We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbeatable value”
Review of Hotel D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel D'Or
Ranked #3 of 6 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

me and my fiancé have just got back from this little gem, if your looking for a clean laid back relaxing break look no further. you will not find better at the price.
very basic but cant wait to go back
tiny pool but clean, rooms are very basic not even a kettle, but comfortable and clean, staff a mixed bag but as we just wanted to relax so didn't matter, the local beaches are small but lovely (10 min walk) most guests were repeaters, plenty of very nice restaurants especially Indiana johns (try the tandoori chicken we had it twice) within 2 m in walk, a couple of clubs if u want that (we don't) woodys bar has a great singer BEN. don't expect 5* because its not... but as far as budget breaks go u will not get better, we will be going back at least once a year. take the breakfast option as its amazing value and will save u money. THANKS HOTEL DOR BE BACK SOON

Room Tip: all rooms are fine we stayed in 207 and would want it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briggo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Maxine must be on another planet or at least at another hotel from the Hotel Dor we stat at. This is our tenth year here and often we come twice in a season. Its such great value that I'm glad Maxine wont return as it means we can always get booked in.

For what we pay I know of no where else that can compare for value for money. The breakfast are super with plenty of choice of both cooked and cold buffet food. It is true they ask you not to take food away but then your not paying for lunch dinner and tea at just 1 euro a day for breakfast!!!

The rooms are great with lovely bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Each has a nice balcony or terrace and are always extremely clean.

Location is great within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and the lovely beach Cala Dor

Lena and her staff are helpful and friendly and can't do enough for you.

Pool is great. Clean and well maintained with plenty of sun beds.

We will be back many times

Room Tip: We stay in Block 4 as it has nice views of the pool but the rooms do back onto the local night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Hotel D'Or and would recommend this small hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. Great location not far from bars, shops and beaches. Hotel very clean, rooms done everyday apart from Thursday. There was a good choice of freshly prepared breakfast every day, allowing you to help yourself to as much or little as you want. An info leaflet provided daily on weather, the daily specials and happy hour. Staff very helpful and always cleaning up. Could not fault this hotel. For a 2 star it is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelleigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a weeks holiday in Hotel D'Or and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Contrary to some of the reviews recently posted, we have nothing but praise for the staff, who we found cheerful, helpful and always willing put themselves out for us.

The hotel is small and basic but very clean and great location, 5 minutes from the bars, restaurants and local beaches but far enough away for it to be quiet and peaceful.

I would definately recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Back again to our favourite holiday hotel, great to see Lena, Jose and Claudia all still there. Great location within walking distance of everything you'd want to see or do in Cala d'Or. Cosy poolside area and bar with happy hour, tasty breakfast. We love this place!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SueStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My first visit to Majorca and I loved Cala 'or but not this hotel. Manager was glum from first meeting (as mentioned by Charlie S), the staff were rude and unhelpful. When we found our way to breakfast (Manager couldnt be bothered to show/point it to us on arrival), we were greeted by miserable staff, who shuffled about ready to reprimand you. One morning we ate our food (basic but tasted ok), then picked up an apple to eat on our way. "No, not possible!!!!" Was screamed at us!! She then pointed to the daily menu/weather note on each table telling us that no food could be eaten around the pool (unless you buy from the bar of course!!!!!). We left, everyone glaring at us as if we'd stolen the cooks' tip box!!! She did this to other guests too - absurb and unnecessary.

Everything was too much trouble, they even wanted to charge you for ice or a plastic cup (for use in our room at lunch time). There is a 'Happy Hour' but they didn't like to advertise this - cos 1. they had to give you a free drink AND 2. they were meant to be happy!!) One day when we were sunbathing by the pool, one staff member kicked the sunbeds, growled about them being in the way then proceeded to escort/point new guests to their rooms!! Nice. When we complained to glum manager about her rude staff, she didn't care less, just shrugged her shoulders. "Customer satisfaction?!" Not at this hotel. Two stars?!? Ummm that's far too high.

Rooms are basic and need updating. Staff need training - BIG TIME!! Spar across the road was very handy being Hotel D'or is 'just a b&b' so they hate you bringing in food. Local area is superb. We found a fabulous Italian Restaurant (Mamma Mia) 5 minutes away = Great food, great staff, great prices. Beaches were a 10-15 minute stroll away and were beautiful. Would love to return to this area again - obviously not to this hotel!!!! Only one staff member (cleaner/mgrs assistant/ barmaid) was fantastic. She was cheerful, helpful, always chatty and happily enjoyed 'Happy Hour' with all the other guests.

We have travelled all over the world and never experienced such poor service, so felt we should comment.

Room Tip: We were in room 109 - quiet and near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Maxine647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked this hotel based on TA reviews and the fact that we did not want to book a " large" hotel. The hotel is good value, rooms basic but clean, breakfast very good selection, our room 410 overlooked a bar which was very noisy with loud music until 3.00/4.00am.
The staff need some training in customer service, I do not think I saw a smile in the 5 days we stayed,I know it is coming towards the end of the season but it is their job and staff can make or break a hotel. When we arrived the Receptionist/Manager could not have been more "Glum", she gave us our room details and pointed us in the direction of the rooms, no information regarding safe deposit boxes, breakfast times,where breakfast was served or times the premises shut if you were arriving back late at night, we were given an envelope with a welcome note which was useless, it even explained how the electricity operated by putting your room key card in either of two slots in the room. Someone needs to tell the manager that there are no slots in Rooms 410 or 409. I tried to operate the safe deposit box in the room for nearly an hour, following the instructions on the box, I eventually went to reception to be told I needed my key card programmed and pay 16 euros/week, after it was programmed it still did not work, I returned to tell the receptionist, she asked if the lights were working I said no, she asked again were the lights working, again I told her no, she then said she would get the maintenance man to look at it. I decided to use the safe in my brother's room and get my payment refunded, which I do not think the receptionist was very happy about. Two mornings in the breakfast room were a bit of a farce, saturday morning there was not anyone clearing tables for an hour, people were coming in not knowing where to sit, eventually the receptionist/manager and a maid came in to clear tables, they did not look happy. The following morning a young girl was clearing tables, another member of staff that did not look happy, but she done her job well. Monday morning again no one to clear tables, once again another member was drafted in, not very happy, dropped plates and smashed in dining room also plates dropped in kitchen. As a previous review commented, we were leaving our room at 4.00 pm on the Monday, we asked on our first day if we could keep one of our rooms on and was told she could not tell us until Monday. Monday came at 9.00am we asked about keeping the room on, was told could not answer come back in 10 minutes after 20 minutes went back and asked again and was told " NOT POSSIBLE", no offer of another room for facilities just told to put cases in TV lounge. Our room was still not occupied at 4.00 pm. I know the room had to be cleaned, but we were prepared to pay extra for keeping the room on as we have done in every hotel we have ever stayed in and we have ALWAYS been accomodated. The hotel is good value but we would not return as we feel that staff can either make you feel good about your stay or totally put you off, unfortunately the attitude of and demeanour of the staff did not make us feel that we wanted to return. Unfortunate, but it could be so much better by just a smile and some customer service skills. I would like to comment that my comments regarding staff does mot apply to the chef, who works extremely hard on his own.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of reception as you face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank curlycoulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Or

Address: Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £35 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing