We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D'Or
Ranked #3 of 6 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Booked for 2 weeks for a cheap getaway. We wanted a hotel that was relatively small and quiet. The rooms are split into about 4 per block, they are small and basic but are cleaned daily and definitely liveable the hotel has a real chilled out vibe and because it's small everyone is friendly! You don't have to fight for a sunbed, there are plenty. Breakfast is great! Choice of fry up, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and more. Can't rate this place enough!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    104
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
34
152
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel D'Or (7 May to 14 May 2014) after visiting it for the first time last year. It is a real gem - a tribute to Lena and all the staff.

Fairly quiet at the start of May so always plenty of sunbeds around the pool. We had a ground floor room (close to the pool again) and it was really convenient. A Spar shop directly across the road sells water, food, toiletries etc. at reasonable (not rip-off) prices.

The hotel is spotless throughout, rooms and bar very clean and well laid-out.

Our stay was half-board (I booked direct) and this was great as far as we were concerned. Breakfast at the hotel (eggs, bacon, beans or mushrooms etc. for fried selection plus ham, cheese, fruit, cereals, cakes for continental type breakfasts.

Evening meal is an arrangement (between 6 and 8 pm) at a local restaurant in the town centre (about 2/3 mins walk) and comprises a choice of 2 starters, 2 main courses and 2 sweets - but the plates served are exactly the same as all the other diners get and the food and service is very good indeed.

Cala D'Or is a lively town with groups on most evenings somewhere and 4 local beaches plus a very attractive harbour.

To summarise, we were again very pleased with our stay at the Hotel D'Or and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing the pool, but the whole complex is good, although we have only stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I must say that since our last visit a lot of hard work has been carried out, lovely little bar area very fresh and comfy and the downstairs gym is well under way. Once again great value for money, breakfast very good, rooms updated and cleaned well 6 days a week, regular towel changes. Great value for money, a most enjoyable holiday, thanks to all staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

me and my fiancé have just got back from this little gem, if your looking for a clean laid back relaxing break look no further. you will not find better at the price.
very basic but cant wait to go back
tiny pool but clean, rooms are very basic not even a kettle, but comfortable and clean, staff a mixed bag but as we just wanted to relax so didn't matter, the local beaches are small but lovely (10 min walk) most guests were repeaters, plenty of very nice restaurants especially Indiana johns (try the tandoori chicken we had it twice) within 2 m in walk, a couple of clubs if u want that (we don't) woodys bar has a great singer BEN. don't expect 5* because its not... but as far as budget breaks go u will not get better, we will be going back at least once a year. take the breakfast option as its amazing value and will save u money. THANKS HOTEL DOR BE BACK SOON

Room Tip: all rooms are fine we stayed in 207 and would want it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briggo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Maxine must be on another planet or at least at another hotel from the Hotel Dor we stat at. This is our tenth year here and often we come twice in a season. Its such great value that I'm glad Maxine wont return as it means we can always get booked in.

For what we pay I know of no where else that can compare for value for money. The breakfast are super with plenty of choice of both cooked and cold buffet food. It is true they ask you not to take food away but then your not paying for lunch dinner and tea at just 1 euro a day for breakfast!!!

The rooms are great with lovely bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Each has a nice balcony or terrace and are always extremely clean.

Location is great within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and the lovely beach Cala Dor

Lena and her staff are helpful and friendly and can't do enough for you.

Pool is great. Clean and well maintained with plenty of sun beds.

We will be back many times

Room Tip: We stay in Block 4 as it has nice views of the pool but the rooms do back onto the local night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Hotel D'Or and would recommend this small hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. Great location not far from bars, shops and beaches. Hotel very clean, rooms done everyday apart from Thursday. There was a good choice of freshly prepared breakfast every day, allowing you to help yourself to as much or little as you want. An info leaflet provided daily on weather, the daily specials and happy hour. Staff very helpful and always cleaning up. Could not fault this hotel. For a 2 star it is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelleigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a weeks holiday in Hotel D'Or and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Contrary to some of the reviews recently posted, we have nothing but praise for the staff, who we found cheerful, helpful and always willing put themselves out for us.

The hotel is small and basic but very clean and great location, 5 minutes from the bars, restaurants and local beaches but far enough away for it to be quiet and peaceful.

I would definately recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Or

Property: Hotel D'Or
Address: Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing