We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
amanda500
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have just returned from a short break at Cala d'or Playa apartments with my sister... we travelled here last May with the whole family and specifically chose it again as the apartments are firstly really well located in a quiet area they are very clean and amazing value for money, I would strongly recommend the property to couples, families with young children or friends, there is an animacion team providing games and entertainment which you can join in with if you wish... The resort is small but has everything on offer, the coves are very pretty with soft pale sand and shallow waters plus shady areas, a must do is a visit to the Marina where fine dining is on offer, alternatively there are many restaurants in the town offering typic spanish cuisine, italian, chinese etc etc. Finally I would like to thank the reception for giving me exactly the same apartment I had requested, go for a first floor apartment overlooking the garden / pool area. We will be back very soon :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amanda500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    262
    70
    12
    10
See reviews for
535
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I can only agree with pretty much what everybody else has said about these apartments. We will be going back again next year as we had such a lovely holiday. The place is spotlessly clean and apartments are well equipped. We had a lovely room facing away from the pool etc and overlooking the gardens and car park. This meant the room was in a shady area and kept a little cooler during the day and was also quiet.

The facilities for young children are great,the pool and splash park were a hit with our little girl as was the nightly mini-disco. We've been singing the songs ever since we cam back! The 2 girls,Lauren and Vanessa really work hard to get the kids involved and get them dancing etc. I don't think the rest of the entertainment was that great though to be honest. They did have a professional act on one of the nights we were there and they were very good. I can also recommend that you make use of the "spanish party" for 14 euros you get all you can eat Paella,Chicken,Pork,Potatoes,Salad etc and unlimited sangria 7-9 so well worth the money.The only draw back in the evenings was that there is nothing to stop little ones falling into the pool. It would be great if they had a gate they could close in the evenings and parents could relax a little more when the kids are running about and dancing.

I would recommend a trip to the eroski for a big shop,about 15-20 mins walk away. It's so cheap compared to the nearby smaller supermarkets. Water is very cheap there as is the wine,it also has fresh meat if you fancy cooking a nice dinner.You can stroll there and there is a taxi rank opposite for when you have lots of shopping for the trip back. Cost about 4 euro for a cab back. The supermarket up the road does have a very good bakery however and can recommend the pastries and bread from there. Very fresh and reasonably priced.

We ate out a few times and can recommend a place called "different" for the unlimited ribs,there was also a great pizza place opposite the "duke of devonshire",name escapes me but it began with an M,sorry I can't be any more specific. Anyway,lovely pizza there and very reasonable.Great Ice cream down near the tropical gardens,head there for a treat.

Beach wise we preferred the closer Esmerelda beach but access is a bit tricky with a puschair so bear that in mind if you have one. Cala gran is much easier to access but we found it littered with cigarette ends and bottle tops which was really disappointing. We took the open top bus 1 day to the Cala Mandrago for a quieter beach experience and unfortunately it was the 1 day it rained! Looked lovely though and I would think that it would be a lovely quieter beach to spend the day in the sun. I'll find out next year when we go back.

Overall a great holiday and we can't to book and head back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rupitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Can only echo the previous reviews. We went in late Sept and found the place very quiet and relaxed (not one sunbed reserved) and a nice mix of British and other european holiday makers.

Up the road from the main entrance there is a nice bakery in a supermarket where you can get a baguette from 50 cents upwards and then keep going 3 mniutes and there is a fruit wholesaler which is open to the public which has fruit (of course) but other cheap basic goods (8-1 then 4 to 7)

We also enjoyed eating at marfillos (into town up steep slope past gran beach and 2nd restaurant on left opposite las vegas spar) - 5 to 8 euro for a main and about 3 euro for a good childrens dinner) - Spanish waiters were very friendly indeed

Esmerelda beach is 6 min walk but down a few steps which is a bit of pain for a pushchair and certainly no go for a wheelchair

We found a cleaner cleaning the lift at 8pm in the evening - everything was spotless and the self catering facilities were very good

Overall we loved it and will be back

Room Tip: Block B was quiet and away from pool and coach pick ups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davebof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Well run apartments with helpful staff. To get to the beaches leave the apartments through the garden and turn left for Cala Esmeralda ( 5 mins) or right for Cala Gran and Cala D'or - only slightly further. When we arrived we thought "what have we let ourselves in for?". The pool aerobics were in session and involved shouting as loud as possible. We soon got used to it and otherwise the pool was great but very busy in August. The apartments are extremely well equiped and very clean. Prices? - large beer 3.1 euros, water 1.75!. The apartments arrange barbecues and spanish nights etc. which really are good value for money. This place has a friendly atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. My only criticism is the control of the sunbeds. In August there were non available after 10:00 a.am., mainly because of the people who reserved four beds in the morning and then went to the harbour and watched football in the afternoon! Meals out - two adults and one child about 50-60 euros in town or 80-90 euros in the harbour. If you are considering a taxi transfer, book it through the hotel. Cheaper than booking direct and a good service. The three of us had a new 8 seater Mercedes which turned up on time. I would recommend this palce for couple or families with young children who are well looked after. If you are not going with First Choice you may book their excursions. Check them out on their website. They are all exoensive, typically 50/60 euros per person.
There is a library and quiet room on the first floor above reception which is not advertised.

Do not bank on keeping your room if you have a late departure - the charge for this is 20 Euros. The apartemnts were very busy and we were not able to do so, nor did we hear of any other families who did. However, there is a luggage room amd showers that are adequate.

Yes we would go back!

Room Tip: Block B - at the side not overlooking the pool because of early morning shriekers nor overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pylesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were grandparents staying with our daughters family including two young children, for a week over August Bank Holiday. Initial impressions were not good - room was not very clean, hairs in the bath, used pillow on the bed; view from room was over rooftops of adjacent apartments; door to our room was very stiff and needed a shoulder to open it. We requested a different room but were told none were available.
Nightime was noisy with people returning to their rooms at all hours and slamming doors.

Now for the good bits - the pool and surrounding area was fantastic; the entertainers were well organised and friendly and the food was good and not expensive. Cala D'or is a pleasant resort with the usual supermarkets, bars and gift shops.

Overall, an enjoyable holiday but we felt more suited to young families than older folks looking for a little luxury and relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - many others do not have much of an outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

we've just arrived back in the uk after a 10 day holiday in the apartments from the 11th to the 21st sept 2011... really, could'nt fault it!, also central to all the amenities and easy access to ezmeralda and cala gran beaches. There were 4 in our party, one of which, an infant of 2 years, loads to entertain the baby, and us.The only downside to the holiday was the price of things in the local supermarkets, the closest spanish one was rediculously priced.... "shop" around for the cheaper ones. We will definitely return, no other problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_r_matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were a family of 8 including 2 children aged 14 and 6 and had a fantastic relaxing holiday. The pool area was excellent, the jacuzzi and children's pool area were added extras which everyone enjoyed. The children's entertainers work extremely hard and are very friendly all the children loved them, Would highly recommend these apartments for their quiet location but short walk to a supermarket and an excellent fruit and vegetable market. Also a 5 minute walk to 2 small beaches and a huge choice of restaurants catering for all ages. There was a huge selection of children's menus and we can highly recommend Indiana Johns. We would definitely go back to Cala D'or and these apartments

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#4 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala D'Or
Melia Cala D'Or
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Property: Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp and Onthebeach so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing