We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, well placed good quality apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet, well placed good quality apartments”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent a great week at these apartments. Went towards the end of the season (early October) which may have an impact on some of what was provided.

The location of the apartments is really good. A short walk from the main shopping and restaurant areas and the gorgeous Cala Esmerelda beach. It was mostly quiet, although on the first night we could hear the entertainment from another hotel while on our balcony.

The room was a decent size, clean and with a well stocked kitchenette. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the shower was so powerful it felt more like a hose! The water supply was quite salty though, including shower, although I've heard this may be an island wide problem rather than a hotel one. The balcony was great.

Didn't experience much of the entertainment, although I must say that despite a decent effort, it wasn't something I enjoyed! I get the feeling we were not exactly the target audience however which is understandable. We only ate at the bar once, and while unexciting it was not poor value. The drinks were also around the same price as much of the rest of the area.

We did encounter two problems. The first, albeit minor, was that the (useful) guide to the hotel they give you at check in says that the maid service is daily, however when we were there it wasn't cleaned every day and when I checked it turned out only to be every two days.

The second problem was that the deal they have with Thomsons is that you have to pay five euros a day to use the air-conditioning!!! I complained at the front desk and the staff (who we found friendly and helpful throughout) have clearly had this complaint before and said that it was their contract with Thomson.

I think it is absolutely disgraceful of Thomson not to mention this and when we complained to our rep, who was quite rude, we were told that somewhere in the minor terms and conditions it states that some facilities are payable locally. Given Thomson are very clearly aware this is the case, our agent, the website and their brochure should all have stated this. Clearly we will be making a formal complaint.

The Cala d'Or area is lovely. Slightly more touristy than we'd been led to believe but still great. Beaches amazing with fish swimming in the water with you and a bright blue sea.

Room Tip: If you walk out the hotel and keep going you'll find a large supermarket cheaper than the spar y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anoutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    278
    71
    12
    11
See reviews for
574
144
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

After 11 nights spent at this hotel with my wife and 16 month old son I can only express how impressed we were with all areas of the hotel. We did pay for a superior room and are glad we did we had a great view of pool and entertainment on a night. The room was spacious and well cleaned, the kitchen basic but fulfilled a holiday of self catering needs. The pool is clean but chilly the water features and park for the children are well maintained and enjoyed by all. The staff were always kind and efficient in the hotel and restaurant, prices for food very reasonable price for lunch (typical stuff you expect). The entertainment great for kids and very professional during the day, we prefer eating out so did not experience on a night.
Cala D'or itself has everything a young family could need, it is very much orientated around this target audience. Some of the restaurants are pricy but well worth it. If you prefer the more upper class food and environment visit the marina we had some amazing food and service.
overall would recommend this hotel and area to everyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are just home from a brilliant 2 WK holiday in these apartments with our 3 1/2 yr old son and 21 month old daughter. We all thoroughly enjoyed it, there was loads for the kids to do. They especially loved the mini disco and are still singing the songs and doing the dance moves. Jessie and Massimo are amazing with the kids. They really made their holiday special. Rudy in the bar was great too and always kept a watchful eye over the children to make sure they were all OK. The location was great too. 5 mins from 2 beaches, 10 minutes from the town centre and 15 to 20 from the marina where the food was to die for. We are seriously considering rebooking for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cathykb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just back from a fantastic trip to Cala d'or and stayed at playa apartments. As usual the accommodation was first class, facilities excellent as was the service. The cleanliness of the pool area and sun beds were second to none. We cannot wait to bring our family with us next year, especially our grand-daughter. Many thanks again to the brilliant staff, Romana, Lucy and Phillipe for their welcome.

Looking forward to next year already.

Kevin and Miriam Ball, Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first holiday abroad as a family with our 2yr old.
I searched hotels as the best chance of us getting a 'relaxing/ fun' holiday was if the 2yr old was well catered for and happy! And I was not disappointed with our choice in the Cala D'or.
The hotel staff were friendly, the rooms where quite spacious & the holiday was great value.
We went half board, which clearly wasn't a popular option (about 10 of us each sitting), however I think this is only because Cala D'or has a great variety of restaurants. The food was fine & it suited us as the variety mean't we could always find something for our fussy 2yr old to eat.
The hotel has a splash park/ swimming pool with kids section & playground. The great thing is they are all next to each other, so 1 parent can be relaxing whilst the other is going from 1 thing to the next with an over excited toddler. It was nice as the relaxing parent could still see what was going on, so you didn't feel like you were having a separate holiday.
The 'animation team' did a kids disco every night & every other night they had a free bouncy castle - winner! They also did lots of day time activities around the pool which was great for a change if required.
Cala D'or itself also has lots of bars/ restaurants & fun area's for kids.
There are 2 bays close to the hotel for 'sand castle fun' & on an overcast day we got bike out & visited the other bays in cala d'or - very pretty.
All in all - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheBassGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Nice and clean apartments and a good base to explore Cala D'or with its many nice restaurants. Although it is mainly a family hotel, we as a couple none the less enjoyed our stay and would consider staying there again if we ever returned to Cala D'or.

Room Tip: Our rooom was faing into the car park, not the best view but quite enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff where very helpful and friendly. The pool area was excellent with something going on all day if you have children but not to disrupt adults without. The area was great two beaches about 5 min walk either side of the apartments. Shops and restaurants are plenty and just a short walk. A big shout out to Dylans Bar for the lovely well priced breakfast and the India spice Restaurant which was gorgeous. lots of entertainment near hotel.

I would also recommend a visit to Walshies, the staff where great and very helpful, great drink and food.

Overall brilliant holiday would recommend to anyone and we will certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Property: Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing