We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

just returned 10th may great place , very clean, staff very friendly would go back again cala d or it self was just opening for the season not crowded a lot to see and do . would recommend jolly roger bar at port petite I never ate there but shared a bottle of wine while watching the large boats go out of the harbour the staff there are great very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

After staying at the Cala d’Or Playa for two weeks in August we returned between 5th-9th October for a four night mini break. Everything about the Cala d’Or Playa and the resort itself was exactly as it was in the height of summer, there were just less people around; that had its benefits, like getting a table at a restaurant was nice and easy. We were here to explore the coastal areas either side of Cala d’Or so picked up a car at the airport, which we pre-booked with Avis. Super service and car.

This is my second review of the hotel, which once again ticked all the boxes, in fact even more boxes this time as we had a Superior room, which overlooked the pool area - a great position. The room itself benefits from modern furniture, and a smart bathroom with large walk in shower featuring a rain style shower head as well as a standard and very powerful multi spray hose. Note this is instead of a bath, so for families with babies/ toddlers to wash, this might not be ideal for you. The kitchen again, is one of the best stocked in terms of equipment and this time I noticed champagne and wine glasses, not sure I remember seeing them in the Standard room. Nice touch with the flutes, good excuse to go and buy some cava! Actually, who needs an excuse...

The weather was superb, mostly clear skies and temperatures around 22-25c every day, and with the resort fully open, it made it a great time of year to visit. We went out driving most days and found some stunning places some of which we had never even heard of before, despite visiting the island many times; most previous holidays were spent relaxing around a pool. Beaches and coastline at Badia Gran, Cala Pi, Ses Covetes, Cala Llombards, Cala Mesquida, and Canyamel; inland spots Ses Salines and Capdepera (complete with castle), and the fishing / marina towns of Cala Bona, Portopetro and Portocolom provided photo opportunities by the bucketload. If you have a car and want to explore this part of the island, then put some of these places on your list.

The restaurants we ate in on this visit were regular haunts Pirate and Acuarius, and two new places for us: El Patio Tex-Mex, towards Cala Ferrera, and Gusto in the main town area. We had wanted to eat in El Patio many times previously but we’d always been in a big group and it was busy, but well worth it for the fabulous burritos and fajitas. Gusto, is related to Paparazzi, with similar excellent quality. Acuarius is becoming our favourite restaurant in the resort, with it’s in a stunning location overlooking the marina. Book ahead in the summer though.

Once again, a simply great time in Mallorca.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in October 2013, and we will go back to this hotel in the future, it was in a beautiful location and lovely Pool facility the staff on arrival were so friendly and helpful the room cleaners were fantastic my god how quickly they can clean an apartment. well done 10/10...
really quiet at night so we had great sleep and felt really relaxed coming home... great location for the shops and restaurants and the port area was fantastic for us...the space we had was fantastic and the lovely balcony.. The restaurant staff and food 10/10... the only thing to improve on in my opinion would be nightly entertainment it could be updated a little and also could bring in more money for the hotel.. there was a hotel nearby we did pass each night on way back and they did have nice music on so everyone was up dancing.. and I think it was only a one man band. other than this remark I will give this hotel a big big 10/10

Room Tip: Top floor is good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank palmal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

What can I say but this hotel was brilliant one of the best hotels we've stayed in, hotel staff were friendly and helpful and location was quiet and just a short walk to bars & restaraunts & shops.
The picturesque beaches were clean but got pack later in the day as not so big, there's a lot to do in Cala D'or.
There's a cocktail bar in particular called the tropical gardens you sit down as there is a waiter service and enjoy the various tribute acts that are on every night of the week, there is also a good restaraunt I recommend called Texas steak house great food big plates and reasonably priced.
What more could I say about this place then we've booked to come back to the same hotel.
Its a 10 out of 10 hotel & place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank Harrybones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Going again for third year.meeting friends also third time.age range 9 to sixties.great restaurants shops and nightlife close by all quieter by midnight.air con in best apartments for years.five stars all the way.cannot wait to lounge by great pool and meet staff now friends again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 866dianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Pleasant surprise. This hotel has a great location ten minutes from centre of resort. Lovely pool facilities - plenty of sun beds. It was near the end of the season so the hotel was quiet. We upgraded to a newly refurbished room with huge balcony over the pool area which was excellent - if anyone had wished to cook meals it was very well equipped. We did view a basic room which was very nice but did not have a balcony view. All balconies were very big and had a table and chairs to accommodate four. Staff were very pleasant. The cleanliness was outstanding. The room was cleaned thoroughly every second day - clean towels - bathroom thoroughly cleaned and floors washed. We did not eat often in the hotel but when we did the food was good. T & E

Room Tip: Pool view rooms could be noisy during the day and evening but entertainment finished at eleven and w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for 8 nights June 10th to 18th.
We stayed here the previous July and loved it so much we thought we would return.
We upgraded to one of the better rooms and it was worth the extra.
We stayed half board and can just say the food here is excellent, lots of choice and with the complex not being massive there isn't a mad rush in the restaurant.
Pool area is ultra clean and my 2 young children loved swimmimg in it (not too deep).
Entertainment here is geared towards the young ones and the animation staff work very hard to keep the kids occupied, ther are also things for the adults to do : rifle shooting and water polo just to mention a few.
This is a thomson hotel however this year we booked the room direct and chose easyjet flights it worked out at about 60% of the price thomson were asking.
Reception staff very friendly nothing is too much trouble here.
The rooms are lovely with big balconies everything is really clean and there are adequeate cooking facilities hob, microwave etc. Please note our upgraded room didn't have a bath but this didnt bother us as we all shower anyway.
Special mention to Jason the Thomson rep who made our stay a special one he was so funny and joined us for drinks most evenings to watch the entertainment which was good the highlight being the snake show.
All in all a fabulous place to stay, just go you will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: All pool view rooms have been upgraded so if you want one of them you have to pay extra, however it...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardBroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £41 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing