and nothing the management of the Mirada could do anything about, but something you do need to be aware of if you're thinking of booking.

But all in all we had a fantastic holiday, and would definitely recommend the Mirada!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room as far away from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Vicky,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and your recommendation. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed a fantastic holiday with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. Your suggestions for improvements have been noted and have been communicated to our general management. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you and your family here with us on another occasion. If you have any special wishes for a next visit please do not hesitate to contact us: gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent a week here with 3 year old twins, one with autism. I specifically asked for a ground floor apartment so that my son couldn't be at risk of climbing a balcony and we got what I asked for. The hotel and our room was very clean, spacious and bright. The reception staff were helpful and welcoming and spoke perfect English. Our room was cleaned 5 out of 7 days. The food selection was fantastic and a great kids selection too, food is on all day so you'll never be hungry. The restaurant staff were also lovely and had fun with the kids. They were very quick to clear up and reset tables for the next people and also kept food trays filled for everyone. My daughter spilled a hot chocolate everywhere and there was no fuss, just a very quick clean up around us.The pool was brilliant, very clean and not too cold but refreshing. Great to have the separate kids pool. The entertainment was different every night, the kids absolutely loved it and the animation team were just fantastic. My daughter is still doing the mini disco dances at home. The bar was always manned and they were very friendly and fast to serve you. We particularly enjoyed the Sangria and Pina Colada. The hotel location is really good too, 2 mins walk to the beach and next door to loads of shops, bars and restaurants, and in a really quiet family friendly little town, no crowds of noisy teenagers up drinking all night. I would definitely return here, we had a brilliant week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Louise,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed a brillant week with us and that you would like to return. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. Please say a big hello to your little daughter who has such happy memories of her holiday and is still doing the mini disco dances. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel in the not too distant future. If you have special wishes for a next reservation please do not hesitate to contact us:gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from Majorca
your Gavimar La Mirada team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived back 5th August from a wonderful week at La Mirada. Me and my husband and our children 16, 13 and 10 along with my brother, his wife and their two children 14 & 11. We had a two bedroomed apartment with beautiful views. This was in the block across from the main hotel - just a short walk across the gardens. The apartment was really spacious, very clean, plenty of storage and the beds comfortable. Our son slept on the sofa bed in the lounge which was plenty big enough - he's about 5'6". The kitchen was well equipped though we didn't really use it - just the fridge. The bathroom was spacious and the shower over the bath was good. The air conditioning wasn't fantastic in our room but ok.

The pool area is a little small but was fine - the sunbeds around the pool go very quickly but there is a sunbed area over the restaurant which is just above the pool. Fine for us as our kids are older but you have to be quick for sunbeds if you have little ones.

The restaurant - the staff work so hard and are constantly filling up the food and clearing away plates. There was always a wide selection of salad dishes, 5/6 main courses along with side dishes. There's a kids buffet with chips/nuggets/pizza/pasta & sauce etc. Whilst there isn't a massive selection of food it is very good quality - the meats and fish were cooked beautifully. I am fussy about meat but if it was something I won't eat (like chicken on the bone!) there was always something else - pasta, salads as I said, cold meats cheese and bread, beautiful soup (though it was a bit warm for that!). They also had snacks late morning and afternoon and late evening like pizza, sandwiches, toasties, chips etc. As I said it's very good quality and they are catering for several different nationalities. We don't drink a lot of alcohol but were happy enough with the beer and wine (both of which you can serve yourself with, along with soft drinks, water, coffee, tea, chocolate etc).

The animacion team are excellent, they also work really hard. Entertainment is good and it's fun and the kids love it. They have so many activities during the day, the kids loved it and all ours joined in with everything.

We thought the hotel was in a great position. It's actually in Cala Egos. It's a couple of minutes walk to a small beach in one direction, 10 minutes walk to Es Forti (the fort) with some fantastic views and a couple of minutes walk in the other direction to several bars, restaurants, gift shops and a couple of supermarkets (Spar). It's quieter than Cala D'or though. There's a land train which stops just outside which runs every hour into Cala D'Or for €2 each.

Finally a special mention for the man on reception during the night - on the last night my daughter was ill in the night and he went way above and beyond the call of duty coming up to the room himself to help us to clean up. Sorry I can't remember his name but thank you so much.

All in all I don't have any complaints - would recommend this hotel to anyone and would be very glad to return. Thanks for a great holiday La Mirada and thank you to all your hard-working staff! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Lisa,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you and your family together with your brother and family enjoyed a fantastic time at our hotel and thank you very much for the kind remarks you have made about our staff and entertainers. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. If you have any special wishes for a next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada Team
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at La Mirada. What a lovely experience! Such a nice welcome from Loli on reception. Such friendly and helpful staff. The whole resort was kept very clean and had such a lovely atmosphere. We have 2 young children and they really enjoyed the mini club and pool. They enjoyed the evening childrens entertainment and particularly liked Andy! The choice of food was good and seemed to be constantly on offer!! The accommodation was basic but very clean and suited us just fine. The whole holiday was probably the best we have had in a long time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Joanne,
thanks for this very nice review! We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed one of your best holidays and that your children loved the mini-club as well as the evening entertainment and especially Andy. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff ( espec. including Loli in reception) and to our entertainment team . We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us:
gisela.w@gavimar-hotels.com
for any further informations or special wishes for a next booking.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar La Mirada tema
Gisela Welp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
1.0 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort

Property: Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Address: Avenida Forti s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Cala d Or
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing