We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Nearby Hotels
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Ponent Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel D'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inturotel Sa Marina(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Blue Sea Club Martha's(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$92
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Sea Es Bolero(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
498
300
79
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
300
79
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentssplash areaself cateringair conblock bbouncy castlegreat holidayplay parkgo kartsspanish nightentertainment stafft shirt paintingbbq nightmin walkfamily holidaygreat familyyoung children
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July with our two boys aged 7 and 13, and we really loved the hotel.

First of all everything is spotless clean, and everyone working there provided excellent service – all the time.

We stayed half board and the food was really really good. There was a buffet 2-3 times a week but the rest of the days we were handed a menu card in the morning and were able to choose between 3 appetizers, 3 first courses, 3 main courses and 3 desserts. Every day for 14 days something new! The kids were also able to choose from a kids menu if they preferred pizza or chicken or something like that. The food was then freshly prepared for us every evening. And I mean fresh, hot and delicious with crispy salads. Maybe not haute cuisine, but good food of really good quality. So It’s very good value for money.

Another thing I would like to accentuate is the access to washingmashine and dryer. The price for one wash is 5 euro including soap. Because of that we were able to pack rather lightly and then do laundry a few times when we were at the hotel.

The entertainment was so so, and mostly for the smallest kids. They had a minidisco every night, but sometimes only 3-4 kids participated so it was a little tame. Some nights they had shows from outside. We saw a really nice and professional flamenco show, and one night a very good magician. Most nights we went out with the boys. A lot of places to go within 5 minutes walking distance. Many nice family oriented bars with good quality tribute shows and 3 play parks with cars, trampolines etc. Like many others we can recommend the Tropical Garden. They have a nice atmosphere and it’s a nice place also in the daytime. They have a small pool that the kids can use free of charge while you have lunch or coffee.

2-3 beaches within 10 minutes distance. We preferred Cala Esmaralda. You can rent a bed under the pine shadows for a few Euros. The ”crazy” guy selling frits and coconuts on the beach is great entertainment :-) Also don’t miss the Marine. You can walk there in 15 minutes, or you can take the little train right behind the hotel.

If you rent a car ( and you should – so many great places to visit!) the hotel have plenty of free parking spaces.

If we ever go back to Calas I’m sure we will pick this hotel again. It’s a very nice place and really good value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mie_from_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed for 10 nights in a one bedroomed apartment with two adults and two children (13 years and 7 years) in June 2012.

This place does the basics very well but there are some issues that, if fixed, could make it a really good place to stay.

First, the good points.

As described in other reviews, this complex is kept spotless both in the apartments and common areas. Our cleaner, Mercedes, was excellent and thorough in her work and it was appreciated.

The apartment itself is the standard fit that you would expect in a complex across the med. The bathroom is well equipped (it has a hairdryer enclosed but the ladies in the party preferred their own - regrettably, I don't have much need for one now!!). The bedroom had good wardrobe space and bedside lockers as well as a dressing table and mirror. The bed is comfortable enough not to be complaining about and there is a patio door from the bedroom to the ample balcony.

The kitchen is also well appointed with an electric kettle, microwave oven and two ringed cooker. The cooker worked well but was designed in such a way that you couldn't fit the two larger pots/pans on it at the same time due to lack of space i.e. we ate in a few nights and we could manage pasta dishes etc but you won't be doing a roast dinner here!

The sofa/sofa beds drew no complaints from the kids and the TV has BBC1, Channel 5 and, curiously, ITV+1. This meant that a programme on ITV at 7.30pm in the UK would be on at 9.30pm Cala D'Or time. There was CBBC on haphazardly also and the TV was helpful in occupying the kids when dinner was being made or if we were getting everyone ready to go out.

Pools are good; small kids pool and large standard one. Please note that there is no lifeguard on duty at any time. There is a splash area for kids which was good craic. Plenty of sunbeds and no issue in getting one in June.

There is also a small playground beside the pool that is suitable for smaller children.

The beaches are located nearby, the nearest being a 5 minute walk from the back entrance- turn left and keep walking.

Security is also excellent with entry through coded gates only after 8pm.

There is a small supermarket located 5 mins from the complex (straight up the road on the right hand side) that is quite well stocked and do beautiful fresh breads and pastries. They also do the full range of drinks and a very good stock of well priced wine as well as pasta sauces, tinned goods etc. The fresh veg range is limited and a trip to the eroski was in order on day one (15mins walk from complex; straight out and keep walking for about 10-12 mins until you reach a t-junction - turn left and about a 5 min walk; get a taxi back, the rank is opposite Eroski).

Plenty of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk (you will find them!) and Cal D'Or centre is 10 minute walk - just keep walking past Walshies Pub down the hill past Tropical Gardens, then up the hil and you're there. A taxi back from the centre is about €5.

Now the negatives...

Unlike some other comments, I thought the entertainment was lacking; almost non-existent. Throughout the day, there was some activity e.g. water polo etc and it was ok. But the kids club was a bit strange. On several occasions, we couldn't find it to ses if it was on. Our 7 year old went to a t-shirt painting party (charge of €7, I think) and enjoyed it. Another day, he was involved in a swimming pool game but we just couldn't find the kids club rep half the time (not even in their "den" under reception). Perhaps that was our own fault and they have an activities schedule displayed in the bar near the stage but we clearly couldn't follow it!!!

The adult entertainment at night was also non-existent. The European Championships were on at the time of our visit but I suspect that pricing is the issue. There are plenty of bars within 5 mins walking distance that charge a fraction of what the complex bar charges. For example, a beer and white wine (and a larger measure) in Walshies was over €1.50 cheaper than in the complex; multiply that over 10 days and it adds up. But I think the real problem is the price of soft drinks. They are sold in small plastic glasses and are €1.80 (from memory). These glasses would hold about half a standard can of coke and would be devoured by a seven year old in seconds!! Ice creams are also in the €2 - €3 range. We bought cans of soft drinks from the local supermarket at about 40c each to have by the pool.

There are also other extras. The air-con is €5 per day (if you book with Falcon/Thompson), there is a charge for the safe, ubiquitious now on complexes even though they have long since paid for themselves , and wi-fi is payable daily or weekly. This annoys me as wi-fi is a low charge to a complex and is now considered a necessity by many people. Hoteliers could really differentiate themselves by offering it as standard. However, it would mean that my pockets wouldn't be laden with the many €1 coins that I had on standby so my kids could feed the internet computer by reception each evening!!

Overall, I'd give these apartments a 3.5 out of 5. If they addressed the bar prices and the entertainment, more families might stay there in the evenings. When kids are happy, parents are happy!

Cala D'Or is a family friendly resort with some nice bars and restaurants. This is a good complex that could become very good. It covers the basics well and I would consider a return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGEDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel is in a great central location, and is ideal as a base within Cala D'or with only a 5 min walk in either direction to a beach, and 10 min walk into the centre of Cala D'or. The hotel itself is quite basic, but the rooms are tidy and equipped OK - the maid service is excellent, with towels changed daily and bedding made...The food is very good at the hotel, especially when they have the themed nights – great value!

The leisure facilities are great for families, with a pool, splash area and ample sun loungers (the pool and pool area is cleaned daily, they take this very seriously which is great!) and also a games room. The “animation” team (Edwin, Monica and Alice Looky looky) are first class and run activities throughout the day, which although are repetitive are good fun to join in for both children and adults alike....

We went at the end of July/beginning Aug 2012 and it was very warm and expected air conditioning, after reviewing their website – the rooms are air-conditioned but you have to pay for this, which is not mentioned on their website. We didn’t pay for it, as although it was 25c at night it wasn’t uncomfortable. Something worth bearing in mind though….

Now the not so good points......

1st gripe - Not long after unpacking we noticed a bad smell in our apartment...I asked at Reception to see if they could take a look and the receptionist was quite rude to us, to the point where we felt intimidated by her...They did look into, but each time they came they just poured bleach down the kitchen sink...I eventually figured out that the extractor fan was the cause of the smell, and after they visited again and sprayed some cleaning solution on it (and it made no difference) I took the matter into my own hands and blocked up the vent with a towel...job done, smell gone!

2nd thing to watch out for - the corridors are tiled and very boomy, especially when people come back late at night...

3rd gripe - the furniture in the room is wood...which is great, but again the floor is tilled and when people move the chairs around they make a hell of a racket, again at the worst of times! We were on the middle floor, so probably heard it more so again something else to look out for.

4th gripe - our little girl suffered an injury in the pool on our last day (it was her own fault) where she required medical attention. There was no first aider available, and the attitude of the receptionist was appalling considering the circumstances (little girl had blood pouring from her chin and was understandably distraught) there was no concern, compassion or assistance which made us feel more agitated than we needed to bearing in mind we were in a foreign country and didn’t know what the protocol was etc. for dealing with such things…

Having said that, don’t let this put you off too much – after reading all the reviews on here before booking this holiday myself, I just think it’s fair and proper to share your experiences with everyone so you get a balanced view.

Overall it’s a great hotel, with decent facilities – it was just let down by a few isolated incidents and individuals and we would probably consider going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andyrob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The hotel itself is quite basic however it’s an ideal base. The rooms are clean and tidy, the pool area again is clean and tidy. I have 2 children 4 & 8 and they loved this hotel especially the splash park. I have been to Cala d'or several times before and the resort is fantastic for families, nice restaurants, lovely walks to the harbour and the play area for kids near walshies. What I love about this resort is I can walk around alone and feel safe. I would definitely return to this hotel the location is great, not in the centre of cala d'or so it’s quiet on a night but just a steady walk, which is refreshing after a lovely meal out. I ate in the hotel once just for a snack, it was nice, however so many nice places to eat in cala d'or that we didn’t really have the opportunity to eat in the hotel again. Prices for drinks were reasonable. Anybody going to this hotel with children will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 310KATRINA_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Returned again this year after spending 2 weeks at the Cala Dor last year. This is a very good 2 star complex, I would personally rate as a high standard 3 star. The rooms are spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need, furniture not new, but the rooms are so clean with a welcome cleaning pack also provided.. Comfortable beds and spotlessly clean sheets and towels, towels changed daily. The maids work tirelessly to keep all the apartment complex very clean as do the guys who tidy around the pool area every evening. Plenty of sunbeds and never too cramped. If you look at what you getting for the cost here and not expecting 4 star then you will not be disappointed. Highly recommend Barlevento and Aquarius restaurants, Aquarius will cost around £120 for a family of 4, but overlooks the Marina, Barlevento for about £60 is excellent, the fillet steaks are stunning..A taxi for about 10 euros will get you to Cala Mondrago beach which is not too busy and quieter and cleaner than Cala Dor beaches. Be there by 9.30 to get sunbeds though which are 30 Euros for 4 and 2 umbrellas, about 24 which is not too bad. Will return again one day, you won't get better in Cala Dor for young families.

Room Tip: B223...best pool view and v quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank thommo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews