We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed there as a two adulta, two children family in May 2014. For the price I think it gives great value. Basic rooms, cleaned in every two days. Matress is a bit on the hard side and rooms got bit chilly at night.

View was a little dissappointment. (See hints below)

Staff is friendly and speak english well enough (that can't be said of every place, not even in Mallorca). Pool area is great for kids with water sprays turning on automaticly occasionally. There is action arranged for adults as well in the pool area.

Location of the hotel is nice, within five minutes walk from closest beaches and about 10 minutes from main shopping area.

I would recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: A-wing will give sight to the pool area, C-wing to the town. B-wing rooms have also view to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    262
    70
    12
    10
See reviews for
536
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the playa apartments for 10day's on the
6th may and could not have asked for a better place to stay lovely relaxing place, lovely friendly staff .everything was clean, pool area was in the sun all day but they have the biggest parasols i've ever seen if you prefer the shade , loads of sun lounges but set close together so mighty be a bit of a tight squeeze when it's busy.pool was cold but the kids didn't seem to mind but it was may after all.
Ate at the pool bar quite a lot during the day and the food was lovely you do pay a little bit more but everything is freshly cooked
Didn't stay for the entertainment on a night as went in to town every night for food and sangria.
The room was large clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need for self catering, the bathroom had a shower over the bath and hair dryer for the ladies, beds were hard but very comfortable and clean. Cleansers came every other day , changed towels and made bed up and did a general tidy up emptied bins ect.
There's no free Wi-Fi but if you go down the pool area there is a couple of Wi-Fi signals you can pick up from local places nearby.
Location wise its between 2 lovely beaches just 2 minutes walk and the main town is only 3 minutes walk but there are plenty of shops bars and restaurants on the way. The bar along the road called walshies does a lovely scone with cream and jam and champagne sangria staff there are lovely and friendly. Another place to try which is just up from the beach called marfil is cheap local food freshly cooked simple food ate there 3 or 4 times but I have to say if you order a drink its got to be the sangria its the best I've ever drank and you won't be able to stop at one jug either.
Last thing I dropped my wallet in the luggage storage area after i'd showered to come home but didn't realise until i got home had all my card's in + some english money so just put it down to experience and canceled everything two days later got an email from Thomas cook to say that the staff had found it and they would post it back , it just goes to show what kind of staff they have there a lot of people would have just kept it .
so I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for a lovely relaxing holiday and I hope to come back next year.



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank enzocowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel was lovely, the apartments were clean and well equipped, lovely big patios and very friendly helpful staff.
The trouble was that being on the middle floor, every time anyone above or below moved any piece of furniture, pulled a chair out to sit down etc. regardless of what time of day or unfortunately night the noise was horrendous. This plus every toilet flush and unfortunately for us the welsh man in 127 could win a snoring contest!
It is a shame because the setting, comfort and all round hotel, pool restaurant, bar etc was great. if you do want to go to a great friendly restaurant go to Dylan's Restaurant, the food was perfectly cooked and great value.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Level38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

just returned 10th may great place , very clean, staff very friendly would go back again cala d or it self was just opening for the season not crowded a lot to see and do . would recommend jolly roger bar at port petite I never ate there but shared a bottle of wine while watching the large boats go out of the harbour the staff there are great very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

After staying at the Cala d’Or Playa for two weeks in August we returned between 5th-9th October for a four night mini break. Everything about the Cala d’Or Playa and the resort itself was exactly as it was in the height of summer, there were just less people around; that had its benefits, like getting a table at a restaurant was nice and easy. We were here to explore the coastal areas either side of Cala d’Or so picked up a car at the airport, which we pre-booked with Avis. Super service and car.

This is my second review of the hotel, which once again ticked all the boxes, in fact even more boxes this time as we had a Superior room, which overlooked the pool area - a great position. The room itself benefits from modern furniture, and a smart bathroom with large walk in shower featuring a rain style shower head as well as a standard and very powerful multi spray hose. Note this is instead of a bath, so for families with babies/ toddlers to wash, this might not be ideal for you. The kitchen again, is one of the best stocked in terms of equipment and this time I noticed champagne and wine glasses, not sure I remember seeing them in the Standard room. Nice touch with the flutes, good excuse to go and buy some cava! Actually, who needs an excuse...

The weather was superb, mostly clear skies and temperatures around 22-25c every day, and with the resort fully open, it made it a great time of year to visit. We went out driving most days and found some stunning places some of which we had never even heard of before, despite visiting the island many times; most previous holidays were spent relaxing around a pool. Beaches and coastline at Badia Gran, Cala Pi, Ses Covetes, Cala Llombards, Cala Mesquida, and Canyamel; inland spots Ses Salines and Capdepera (complete with castle), and the fishing / marina towns of Cala Bona, Portopetro and Portocolom provided photo opportunities by the bucketload. If you have a car and want to explore this part of the island, then put some of these places on your list.

The restaurants we ate in on this visit were regular haunts Pirate and Acuarius, and two new places for us: El Patio Tex-Mex, towards Cala Ferrera, and Gusto in the main town area. We had wanted to eat in El Patio many times previously but we’d always been in a big group and it was busy, but well worth it for the fabulous burritos and fajitas. Gusto, is related to Paparazzi, with similar excellent quality. Acuarius is becoming our favourite restaurant in the resort, with it’s in a stunning location overlooking the marina. Book ahead in the summer though.

Once again, a simply great time in Mallorca.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in October 2013, and we will go back to this hotel in the future, it was in a beautiful location and lovely Pool facility the staff on arrival were so friendly and helpful the room cleaners were fantastic my god how quickly they can clean an apartment. well done 10/10...
really quiet at night so we had great sleep and felt really relaxed coming home... great location for the shops and restaurants and the port area was fantastic for us...the space we had was fantastic and the lovely balcony.. The restaurant staff and food 10/10... the only thing to improve on in my opinion would be nightly entertainment it could be updated a little and also could bring in more money for the hotel.. there was a hotel nearby we did pass each night on way back and they did have nice music on so everyone was up dancing.. and I think it was only a one man band. other than this remark I will give this hotel a big big 10/10

Room Tip: Top floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank palmal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

What can I say but this hotel was brilliant one of the best hotels we've stayed in, hotel staff were friendly and helpful and location was quiet and just a short walk to bars & restaraunts & shops.
The picturesque beaches were clean but got pack later in the day as not so big, there's a lot to do in Cala D'or.
There's a cocktail bar in particular called the tropical gardens you sit down as there is a waiter service and enjoy the various tribute acts that are on every night of the week, there is also a good restaraunt I recommend called Texas steak house great food big plates and reasonably priced.
What more could I say about this place then we've booked to come back to the same hotel.
Its a 10 out of 10 hotel & place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Harrybones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Property: Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing